Newbie Setting up Whole House Audio - please critique my plan - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 2 Old 06-12-2013, 06:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a home AV distribution total newbie (3 days old). I am looking for advice on whole home audio.

I am looking to control Audio for 7 rooms and the backyard (all are already wired to central location in family room). Family room will have a 5.1 setup with in-ceiling surrounds, this room is not wired for volume control. The remaining 6 rooms will have just in-ceiling stereo speakers for music are pre-wired for volume control. The backyard will also have a stereo pair of speakers with pre-wired volume control.

I would like to be able to eventually control 4 independent zones (2 rooms each). But for now I will start with 2 zones/4 rooms (Zone1 - family room and living room, Zone 2 - office and the backyard). Initially I thought of getting 2 Sonos Connect amps but am concerned about power. So I thought I would get the Sonos Connect and get an amp to drive the speakers. Since I currently have a Pioneer 7.1 receiver (100W per channel) and a Onkyo 6.1 receiver(75 Watts per channel) I thought of using them instead of buying a 12 channel amp.

So my current plan is to connect Zone 1 to the Pioneer 7.1 (5.1 for the family room and Surround Speaker B for the living room). Then use the Onkyo 6.1 to drive the backyard and the office). Then buy 2 Sonos Connects, one each as the source to each receiver/zone.

When I need to expand to Zone 3 and 4, I can buy two more Connects and either buy an 8 channel amp or buy a 12 channel amp and replace the Onkyo,

What are your thoughts. Is there a better way to do this? Please advise. Thanks.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 2 Old 06-12-2013, 09:40 PM
AVS Special Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 341