Wiring a Hardwire Box for Surface Lighting. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-13-2013, 08:41 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Would anyone know if this hardwire box: http://www.menards.com/main/lighting-fans/indoor-lights/accent-lights/hardwire-junction-box-black/p-1656071-c-6349.htm has a load, line, and neutral wire for wiring to an Insteon light switch? I tried going to the manufacturers website and it doesn't exist.

mijotter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-13-2013, 04:57 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 2,963
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 283
As far as I can tell that's just a surface mount junction box - which means it doesn't have any wires in it. You provide the wires which would be in it. It basically just looks like a rocker on/off switch. Not sure what/where this would be used.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-13-2013, 10:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
It actually has a black and white wire coming from it with a green wire that comes with the package, sorry I should have mentioned that in my original post. I just have no clue when it comes to this stuff what that means.

mijotter is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-14-2013, 07:20 AM
AVS Special Member
 
olyteddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 3,273
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 91 Post(s)
Liked: 209
well, from your link:
Quote:
1. Consult a licensed electrician if you are not sure about the installation!!!
but yeah, it converts an in the wall wire to the little 3 wire plug(s) used by some under counter lights.
This might help: http://www.menards.com/main/store/20090519001/items/media/Electrical/american_lighting_patriot/Install_Instruct/Hardwire_Junction_Box_instructions_warranty.pdf
olyteddy is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-14-2013, 07:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 2,963
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 161 Post(s)
Liked: 283
If that box is a surface mount switched 2-wire to standard Edison plug adapter, then it is fine.

You would use a plug-in type Insteon product with it.

The LINE and NEUTRAL (along with ground) come out of the wall, into that box. An electrical load are the lights themselves.

So the hot wire (black) coming out of the wall is 'line'
The neutral wire (white) coming out of the wall is there.
The load wire is the black wire which runs to your actual lights. That is the one which gets dimmed.

It all depends on what you are trying to dim and which Insteon piece you are intending to utilize with this.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off