How to Sync Bathroom TV - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 24 Old 06-15-2013, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Looking to have a TV in the bathroom outside of the theater room and was wondering how I would sync it up with whatever is playing on the projector with perhaps a delay. Receiver is Onkyo 809 or 818 and PJ is Panny ae8000. Thanks.

mijotter is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 24 Old 06-15-2013, 01:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 353
You'll want to use an AVR with a sub-zone HDMI output, you may not get audio. Attaching multiple displays with HDMI will run into the common-denominator problem - the only way to ensure you don't mess up your theater audio/video is to take the output from the AVR, once audio has already been processed. The same AVR would likely have a zone2 output, so an inexpensive stereo amp could power speakers for that room as well.

I pipe the sub-output from my Integra pre-amp to a TV in the game room just outside my theater - it gets no audio, for example. I need to connect an analog audio output to the WHA system to handle that... smile.gif

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #3 of 24 Old 06-16-2013, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
The Onkyo 809 has 2 HMDI outs. Main and Sub. Is that what i'm looking for?

mijotter is offline  
post #4 of 24 Old 06-16-2013, 12:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Krobar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 2,965
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 14
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

The Onkyo 809 has 2 HMDI outs. Main and Sub. Is that what i'm looking for?

Sounds about right. You'll need to check that the Onkyo supports outputting at differing resolution if the TV in the bathroom requires lower res or its probably not too pricey these days just to make sure the bathroom tv support the same formats as your main room.
Krobar is offline  
post #5 of 24 Old 06-16-2013, 12:50 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
awesome thanks. So all I need is a regular hdmi cable run from the out on the AVR to the bathroom TV correct for visual?

mijotter is offline  
post #6 of 24 Old 06-16-2013, 01:07 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by Krobar View Post

Sounds about right. You'll need to check that the Onkyo supports outputting at differing resolution if the TV in the bathroom requires lower res or its probably not too pricey these days just to make sure the bathroom tv support the same formats as your main room.

I don't believe any of the AVRs will be able to produce multiple resolutions, as the audio/video negotiation (EDID) with the source device will determine what is sent. Most newer displays, even if they're 720p screens, will accept a 1080p input, though. That said, if one adds 3D to the mix, that could become an issue. Not sure what the AVR would do in that case - one would hope they'd just blank the sub-zone...
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

awesome thanks. So all I need is a regular hdmi cable run from the out on the AVR to the bathroom TV correct for visual?

Get an in-wall rated cable, but yes. Monoprice has CL2-rated cables - good or the code-compliance and the toughness of the cable/insulation, really.
mijotter likes this.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #7 of 24 Old 06-17-2013, 09:33 AM
Member
 
jkust's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Consider yourself lucky that the Onkyo has two HDMI outs. Many more expensive AVRs do not have this. You will not have onscreen display on the sub but not a big deal. That is exactly what the sub out is for. Also I'll just mention that my Onkyo 616 also has an analog set of video outs as well and yours may as well just in case you need it.
jkust is offline  
post #8 of 24 Old 06-17-2013, 01:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Sorry, little newbie here, when you say no onscreen display with the Sub out what are you referring to?

mijotter is offline  
post #9 of 24 Old 06-17-2013, 01:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Popups and other video overlays "Volume [........]" generated by the AVR won't show up on the sub-zone out.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #10 of 24 Old 06-17-2013, 03:15 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Oh gotcha. Yeah that's no sweat at all. Thanks a lot for the help guys:)

mijotter is offline  
post #11 of 24 Old 06-19-2013, 11:46 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
"the Audio Return Channel allows audio content received directly by your HDTV’s tuner to be sent “upstream” via HDMI to your A/V receiver, without the need for a separate S/PDIF audio cable." From Onkyo's website. Does this pertain to my situation as far as getting audio to that TV without additional cables?

mijotter is offline  
post #12 of 24 Old 06-20-2013, 06:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

"the Audio Return Channel allows audio content received directly by your HDTV’s tuner to be sent “upstream” via HDMI to your A/V receiver, without the need for a separate S/PDIF audio cable." From Onkyo's website. Does this pertain to my situation as far as getting audio to that TV without additional cables?

No. ARC is for getting audio FROM a TV back to the AVR. It's for getting audio from the internal TV tuner and "apps" in the TV.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #13 of 24 Old 06-20-2013, 07:55 AM
Member
 
jkust's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 142
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

No. ARC is for getting audio FROM a TV back to the AVR. It's for getting audio from the internal TV tuner and "apps" in the TV.

And to add to that, the sub HDMI out doesn't do ARC even if you needed it.
jkust is offline  
post #14 of 24 Old 06-20-2013, 10:10 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Ok thanks just wanted to clarify.

mijotter is offline  
post #15 of 24 Old 08-31-2013, 01:58 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Can I use the second HDMI out on the Pioneer VSX-70 for use in the bathroom TV like I had planned?


mijotter is offline  
post #16 of 24 Old 08-31-2013, 07:38 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 353
RTFM Page 30:

http://www.pioneerelectronics.com/StaticFiles/Manuals/Home/VSX-70_OperatingInstructions021313.pdf

Use the HDZONE output, but there are limitations.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #17 of 24 Old 08-31-2013, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Excellent. Sorry one last question, is there a way to use the component out and connect to an HDMI through a converter or perhaps an HDMI/Component cable?

I ask because the Panasonic 1222k only has 1 HDMI out

mijotter is offline  
post #18 of 24 Old 08-31-2013, 01:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

Excellent. Sorry one last question, is there a way to use the component out and connect to an HDMI through a converter or perhaps an HDMI/Component cable?

I ask because the Panasonic 1222k only has 1 HDMI out

You can use component output as long as you connect all relevant sources with component inputs (or in addition to the HDMI connection, if applicable) - you won't get component output from HDMI-only sources without going through an expensive conversion process.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #19 of 24 Old 08-31-2013, 02:04 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Well I only ran the HDMI cable from where the AVR will be to where the second TV will be. Is there a way to still use this cable but with adapters on both ends?

mijotter is offline  
post #20 of 24 Old 08-31-2013, 04:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 353
No. If your AVR doesn't have a 2nd HDMI output, an HDMI 2-port splitter would be the answer. Note you're still not likely going to get audio on that 2nd display, and if the TV doesn't support 1080p (and 3D if you care), you'll need a splitter with EDID management so you don't downgrade the image on the projector due to the bathroom TV's capabilities.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #21 of 24 Old 08-31-2013, 04:28 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
The TV will be 1080 compatible. I heard that splitters can downgrade quality, is there any truth to this? I don't want to sacrifice anything with my projector like you said.

mijotter is offline  
post #22 of 24 Old 08-31-2013, 04:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

The TV will be 1080 compatible. I heard that splitters can downgrade quality, is there any truth to this? I don't want to sacrifice anything with my projector like you said.

Then can cause problems, but it would be a pass/fail or other obvious issues - it won't make the picture worse - it's digital. Monoprice has cheap splitters - just make sure you use one that has it's own power supply and not one that gets its power from the HDMI connector. That's the type of device that usually causes problems.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
post #23 of 24 Old 08-31-2013, 04:40 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
mijotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2012
Location: Toledo, OH
Posts: 1,178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 58
Thank you again sir. I might be able to stump you one of these days ;-D

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=101&cp_id=10113&cs_id=1011306&p_id=8204&seq=1&format=2

Something like that?

mijotter is offline  
post #24 of 24 Old 08-31-2013, 04:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,803
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 124 Post(s)
Liked: 353
Quote:
Originally Posted by mijotter View Post

Thank you again sir. I might be able to stump you one of these days ;-D
Good luck with that.

biggrin.gifbiggrin.gifbiggrin.gif

Yep!

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is online now  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off