HDMI switch/hub - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-16-2013, 06:17 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mreber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for recommendations for a HDMI switch/hub. Have the masscool switch, and it's a piece of junk. TV will randomly cut out for a second multiple times a day. Do any of these work? Don't want to spend the money on some super high-end product. Just need something with at least 3 inputs and one output.
mreber is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-16-2013, 09:59 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phil17108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 53
I googled masscool switch and on paper it should work, I think the best thing maybe returning it for a deferent one. If you don't get Masscool to replace it try Monoprice.com. I have used a lot of their product without a complaint of any kind.
Phil17108 is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-16-2013, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mreber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The masscool has a lot of great reviews, but there are definitely people with similar complaints as me. It has an auto switch feature. Not sure if the blueray being in standby screws it up. What's weird is if I unplug the blueray, it stops working all together. Cable is still connected.
mreber is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-17-2013, 06:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Phil17108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 920
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 53
"What's weird is if I unplug the blueray, it stops working all together. Cable is still connected"
Went back for another look at it and found this.
External Power Supply: No power needed for standard product.
That is the problem. There is something called CEC and deferent manufactures have deferent names for it, that can mess with self powered switches. Unplugging the Blu-Ray removes power from switch. If you can get into the menu of the AVR, TV, Blu-Ray and turn that off. If that does not work, bet it won't, return it and get one that uses an external power supply. Monoprice.com have ones that do.
Phil17108 is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-17-2013, 11:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,111
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 61
'No power needed for standard product' - it's magic eek.gif

Of course it requires power and it looks like it is trying to 'steal' it from your BD player.

Always best to use a Switch with an External PSU - http://www.octavainc.com/HDMI%20switch%203port.htm

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-17-2013, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mreber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks guys. It didn't come with a power supply. It takes 5 volts DC. Looking at all of the power supplies I've accumulated through the years, I have one that fits the connector and puts out 4.8 volts DC. I'm assuming that's close enough? Output voltage is going to vary a little bit anyway, right? I can't image I'll harm anything if I plug the 4.8 VDC into something that should be getting 5 VDC.
mreber is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-17-2013, 05:44 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
mreber's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2013
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Actually the adapter output is 5.8 volts. I'm thinking that may be pushing it.
mreber is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off