Problem with DVD player over Cat6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 06-16-2013, 09:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hvtopiwala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
i have the entire house distributed with CAT6 cables to each bedroom to the media cabinet using the following wall plates: http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=104&cp_id=10425&cs_id=1042501&p_id=8200&seq=1&format=2

i have verizon boxes hooked up to all of them and everything works fine. i recently got a DVD player and its not working on my long runs (50ft runs). it works on my short runs though (25ft). i thought it was lack of power so i got some power adapters and put it on the wall plates and still, didnt work. any ideas whats going on? obviously the wall plates work cuz the cable boxes work on them...cant figure it out!
hvtopiwala is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 06-17-2013, 07:44 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hvtopiwala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
anyone?
hvtopiwala is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 06-17-2013, 08:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 335
The inexpensive HDMI extenders are hit-and-miss... I assume the DVD player (not a BD) is probably upconverting? You might try setting it to 480p output and letting the TV do that work, that might help with the distance. I'm guessing the Verizon box is only sending 1080i max, so if the DVD player is sending 1080p, that could explain the difference.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 06-17-2013, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
hvtopiwala's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2012
Posts: 63
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
its a bluray player actually, yeah the verizon is sending 1080i...this is the one i bought: http://www.bestbuy.com/site/Smart+Wi-Fi+Built-In+Blu-ray+Player/8053048.p?id=1218863730154&skuId=8053048&st=bluray%20player&cp=1&lp=2
hvtopiwala is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 06-17-2013, 09:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 51 Post(s)
Liked: 335
Set the BD player output to 1080i max and see what happens. Note that for most BD content, and if your TV does the assembly correctly, you won't see any PQ difference...

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-17-2013, 12:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 2,822
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 97 Post(s)
Liked: 257
I have never had much luck with the cheap Monoprice HDMI extenders and resolutions above 1080i video. Forget their claims, they just can't handle it. Their HD-Base-T extenders (about $200) are phenomenal, but their wallplate versions and cheap dual cat-5 solutions just don't work in my experience.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off