New home - Need help with whole home AV solution - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 3 Old 06-24-2013, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys,

I am in the process of building a new home and am having it wired for AV as we speak. I will have multiple zones (will list them in a moment) and am hoping you guys can help with some input on putting together a DIY system on a budget. I work in IT and have worked in and around AV for years so i'm not a complete noob.

Goal:
A budget whole home AV solution
6 zones including outdoor zone
Home Theater control
User selective inputs for each zone
Possibly iPad/iPhone control
Centralized in the basement media closet

Current Zone setup:

Living Room
-Wall mount TV
-Cable Box (would like all cable boxes in the media closet in the basement)
-2 Speaker in ceiling

Kitchen
-2 In ceiling speakers

Office
-2 In ceiling speakers

Master En-suite
-2 In ceiling speakers

Outdoor Patio
-2 On Wall speakers

Home Theater
-7.1 Surround in-ceiling and in wall speakers
-Wall mount TV
-Cable Box
-Misc game consoles

The whole house is being wired with CAT6 pairs to control panel locations for the individual zones. As well as CAT6 to the TV locations and all other data drops.

I am looking to put together a system that will give me the greatest flexibility for audio and video distribution. I'd like to be able to control from either the wall mounted control pads or ipad/iphone

My current set up is not distributed, so about the only ting that may be usable is the Denon AVR2112ci receiver and my 65" TV

I know there is no one "be all end all" solution, but I am hoping to put something together that is user serviceable and that I can purchase off e-bay or similar so I can get the greatest value.

Any thoughts or opinions?

TIA!

Bill
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 3 Old 06-24-2013, 05:20 PM
AVS Special Member

Quoted: 82 Post(s)
Liked: 341
Quote: