HD webcam over USB Balun - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 07-09-2013, 12:16 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
FLTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: North Florida
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Does anyone know of a way to extend a USB HD webcam over 60ft?
I am using a Microsoft Lifecam Studio with 720p streaming. I have tried different brands of usb over single cat5 baluns with no success. the first issue was my fault because I wasn't buying baluns that were rated for the full 480MBPS that usb 2.0 supports.
So I then bought one from a military component website that was rated for 480MBPS and still nothing.
Trying to use this in a conference room for skype where the PC is located about 30ft from where the camera needs to be, which would require about a 50 ft run of cat5. all the baluns I tried were active btw, all had power adapter.

Thanks
FLTech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 07-09-2013, 02:39 PM
Advanced Member
 
scl23enn4m3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Posts: 750
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Have you considered using an active USB extension? I know the Kinect has a similar issue to this and would only work with baluns that were a few hundred dollars in cost or an active USB cable.
scl23enn4m3 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 07-11-2013, 11:09 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
FLTech's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: North Florida
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes I tried a 30' active male-female ext cable.
FLTech is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off