Using Wireless HDMI instead of doing a HDMI run/drop for new PJ install - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 4 Old 07-16-2013, 10:46 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
McKinneyMagnum's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: McKinney, TX
Posts: 93
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
About to install a PJ in my dedicated media room, but when the room was built a HDMI cable was not pre-wired.

So, I can either have the installer do a physical cable run (mabye 30' total) or he mentioned using a wireless HDMI setup. The PJ will be ceiling mounted about 14' from the screen. All my wiring is below the screen for speakers, sat, internet, etc.

Can't seem to find much info on 'wireless HDMI' products. Any suggestions of things that work and will provide the same audio/visual quality as a hard wire?

Bryan
McKinneyMagnum is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 4 Old 07-16-2013, 11:34 AM
Member
 
Gramin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2010
Posts: 198
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
You're better off doing a new drop. And if you're only going about 30', you might be able to do that yourself. That's actually a very short run that you should be able to accomplish with fish tape. And if you pick up some of the slim Redmere HDMI cables from Monoprice, it will make running the drop even easier.
Gramin is offline  
post #3 of 4 Old 07-16-2013, 12:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,172
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 27 Post(s)
Liked: 61
HDMI.org wont sanction any ‘wireless’ HDMI products – look for ‘Wireless HD’ instead! (www.whdi.org being one version)

There are lots of them out there – just be prepared to have a few false starts before you find something which is trouble-free in your installation and don’t assume you won’t have to revert to wires!

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #4 of 4 Old 07-16-2013, 01:17 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,037
Mentioned: 4 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 230 Post(s)
Liked: 365
If you didn't run HDMI to the projector location - what WAS run? Component video? Any Cat5e? There are HDMI-over- products that will be more reliable than wireless, and may be cheaper than having a wire pulled (assuming you don't have decent access to just run one...)

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off