Sonos Connect With Multiple Speakers - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 07-21-2013, 02:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
coondogg97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Southeastern, PA
Posts: 33
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This should be a pretty simple setup, but I am not sure how to pull it off.

Current setup:

Sonos Amp
2x Klipsch AW500
2x Polk Atrium 5c

I would like to add 2-4 more speakers to my back yard but the Sonos Amp only supports four. Buying another Sonos Amp would be excessive because both amps would be in the same zone. I wouldn't mind buying a Sonos Connect and using an external amp, I have a spare Denon receiver I can use if that would work. I need a Sonos Amp for another part of the house so I would still use the Amp I currently own.

All I am trying to accomplish is having 6-8 speakers spread across the yard and going through a Sonos system. What is the best way to accomplish that?

Thanks!
coondogg97 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 07-21-2013, 03:59 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 7,674
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 74 Post(s)
Liked: 340
An impedance-matching speaker selector will do the job, but you're probably going to run out of power from that single amp. You could add an external amp and split the speakers among both the internal/external. An Audiosource AMP-100 or similar amp with automatic on/off would be a good choice. Note that large outdoor areas do require more power than an average room, though, so you may want to step up to a larger amp.

Jeff

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht

jautor is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 07-26-2013, 01:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,290
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
If you don't need independent level controls then I would go with a separate multi-channel amp and just the Connect. You can run the sets off the single input.

B.
Brian B is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off