TV in bedroom, AVR in kitchen, Cat6 in wall - need HDMI over cat6 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 09-04-2013, 03:26 PM - Thread Starter
dfn
Senior Member
 
dfn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Looking for advice on what to buy for my parents. The setup is the following:
TV in bedroom, AVR in kitchen, Cat 6 cables going from kitchen to bedroom (in walls and ceiling), not longer than 80 feet in total length. Need to connect AVR to TV. AVR = HDMI, TV = HDMI.

From these two solutions, which would you recommend and why?
http://wyrestorm.com/catalog/40m131ft-1utp-with-ir-edid-adjustment
http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10914&cs_id=1091401&p_id=10225&seq=1&format=2

Are there any other solutions you'd recommend? The only reason I linked the above two is because one is offered by the electrician the homebuilder contracted out, and the other is what I found searching these forums. This is totally new territory for me...would appreciate any advice.
dfn is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 09-05-2013, 12:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 44
HDBaseT is usually the most stable.
ifor is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 09-05-2013, 07:04 AM
Senior Member
 
M1chael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
OP if you don't want to spend so much money on a HDBaseT solution and the run is under 100 feet or so...you may want to also consider an simple hdmi extender like this:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011012&p_id=8121&seq=1&format=2

or

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011012&p_id=6532&seq=1&format=2
M1chael is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 09-05-2013, 10:51 AM - Thread Starter
dfn
Senior Member
 
dfn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the replies!

I forgot to mention, there are three cat6 cables going from the kitchen to the bedroom. Not sure if that changes anything?
dfn is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 09-05-2013, 11:04 AM
Senior Member
 
M1chael's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 305
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
The options I just stated in my last post (hdmi extender) would use two of those cables leaving one extra for anything else...(i.e. ir emitter, etc)
M1chael is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 09-05-2013, 07:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 44
HDBaseT has 2-way ir built into the units. Usually.

I use the SnapAV HDBaseT baluns as they only require power one the transmitter end, saving space at the display. Especially when wall mounting the display.
ifor is offline  
post #7 of 13 Old 09-05-2013, 09:53 PM
Member
 
bluetv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
To M1chael,

The two HDMI over two Cat6 extenders you mentioned support HDMI1.2 only (according to the manuals that come with the product page). Any similar devices that support HDMI 1.4b?
bluetv is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 09-06-2013, 12:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 44
Yes.
HDBaseT supports 3D, 1080p, Deep Color 36-bit, 4K, Dolby and DTS HD.
ifor is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 09-06-2013, 09:22 PM
Member
 
bluetv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2007
Posts: 41
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
ifor,

When you wrote 4k, does it mean it support HDMI 2.0 as well?
bluetv is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 09-07-2013, 12:19 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,421
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 44
No. HDMI 2.0 is brand new and no one has any specs for it.

There is no hardware for it currently.
ifor is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 09-13-2013, 08:54 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Joe Fernand's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Scotland, UK
Posts: 1,090
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 4 Post(s)
Liked: 60
Ignore HDMI versions numbers and look for Feature support instead – with HDMI most features are ‘optional’ so you need to ensure you have the feature you require not the version.

Are you expecting Video + Audio via HDMI on the Bedroom TV or are you only looking for Video and using the AVR to Speakers in the bedroom?

How are you planning to control the Source/AVR from the bedroom?

Joe

If I've helped 'Like' me on Facebook - www.facebook.com/Octavainc

Joe Fernand is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 09-13-2013, 09:02 AM
Senior Member
 
ekkoville's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 265
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by M1chael View Post

OP if you don't want to spend so much money on a HDBaseT solution and the run is under 100 feet or so...you may want to also consider an simple hdmi extender like this:

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011012&p_id=8121&seq=1&format=2

or

http://www.monoprice.com/products/product.asp?c_id=109&cp_id=10110&cs_id=1011012&p_id=6532&seq=1&format=2

I use the bottom piece from Monoprice that you linked to. Works like a charm along with IR. Also serves up your network if you want Ethernet to your TV for apps.
ekkoville is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 09-13-2013, 04:22 PM - Thread Starter
dfn
Senior Member
 
dfn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Calgary, Canada
Posts: 246
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
AVR is powering speakers in the bedroom, so only video to the TV (bedroom).

The plan is to use an android tablet with iRule as a universal remote control, with 2 iTach devices (one in the kitchen for AVR + DCT/PVR, and another in the bedroom for TV).

Thanks for the helpful replies everyone!
dfn is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off