8 zone audio only system - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 13 Old 09-05-2013, 05:33 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cmcjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
After 10 years with my amx control system and matrix switchers I have decided to just run a simple audio only system and get rid of the amx and switchers.

I still have 2 niles 1260 amps that I would like to use for the power to the speakers
I have 8 rooms including a patio with 4 speakers.

So my question is what multi sone audio system will support the following
8 zones
iPad and iPhone control including individual and all zone control
Pre-out to amps
Pandora,rhapsody,ability to play iTunes from the iPhones prefer wireless(optional)
Keypads or touchscreens that use a cat5/18-2 wire

I'm looking at the nuvo but not sure.

Any suggestions?

JOE
cmcjo is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 13 Old 09-06-2013, 12:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Sonos. But no keypads, just put blank plates over the old keypad holes. Around $2800.

Or a Russound MCA-C5 with a couple of DMS 3.1 units, keypads etc. Around $9000
ifor is offline  
post #3 of 13 Old 09-06-2013, 01:26 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cmcjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for the response it looks like sonos is all wireless and since I already have inwall speakers in my rooms probably would be looking at a system for wired speakers.

Russound is a good option plus it integrates with my hai system. (Or at least they did several years ago)

I was also looking at elan g. Looks really nice but not sure about their programming and I didn't want to get involved with hiring programmers again to manage my music system.

JOE
cmcjo is offline  
post #4 of 13 Old 09-06-2013, 11:11 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Look at the sonos connect units. Not the connect amps, but the regular connects. Use the Niles amps you have for power. The sonos units are your sources.
ifor is offline  
post #5 of 13 Old 09-06-2013, 03:10 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cmcjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hey guys thanks. The Sonos looks like it rocks. I just got back from best buy with a bunch of sonos connect players and a bridge. They told me I needed a bridge even though everything is hard wired.?

You guys know if I want to combine some zones I can just simply split out the output of the connect player and send them to the amp?

Thanks very much for the Sonos suggestions.

JOE
cmcjo is offline  
post #6 of 13 Old 09-06-2013, 03:31 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Brian B's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Los Angeles, CA
Posts: 1,292
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 24
One of the Sonos Connects needs to be directly connected to the network, otherwise you need the bridge. I would recommend a network switch and hard-wiring all the connects--this is how Sonos recommends for this type of setup.

B.
Brian B is online now  
post #7 of 13 Old 09-06-2013, 03:43 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cmcjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks brian. But I plan to hard wire all connects to my home router now. It that what your saying? So knowing that all of my connect players are hard wired to my router, do I still need the bridge? I was told yes if I want to do party mode or sync all zones to play the same music

JOE
cmcjo is offline  
post #8 of 13 Old 09-06-2013, 07:19 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cmcjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmcjo View Post

Thanks brian. But I plan to hard wire all connects to my home router now. It that what your saying? So knowing that all of my connect players are hard wired to my router, do I still need the bridge? I was told yes if I want to do party mode or sync all zones to play the same music

Looks Like I dont need the bridge. The best buy guy seemed to know what he was talking about too! No big deal now I can go return the bridge for something else.

JOE
cmcjo is offline  
post #9 of 13 Old 09-06-2013, 08:18 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
fcwilt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Smith Mountain Lake, VA
Posts: 1,085
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 19
If you are going to hardwire all of your Sonos units you can turn off the radios to free up the WiFi channel that Sonos would otherwise use - but you don't have to.

Regards, Frederick C. Wilt
fcwilt is offline  
post #10 of 13 Old 09-07-2013, 12:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Keep in mind you don't need a switch as all the Connects have dual ethernet ports for daisy chaining them.

One output from the router to the first Connect, them one after the other.
ifor is offline  
post #11 of 13 Old 09-07-2013, 12:27 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,426
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 45
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmcjo View Post

Hey guys thanks. The Sonos looks like it rocks. I just got back from best buy with a bunch of sonos connect players and a bridge. They told me I needed a bridge even though everything is hard wired.?

You guys know if I want to combine some zones I can just simply split out the output of the connect player and send them to the amp?

You can use the buss inputs on your amp to feed multiple pairs of speakers. You'll have to pull out your manual or download a new one to figure out the dip switches, as I don't want to go through this online.
Quote:
Originally Posted by cmcjo View Post

Thanks very much for the Sonos suggestions.

You're welcome. It was only me, the saviour of the universe.
ifor is offline  
post #12 of 13 Old 09-14-2013, 05:35 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
cmcjo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: North Jersey
Posts: 1,661
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifor View Post

You can use the buss inputs on your amp to feed multiple pairs of speakers. You'll have to pull out your manual or download a new one to figure out the dip switches, as I don't want to go through this online.
You're welcome. It was only me, the saviour of the universe.

I have been using these niles amps for years and never realized that was a feature on them. Best part is you can connect the amps together to connect zones on different amps. Also just figured out how to send both L/R channels to some speakers.

JOE
cmcjo is offline  
post #13 of 13 Old 10-06-2013, 09:04 AM
Newbie
 
Northeast22's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 6
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I installed the Nuvo Essentia and Music Server and have had really good experience. It was pushing my DIY skills to set up each zone, but in the end I am very happy with the system. What I liked is that I only needed cat 5 to the keypads (not keypads in all rooms) and home run speaker wire to equipment room. The music port integrates well with my iTunes account and will auto synch for any new songs in my itunes account. I am easily able to operate the system from my mobile devices as well. I'm thinking about getting this same set up for the vacation place too.
Northeast22 is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off