Please help with Home A/V Distribution - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 09-20-2013, 09:36 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cdika17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Please critique my following setup.

Main Floor


Basement


Initial thoughts, let me know what you think.

13 possible Video Zones
14 possible Audio Zones
Centralized Racks in media storage

HDBaseT to matrix in media storage for all tv locations

Minimum 4 x cat6 and 1 rg6 to each location.

Video locations:

Great Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom/Toilet
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3
Covered Deck
Garage

Basement
Rec Room
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5
Craft Room
Bar
Theater

Audio Locations:

Great Room
Master Bedroom
Master Bathroom
Dining Room/Kitchen
Covered Deck
Garage
Bedroom 2
Bedroom 3

Basement
Rec Room
Bedroom 4
Bedroom 5
Craft Room
Bar
Theater


No quite sure which method would be best, cost effective, user friendly.

Control4, Nuvo, Sonos?

-----------------------------------------------
Chase "Fetch"


Current Theater Build
 

New House Build

 

cdika17 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 09-20-2013, 01:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 358
In at least one place you mention Cat-6 cabling, but elsewhere Cat-5. It might just be a typo, but Cat-6 everywhere would be better.

Electrical connections in the shower are going to be problematic over time. Moisture and heat accelerate corrosion of connections. Just saying... They shouldn't be dangerous, so long as they're low-voltage and current limited, but you'll doubtless need some kind of safety inspection to certify that they meet local electrical code.

You seem to tend to have "from" and "to" reversed. e.g. HDMI should be labelled as going from receiver to TV so it matches the signal flow. Otherwise people get easily confused. e.g. in the Garage you have an HDMI going "from TV" but don't say where it's going.

Putting a sub in-wall won't necessarily produce the best sound. Because of the interaction between low frequencies and room dimensions often people have to find the best location for a subwoofer by trial-and-error. In a corner isn't necessarily the best, either. Putting one in a separate cabinet is likely to be problematic, too.

I hope these comments help a little.

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #3 of 5 Old 09-21-2013, 05:45 AM
Senior Member
 
canuck_fr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2011
Location: Montreal
Posts: 283
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Very nice floor plans by the way! I don't know if you plan to do audio distribution, but in a house like this you should. Therefore you need to wire for more cat 6 cable to locations where you would want a keypad to control your system.

When doing in ceiling speaker, speaker placement is everything. Learn how to do so here: http://www.htd.com/s.nl/ctype.KB/it.I/id.7362/KB.2987/.f?sc=44&category=8
canuck_fr is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 09-21-2013, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Selden Ball's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: upstate NY
Posts: 6,627
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 140 Post(s)
Liked: 358
Another comment: you can't have too much Cat-6 cabling. WiFi usually is problematic for streaming video and audio due to dropouts caused by interference from cordless phones, microwave ovens and the neighbors' networks. HDMI over Cat-6 wiring is popular when long cable runs are involved, but is not the same as ethernet. Networking and HDMI can not be run over the same cables. (Unless you spend $$$$ on proprietary HDMI networking hardware.)

Selden
Selden Ball is online now  
post #5 of 5 Old 10-16-2013, 08:27 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
cdika17's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 706
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 19
So i am confused on what way i should go, take everything to a centralized location or leave each location as it's own? We will be starting to build in the spring and I would potentially like to pre-wire the house the proper/best way so i can eventually add in the right equipment as i can afford it.

We have a dealer in town who installs control4, thats all i think we have.

-----------------------------------------------
Chase "Fetch"


Current Theater Build
 

New House Build

 

cdika17 is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off