Suggestions for running wire from surveillance camera to attic (2 story)? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 10-01-2013, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
stevedawg85's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Location: Houston
Posts: 159
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 8 Post(s)
Liked: 11
I would like to run an ethernet + power from the camera to my attic and connect it to the rest of my network. Attached is the location I would like to have it to monitor the front door + part of the driveway. Is my best/only option to have the wires exposed while running the wire along the hardiplank into the attic? There are boards b/t the two floors preventing me from running the cable vertically down.

WIRES.jpg 2582k .jpg file
Attached Images
File Type: jpg WIRES.jpg (2.52 MB, 28 views)
stevedawg85 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 10-01-2013, 06:14 PM
Advanced Member
 
Phil17108's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2012
Location: Orange County California
Posts: 950
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 54
Have you though about PVC, it could be painted to match and protect the cables.
Phil17108 is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 10-02-2013, 03:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,444
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 47
You could go through the interior bedroom wall into the space above the camera location, assuming that it is hollow.
Make a hole down low in the bedroom wall and drill with a masonry bit through the mortar.
You will need to make a small hole that would be covered by the camera and use glow-rods or fish tape to fish the line from the bedroom to the camera.
Then run the wire up the bedroom wall into the attic area then to wherever you need for them to go. You will have made some drywall holes but drywall is really easy to fix.

You could run a rg-59 with 18/2 for the camera.
...or you could also run a single cat5e or cat6 and use a pair of baluns for the BNC and power connections. Like these: http://muxlab.com/product?category=cctv&product=videoease-cctv-power-thru-balun&pid=40
ifor is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off