New Home Construction - LV wiring... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 14 Old 10-31-2013, 12:24 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Hi All,

I'm new to AVS, but I've used these forums many times in the past to answer general questions I was having.  I'm building a 2 story house with a full basement which is where the rack will be located and this will be the central point for all Ethernet and Coax runs as well as any servers I may have.  All bedrooms are on the 2nd floor and the living room and office are on the 1st floor. 

I work in IT so I'm very familiar with Ethernet standards and I already have the tools for that.  I'm getting ready to purchase some bulk RG-6 (I'm assuming to get quad shield?), compression crimping tool, and connectors. 

I will have DTV with a dvr in the living room which is also where the surround sound will be until I finish the basement later on and regular receivers in 3 or 4 more rooms (mainly bedrooms).  My plan is to mount the tv's on the wall in the bedrooms, but then I don't know where to put the receivers.  Any suggestions on a neat way of handling this? 

How many coax runs do I need to run to each location?  I'm assuming I need at least 2 for the dvr in the LR, but what about the bedroom tv's?  Should I go ahead and run 2 to each location for future possibilities?  I will be running conduit from the basement to the attic for future use as well.

As far as wall plates and keystone jacks, which manufacturer should I go with/avoid?  

Any other gotchas or things I should watch out for or things I should consider on adding now?  I know once the drywall goes up, it becomes more of a pain later on.  That's another reason I'll have plenty of empty conduit from the basement to the attic.  They just now poured the basement walls so I should still have a month or two before I start wiring.  Any help or suggestions from those of you have already been down this road is appreciated.