High Power Source Selector - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 11-01-2013, 10:12 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dfidler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Hi All,

I seem to be a bit backwards with this question so please bear with me.

I have two amplifiers
  • Denon 2809 Class D (120W Peak)
  • Classe CA-5200 Class A/B (200W RMS)

I have one set of speakers.

The Classe system consumes around 400W of power from the wall sitting idle (about 1500W during a heavy bass note at volume) so I want to use the Denon when I'm listening to pop music, watching movies, etc.

So what I need is a reverse speaker selector that will allow me to select which amp to use with my speakers (because right now the Denon is basically just being used as an HDMI switch for my Classe system, something I'd like to change).

Unfortunately, I can't just use a speaker selector because:
  1. I have yet to find a multi-source speaker selector that rates above 150W RMS (I found one with 2 inputs and 4 outputs - overkill but it still only did 150W RMS)
  2. A speaker selector is likely to have a diode in there to prevent a surge back to the input, so simply hooking my amps up to the speaker outs and the speakers up to the selector's input is likely to cook the selector.

Has anyone heard of such an animal?

Note: I never crank my system up to the 200W ceiling but I still want the headroom on any selector that I might buy.

Cheers,
Dave.

F:Focal Electra 1038be, S:B&W 610XP (soon to be replaced)
dfidler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 11-01-2013, 10:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 9,082
Mentioned: 15 Post(s)
Tagged: 1 Thread(s)
Quoted: 609 Post(s)
Liked: 497
http://www.nilesaudio.com/product.php?prodID=DPS-1&recordID=Source%20Switching%20Systems&categoryID=Automated%20Switching%20Systems&catcdID=10&prdcdID=FG00003

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is offline  
Old 11-02-2013, 04:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dfidler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well that's about as ugly as it gets but I guess it's fixable with a new project box. Thanks mate! smile.gif

F:Focal Electra 1038be, S:B&W 610XP (soon to be replaced)
dfidler is offline  
Old 11-02-2013, 06:13 PM
AVS Special Member
 
AV_Integrated's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Northern, VA - Washington, DC
Posts: 4,256
Mentioned: 12 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 624 Post(s)
Liked: 509
If you intend to completely power off the other amplifier when you don't want to use it, then this one will do the job for you automatically...

http://www.sonance.com/products/accessories/detail/25

I personally haven't used it, but it seems to cover your desires... maybe.

AV Integrated - Theater, whole house audio, and technology installation in the Washington DC metro area.
AV_Integrated is online now  
Old 11-02-2013, 08:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 53
??? Why not use the pre-outs from the denon to fee dthe Classe amp?

And the amp isn't using 400w sitting idle.
ifor is offline  
Old 06-06-2015, 11:07 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dfidler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifor View Post
??? Why not use the pre-outs from the denon to fee dthe Classe amp?
Because the pre/pro on the Denon is crap by comparison.

Quote:
Originally Posted by ifor View Post
And the amp isn't using 400w sitting idle.
Yes.

It is.

It consumes 400W when powered on and doing absolutely nothing.

The Classe CA5200 is a 5x 200W Class A/B amplifier with a 50w Class A bias. That means that for the first 50W of each of those channels, it is a Class A amp and is dissipating that 50W as heat at all times. The amp only starts to exhibit Class A/B characteristics when power requirements peak over that 50W mark.

At the time of the OP, I had already confirmed this with direct measurement.

F:Focal Electra 1038be, S:B&W 610XP (soon to be replaced)
dfidler is offline  
Old 06-06-2015, 11:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
ifor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Location: La Quinta, CA
Posts: 2,494
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 32 Post(s)
Liked: 53
Really? This is a 1.5 year old thread.
ifor is offline  
Old 06-10-2015, 02:28 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
dfidler's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Location: London, UK
Posts: 76
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 5 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by ifor View Post
Really? This is a 1.5 year old thread.
I've been away. Time does not necessarily make correct information any less relevant.

F:Focal Electra 1038be, S:B&W 610XP (soon to be replaced)
dfidler is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 

Tags
Denon Avr 2809ci 7 1 Channel Multizone Home Theater Receiver
Gear in this thread
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off