What would be the best way to make this work? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-17-2013, 12:14 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Wil Horneff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

I am trying to run a line from my ipad to three televisions so that they can broadcast what's on the ipad.  I have a choice to buy ipad to component connectors or ipad to hdmi connectors.  There is going to be approximately 100 feet between the ipad and the televisions.  I've read through the forum enough to see there are issues splitting hdmi and wasnt' sure if it was better to use component or if I just needed an hdmi splitter and an amp.  Any suggestions on what equipment to buy to get this done would be really appreciated.

 

Thanks

Wil

Wil Horneff is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-17-2013, 01:22 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,308
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Component video would be much easier and avoids all the HDMI headaches. Use the CE Labs AV400COMP distribution amp and you can go 150' over component...

http://proav.celabs.net/av-products/av-distribution/component-amplifiers/av400comp/
Wil Horneff likes this.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
Old 12-17-2013, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Wil Horneff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Thanks a ton for the advice.  So basically all I need is to plug the component ipad adaptor into this and run component lines to all tvs and I'm all set?

Wil Horneff is offline  
Old 12-17-2013, 03:29 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,308
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wil Horneff View Post

Thanks a ton for the advice.  So basically all I need is to plug the component ipad adaptor into this and run component lines to all tvs and I'm all set?

Assuming the iPad component adapter works the way you need it to, yep...
Wil Horneff likes this.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
Old 12-17-2013, 03:47 PM
Member
 
tadr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
airplay isn't an option?
Wil Horneff likes this.
tadr is offline  
Old 12-17-2013, 07:52 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Wil Horneff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10

Wonderful thanks a lot

Wil Horneff is offline  
Old 12-17-2013, 07:53 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Wil Horneff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tadr View Post

airplay isn't an option?

 

I talked to an apple tech who said I couldnt' do it because I'd have to have 3 apple tv's and therefore 3 iphones

Wil Horneff is offline  
Old 12-17-2013, 08:31 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Wil Horneff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

Component video would be much easier and avoids all the HDMI headaches. Use the CE Labs AV400COMP distribution amp and you can go 150' over component...

http://proav.celabs.net/av-products/av-distribution/component-amplifiers/av400comp/

Last question Jautor can you give me a good reccommendation for good quality cables or will any pretty much do the trick?

 

Thanks

Wil

Wil Horneff is offline  
Old 12-17-2013, 08:32 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Wil Horneff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by jautor View Post

Component video would be much easier and avoids all the HDMI headaches. Use the CE Labs AV400COMP distribution amp and you can go 150' over component...

 

 

Whoops I couldn't respond with your link.  Any reccommendations about a good quality 100 ft component cable or will any pretty much do the trick?

Wil Horneff is offline  
Old 12-17-2013, 09:18 PM
AVS Special Member
 
jautor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 8,308
Mentioned: 6 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 323 Post(s)
Liked: 379
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wil Horneff View Post

Whoops I couldn't respond with your link.  Any reccommendations about a good quality 100 ft component cable or will any pretty much do the trick?

Monoprice:

http://www.monoprice.com/Category?c_id=102&cp_id=10235&cs_id=1023507

Or you can buy lengths of 3x RG59 coax and terminate them yourself. The triple-wire cable is easier to route around the room, but the pre-made cables are obviously an "easier" solution...

Jeff
Wil Horneff likes this.

Rock Creek Theater -- CIH, Panamorph, Martin Logan, SVS PB2000, Carada Masquerade, Grafik Eye, Bar table, Green Glue, JVC RS50 
Theater build photos: http://photobucket.com/autor-ht
jautor is online now  
Old 12-18-2013, 08:35 AM
Member
 
tadr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 83
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Wil Horneff View Post

I talked to an apple tech who said I couldnt' do it because I'd have to have 3 apple tv's and therefore 3 iphones

Are all three of the TVs nearby each other OR wired to a central location?

If so, you could just use 1 apple tv and an HDMI splitter.
Wil Horneff likes this.
tadr is offline  
Old 12-18-2013, 11:31 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Wil Horneff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2013
Posts: 12
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by tadr View Post


Are all three of the TVs nearby each other OR wired to a central location?

If so, you could just use 1 apple tv and an HDMI splitter.

 

 

They are all around 50 feet away from eachother.  I see what you are saying though and it seems like a great idea.  Unfortunately we have had major issues with the wifi and also getting mirroring to work consistently so I went ahead and went the component route.  Thanks a lot for taking your time to help me out tadr


Wil

Wil Horneff is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off