Small Whole Home System Advice Please. - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 07-03-2014, 06:51 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Small Whole Home System Advice Please.

Hey guys, I'm pretty new to all of this audio distribution stuff but we are having a new house built and I'm trying to plan what I'm going to do while we can still get any speaker wire that we need run. I know that there are a bunch of different threads about this but none really seem to address the fairly simple system that I want so I'm hoping that someone could help me out with a simple solution.

So what I'd like is this:
- 7.1 system in living room with 4 in ceiling (rear / sides) and 3 in wall (fronts / centre) speakers….Only place video will be going.
- 2 ceiling speakers in kitchen area
- 2 ceiling speakers in entrance
- 1 ceiling speaker in ensuite (second level)
- 1 ceiling speaker in master bedroom (second level)
- would like to get 2 x Bose 51 Freespace Speakers in yard on same system

Now, I don't really know where I go from here. Would like to have everything hardwired (unless there are any very reliable / flexible wireless recommendations? i'd be happy to hear them) but controllable via iPad / iPhone but controls in walls would be cool too. Music library will be coming from a hard ethernet wired iMac that I don't mind leaving on (unless there's a better suggestion….now that I think about it, I guess that won't work for different songs in different zones simultaneously, how would I go about that with a music library). Budget isn't crazy but looking to get quality stuff without going overboard. Plan on using Polk RC80i ceiling speakers throughout.

Thanks very much -Bryan
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 07-03-2014, 06:58 PM

Liked: 13
Take a look at Sonos for the whole house audio portion of the project.
post #3 of 7 Old 07-04-2014, 06:58 AM
Advanced Member

Quoted: 130 Post(s)
Liked: 43