Budget home av system - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 07-04-2014, 02:18 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Budget home av system

Hey there guys hopefully someone can give me some more information.
I'm looking to fit a house av system into my house but there are so many different things I have no idea which and what to choose
Basically my setup will be, all the av equipment, 2x cable, bluray, music and video server of some sort (advice needed? Maybe pc?) all storedin the office and then in living room 2 bedrooms and outside I want to be able to play this equipment independently so a song playing outside while listening to a different on in bedroom, cable in lounge while watching bluray in the other bedroom etc... I want to be able to control these either through wall keypads and/or iOS and android devices
I have come across the control4 system I've heard of systemline for audio but not looked into this for the video side of things.

I don't want to spend thousands so cheapest possible solutions would be great but will be willing to look into spending more if it's worth it

Thanks
mtwa is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 07-04-2014, 06:51 AM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 43
What country are you in.
Is this just video not audio. You talk two video zone and no audio zones but then talk playing audio outside. So how many audio and how many videos?

Based on the limited information above.

1 AVR with two zone HDMI output to take the cable, BD, music server.
Get the right one you can get surround sound to main zone and stereo to second.

Then sonos amps for the audio zones.

Sent from my LT26i using Tapatalk
SMHarman is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 07-05-2014, 03:02 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Thanks for your reply there will be video going to all the rooms the audio will be in so living room 2 bedrooms and and outside, will have speakers 5.1 ch in the wall and ceiling in the living room as well as wall mounted HDTV, stereo ceiling speakers for bedrooms which will also have HDTV on the wall, outside will be a pair of speakers and a projector.
mtwa is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 07-05-2014, 06:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 43
What you are looking at then is a 5 source 4 output HDMI matrix so likely a 6x6 one.

These are 1) cheap and unreliable. 2) expensive.

So budget is getting blown up with a distribution matrix.

Where do you live? Can you get TiVo? Do you have cable or fios?

EDIT. Actually you have an HT zone. Best to part that out subunits own avr and sources. Then a 4x4 matrix. Still pricy for the matrix though.

Sent from my LT26i using Tapatalk

Last edited by SMHarman; 07-05-2014 at 07:11 PM.
SMHarman is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 07-06-2014, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
live in the uk, we have cable virgin media Tivo my issue with a hdmi matrix is how do you control it, do you have to keep going into the office to change whats being viewed in each room or can this be done with an app on iphone/android or wall keypads?
mtwa is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 07-07-2014, 06:43 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Posts: 4
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Would it be possible to connect the two cable boxes I have to a computer and then stream that input to other computers,

I have 3 computers all running windows 8 pro I could use one to connect the cable boxes and bluray player to, using some kind of hdmi input card, then put the other two computers in the bedrooms but how would I then go about watching the inputs from the central computer on one of the other computers?

Would this be a cheaper option maybe?
mtwa is offline  
post #7 of 7 Old 07-07-2014, 07:00 AM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 551
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 133 Post(s)
Liked: 43
You control it by ir or ip or serial.
Each room would have some smart remote control you program so when you want a source it sends the command to the switch then sets the control for the avr audio and TiVo or whatever transport controls.

Sent from my LT26i using Tapatalk
SMHarman is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off