Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 6 Old 08-24-2014, 01:00 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Ceiling Speakers & Placement

Hi there,

We're in the process of doing a fairly substantial renovation and addition to our house and since the walls will all be open I thought now would be the perfect time to install whole home audio and home automation. I've been doing research for about six months and am amazed at how much there is to learn. My question today (I'm sure that there will be more...) concerns the ceiling speakers for my soon-to-be-built kitchen and family room.

I have marked up the attached layout with where I think the speakers should go in each room. Having no practical experience with this however I'd appreciate some input from you guys. The speakers will be used for background music only (unless someday I'm forced to move the home theater stuff from the family room to the basement...)

1) Do I need 4 speakers in each room given the dimensions or is that overkill?
2) Should I change the kitchen to a couple of stereo speakers instead of separate L/R speakers?
3) I am thinking about using Monoprice 6034's but I know nothing about speakers. The reviews seem good and the price seems right but again, I know nothing.

The plan is to wire everything back to a server room in the basement. I haven't decided (or really looked too much at) what will drive the speakers yet.

Any comments would be greatly appreciated.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 6 Old 08-24-2014, 07:58 PM

Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi Mark,

IMO 2 sets in a kitchen that size is overkill for background music, I would move a set into the eat-in kitchen.

2 sets are probably warranted in the family room...

-Mario
post #3 of 6 Old 08-29-2014, 06:19 PM

Quote:
Originally Posted by markl007 View Post
Hi there,