cat 5 over hdmi problem - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 08-27-2014, 11:39 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
cat 5 over hdmi problem

hi there i am a satellite engineer,, have a customer who purchased a home with cat 5 points at behind tv.
i have single feed cat5 - hdmi converters which work fine on his 26 inch sony , and small 19 inch , but when i plug these into his older 40 inch jvc , they dont give a stable picture.
constantly work for a minute or 5 ,,, then snow , when the picture fails, then back again then gone again continuosly ..
i have changed all hdmi resolutions 480-1080p, all the same i have tried all settings on the cat 5 transmitter and recievers for distance. yet the cat5 -hdmi works perfectly on the other screens regardless of settings on transmitter and reciever.

my question is , is the 40 inch jvc made in 2005 simply to old for hdmi -cat5 tech,
or is the fact that its a larger screen it takes more power from the system , and maybe the cat5 -hdmi converters cant produce the power the screen requires..

any help here is much welcomed...
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 08-27-2014, 11:44 AM

Quoted: 13 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by albhoy78 View Post
hi there i am a satellite engineer,, have a customer who purchased a home with cat 5 points at behind tv.
i have single feed cat5 - hdmi converters which work fine on his 26 inch sony , and small 19 inch , but when i plug these into his older 40 inch jvc , they dont give a stable picture.
constantly work for a minute or 5 ,,, then snow , when the picture fails, then back again then gone again continuosly ..
i have changed all hdmi resolutions 480-1080p, all the same i have tried all settings on the cat 5 transmitter and recievers for distance. yet the cat5 -hdmi works perfectly on the other screens regardless of settings on transmitter and reciever.