Controlling music sever from multiple locations/devices - AVS | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!


Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 04-14-2015, 10:39 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 1
Controlling music sever from multiple locations/devices

Is this possible? I'm going to create what I'll call a jukebox to some degree. It will basically consist of a computer with high quality mp3s on it. I'll also have a spotify account as well. How can I control this from multiple locations? I know I can obviously control it via keyboard connected to the server/computer(which will be connected to the tv) but I'd also like to have touchscreen device hanging on the wall in a different location or be able to use my android phone as well.

I'm sure this is possible...just don't know how. Any experts out there? Thanks!
j_blow is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 04-14-2015, 11:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GreySkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Formerly Chicagoland, now Doylestown, PA
Posts: 2,747
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 125 Post(s)
Liked: 68
I do this with a central file server with a Kodi client (soon to be several Kodi clients). I can control this with Yatse on my Android phone, queueing records or individual songs either as next, or at the end of the queue.

I don't know about Spotify as I don't use it, but for controlling and playing my 1600+ CDs, I haven't found anything better than what I'm using now.

-Joe

www.marvindog.com
My Media Room Progress <—— Sorry, this is down until I get the time to fix it, as I've been busy building my new theater.
GreySkies is online now  
Old 04-14-2015, 02:00 PM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Some would call that device a Sonos.

Sonos Amp if you are connecting to owned speakers.
Sonos connect if you are connecting into an amp and speakers.
SMHarman is online now  
Old 04-14-2015, 02:37 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Posts: 44
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 23 Post(s)
Liked: 1
I think I'd much prefer my own amp. I'll have to look into this. Thanks.
j_blow is offline  
Old 04-14-2015, 03:11 PM
Advanced Member
 
SMHarman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Posts: 832
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 235 Post(s)
Liked: 65
Joking aside. The connect and a NAS or HDD is a solution with a sweet UI.

Multizone with say a control4 controller and matrix amp and you have single interface control.
SMHarman is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off