Whole house system-----Elan?? - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
post #1 of 11 Unread 04-17-2017, 11:32 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Question Whole house system-----Elan??

Hello everyone. First off.....I am a newbie, so please excuse the dumb questions....

Didn't know whether I should post here or in the Home Automation, but I am sure someone will let me know if I am posting in the wrong forum.

I am considering putting together a system mainly to view CCTV and play audio on speakers I already have in my rooms. My house is wired already for a key pad.

I was considering the Elan VIA since I like the touch screens and can watch the CCTV on this pad. I would also include the Elan S12. I consider purchasing the hardware and software from eBay to program the VIA. Is there any thing else I need to build the system with the Elan components I mentioned? Should I consider another system?

I am not looking for top-of-the line systems, but I am looking for a system as I mentioned.

Any feedback would be greatly appreciated. Thanks in advance.
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Unread 04-18-2017, 05:25 AM

Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Quoted: 80 Post(s)
Liked: 19
Elan is my preferred WHA/HA system. I don't think you can beat it in terms of price, ease of use, etc.

Elan VIA! is very old, discontinued, no longer updated, gone. Do not buy this. It has been replaced by Elan g!. At minimum you'd need an Elan g1 or gSC2 depending on how many cameras you have an what zone controllers you're using for WHA. I think the S12 was a 6x12 unit? Now, you'll look towards the S86P, S86A, Niles MRC-6430, Speakercraft MRA-664, or an Autonomic E-Series amp to control your zones.