Psyclone PSC-47 HDMI switcher display - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 2 Old 08-15-2017, 01:11 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
n8nagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Psyclone PSC-47 HDMI switcher display

Picked one of these up off the 'bay to finish my horrible lashup of a vintage "home theater" system that still plays quad LPs. It looks great under my Oppo BDP-103. What I'm doing is this:

Cable box -> Psyclone
Roku -> Psyclone
Psyclone -> Oppo rear HDMI input

Oppo downmixes 5.1 or 7.1 to 4.0. Oppo analog out -> aux in of Sansui QRX-7001

Here's the problem. The Psyclone works great but the display fades out after a few seconds, making renaming sources irritating as snot. Looks like Psyclone Gaming has been out of business for a few years. Anyone have any hints as to where to look inside this thing? I'd love to have it working 100%. I'm going to program a Harmony remote to control the whole mess so it's all transparent save for working the controls on the QRX.

Yeah, I know, an AVR would be a better choice, but I like playing with old stuff and the Sui both looks and sounds great. No room in bedroom for a center channel or sub anyway.
n8nagel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 2 Old 08-15-2017, 04:45 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
n8nagel's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Posts: 308
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 99 Post(s)
Liked: 26
More info: I have determined that this ONLY happens on inputs that have a HDMI source connected to them.

e.g. right now I have a cable box on 3 and Roku on 4.

If I switch to Input 1 or Input 2 the display stays legible until the backlight times out. Even then, you can still read the words on the display.

If I select Input 3 or Input 4, the display is bright for a moment after switching to it, and then the words become faint, even before the backlight times out.

I just tried unplugging the HDMI cable from the cable box while watching cable, and the display immediately became legible again.

I haven't a clue what this means but I'd like to fix it. This little box is functionally and aesthetically just what I need, and they don't seem to show up very often.
n8nagel is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Home A/V Distribution

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off