onQ System - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 07-11-2000, 12:08 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JoshFink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is anyone familiar with the onQ system? I've found out that this is who my townhouse builder uses and we have to use them or no one.. Kind of a pain, but I can live with it.. Any suggestions on what modules to get and what are essential?

Any thoughts?

Thanks,

Josh
JoshFink is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 07-11-2000, 12:54 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Dennis Erskine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Near an airport
Posts: 9,142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 46
OnQ is an AMP product. Their distribution panel is pretty standard ... coax distribution hub, coax hub, phone punch down, etc. I don't have a clue how you'd get information on the product ... www.ampOnQ.com has a redirect to a site that doesn't provide a clue as to where to get the product information.

------------------
D. Erskine
DEsign Cinema Privee
www.DEsignCinema.com
Imagine what you could do, if you could do all you imagine.

Dennis Erskine CFI, CFII, MEI
Architectural Acoustics
Subject Matter Expert
Certified Home Theater Designer
CEDIA Board of Directors
www.erskine-group.com
www.CinemaForte.net
Dennis Erskine is online now  
post #3 of 10 Old 07-11-2000, 12:58 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JoshFink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The only info I have been able to find is www.onqtech.com

I need to sit down with the sales rep, but i have this feeling that she is not going to be of any help.

Josh
JoshFink is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 07-11-2000, 04:32 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Dennis Erskine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Near an airport
Posts: 9,142
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 14 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Josh, sadly, you're probably right. Who does the sales rep work for.

------------------
D. Erskine
DEsign Cinema Privee
www.DEsignCinema.com
Imagine what you could do, if you could do all you imagine.

Dennis Erskine CFI, CFII, MEI
Architectural Acoustics
Subject Matter Expert
Certified Home Theater Designer
CEDIA Board of Directors
www.erskine-group.com
www.CinemaForte.net
Dennis Erskine is online now  
post #5 of 10 Old 07-11-2000, 09:23 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JoshFink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The sales rep works for a company called Ranger American of Georgia.. Any experience with them?

Thanks,

Josh
JoshFink is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 07-11-2000, 11:52 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pjenkins's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 1999
Location: Plano, TX, USA
Posts: 1,893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
onQ and Ranger American have a similar setup/arrangement here in Plano, Texas. They charge excessive amounts of $$ to wire a house IMHO, but for the average person who doesn't know how to wire or what a Cat5 run is, they have a very nice product offering. I wired my own home during the construction phase and it saved me over $1500. Of course, I did have to do it in 100 degree Texas heat so that may be worth $1500 to some people http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/smile.gif



------------------
Cheers,
Paul
pjenkins is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 07-12-2000, 06:51 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JoshFink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
pjenkins, I wholeheartedly agree.. I think what they charge is a little steep, unfortunately if I don't let them wire my place, the only time I can do wiring is after all the sheet rock is up and the house is built which would probably wind up costing double anyway. On a positive note, at least it goes into my mortgage.

Josh
JoshFink is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 07-13-2000, 03:18 PM
Advanced Member
 
bb80301's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Boulder, CO
Posts: 508
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Josh:

Keep in mind that the layout of the wiring is what's important, not the OnQ (or whatever brand)hardware.

The most important thing is to do "home run" wiring (i.e., all coax, telephone, and Cat-5 terminating at a single location, without splitters in between). If you can get them to do this (including trimming out the outlets in each room) & let you put in your own splitters, ethernet switch, etc. at the central "hub" location, you will be best off.

Depending on the configuration, the cost of the OnQ hardware isn't that big of a deal, in any case. If you want to know where to find pricing of all of the various OnQ components online, let me know & I'll point you in the right direction.

Regards
BB
bb80301 is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 07-13-2000, 03:24 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
JoshFink's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2000
Location: Atlanta, GA
Posts: 577
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
BB, thanks for the input..I know that they will do a Home Run configuration and they will terminate each outlet.. They are charging what I consider a premium. $50 for each Coax & Phone outlet and $75 for each Cat 5 outlet.. I think it's expensive, but i have no choice in the matter.

I would love to know a great place to get pricing on the onQ system. I might have them set me up with all the wire a few hardware pieces and I can upgrade on my own.

Thanks,

Josh
JoshFink is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 07-14-2000, 09:55 PM
Advanced Member
 
smddoc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Brunswick, Ga
Posts: 918
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$50 and $75 is not a bad price for cable runs. I'm in the interconnect
business and I charge my clients more. ( they are however businesses ,offices stores ect. I don't do residential ) You should tell them to give you a print out of the cat 5 certification for the cat 5 cables. I'd also have them run cat 5 for the telephones as well for future communications needs.
To re-do those runs after the sheetrock is up could be a real pain.
smddoc is offline  
Closed Thread Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off