Best Wiring for High Powered HT Amp - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-05-2000, 04:52 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RickS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: AB,Canada
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi,


I have just ordered a new 6-ch Amp from Alan for the HT.
The manufacturer recommends a dedicated 20-30 amp circuit. But, some one mentioned to me to install a dual 20 amp circuit which will provide more power for the amp. What is a dual 20-30 amp circut and will I benefit from this? Any help on this will be much appreciated. The amp will be here next week so, I would like to get the wiring taken care of before the amp arrives.

Model: Cinepro 3k6II

Specs:
-125,000 mfd. power supply capacitance
-3.1kW high current toroidal power transformer
-dynamic headroom of 3.55 dB - over 750 Watt peaks (8 ohms)!
-Custom REL-CAP and Wima capacitors in the critical signal path

OUTPUT POWER
-375 WPC/8 OHMS (typ. 460W)
-600 WPC/4 OHMS (typ. 700W)
-1200 WATTS MONO (1500 @ 4 ohms)
-THD: <.015% (full power 15-20Khz)
-TIM: <.015% at full rated power
-Freq. Response: 2-180 kHz + 0, -3 dB
-Input Imped: 47K Unbal, 15K Balanced
-Configuration:3,4,5 or 6 Channel
-Dynamic headroom: >3.5 dB! (Typ. 875 Watts @8 ohms, 1150 Watts @ 4 ohms)
-Peak Current:125 amps per channel (750 amps total) .1sec pulse, .5 ohms
-Hum/noise: -109 dB unweighted
-Damping Factor: Over 1000 (!) (10Hz-1kHz)
-Cooling: Convection w/ on demand silent fan backup
-Weight: 71 lbs. Dimensions: 19"W x 8"H x 16"D
-AC Voltage: 120, 220, 240
-Recom.Service: 20 to 30 Amps-120V -20 to 30 Amps -220, 240V

------------------
Thanks

Rick & Carey's Home Theater

Rick
RickS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-05-2000, 05:15 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
Dennis Erskine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Near an airport
Posts: 9,143
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 47
Let's think about this for a moment. How are you going to get two 20 amp plugs into an amp with one power cord?

If you're concerned about the amp running low on power, you should install a 20 or 30 amp 220V (or 240V) circuit. 20 Amp and 240 volts gives you a capacity of 4,800 Watts. (at 476 wpc you'd be pulling on 2856 watts). A 20 amp, 120V circuit would max at 2400 watts (not including line losses).

Here's another approach, if you speakers are efficient (in the 90%+ range, at 6 channels driven to anywhere near the capacity of the amp, you'll suffer signficant pain, permanent hearing loss and, potentally, it'll be the last time you hear any amp. This may not be true if the speakers are outside, and you're a fair distance away.

------------------
D. Erskine
DEsign Cinema Privee
www.DEsignCinema.com
Imagine what you could do, if you could do all you imagine.

Dennis Erskine CFI, CFII, MEI
Architectural Acoustics
Subject Matter Expert
Certified Home Theater Designer
CEDIA Board of Directors
www.erskine-group.com
www.CinemaForte.net
Dennis Erskine is offline  
Old 07-05-2000, 05:36 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RickS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: AB,Canada
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi, Dennis!

ROTFLMAO!
I like the speaker outside comment!

The amp would have had to be ordered with the 220 option from the factory but I get your point. http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/biggrin.gif I'm probably not going ever use this thing to its full potential without having the police visiting. I guess a 30 amp circuit is the way to go. I was a little confused on the "dual 20 amp" circuit comment since it came from a local electrical company guy!

Now, what pre/pro....hmmm! I will see how my Denon AVR-5700 works for a processor.

------------------
Thanks

Rick & Carey's Home Theater

Rick
RickS is offline  
Old 07-06-2000, 09:48 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RickS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: AB,Canada
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi, Mark!

Thanks to you and Dennis for the replies!

I'm glad that I ordered the 120 version, and I will wire everything up myself to the breaker panel. We can pull our own elecrical permits here but, I would feel more comfortable if an electrician did the panel hook up. In my picture you can not see it but, the rack backs into a mechanical room that gives cooling to all sides except the front which I have the plexiglass door on. Most people that I have talked too told me because of the weight of this amp to mount it on the bottom. The rack is almost 65" high with a lot of space on the bottom. I have 3U space drawer that I could move up to act like a heat sheild. http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/wink.gif

What pre/pro are you using? I am going to try my Denon AVR-5700 for the time being. I will probably shift it up to my family room in the future. I am very close to buying the Lexicon MC-1, but, can't decide. Also, besides the rattle how does this amp perform? Like almost everything that I purchase here, I never get a chance to try anything until I buy it.

------------------
Thanks

Rick & Carey's Home Theater



[This message has been edited by RickS (edited July 06, 2000).]

Rick
RickS is offline  
Old 07-06-2000, 08:44 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RickS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: AB,Canada
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Hi, Mark!

So, from your comments it looks like this thing will run hot http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/wink.gif. Do you leave it on all the time? I am also thinking of adding a 1k2 2ch version from cinepro so I can have a total of 8ch if I go with EX or logic 7 from Lexicon....still debating on this as I have no chance to audition any of these products here.

------------------
Thanks

Rick & Carey's Home Theater

[This message has been edited by RickS (edited July 06, 2000).]

Rick
RickS is offline  
Old 07-25-2000, 04:26 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
RickS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 1999
Location: AB,Canada
Posts: 789
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 20
Thank's Mark and Dennis for helping me get the wiring done for the new Cinepro Amp. This amp sound's incredible!

Rack Picture

20 & 30 Amp Outlet's

I also went to Radio Shack last night and bought a 12VDC 500ma ac/dc converter and installed it in the switched part of my panamax 1500. This connects to the 12v trigger in the amp. This turns the amp on about 2-3 seconds after the processor come's on. Very convenient for the $14.00 investment.

Again, Thanks for the help!


------------------
Thanks

Rick & Carey's Home Theater

Rick
RickS is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off