RG-6 Crimping? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 10-23-2000, 01:18 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
adamtraidman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2000
Location: Mtn View, CA USA
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From each room in my home, I have two coax lines running to a central distribution box in the garage. For some bizarre reason, the installers decided (before I owned the home), to leave half of the coax runs (the second line from each room) without ends. Therefore I have to attach standard ends on 6 cables. I have crimped RJ45 and RJ11 ends on before, but never coax. Must I buy a special crimping tool, or can I do it by hand with any common tools like pliers? Seems like such a shame to spend $20+ on a coax crimper when I only need it this one time. (knock on wood)

Thanks,
Adam
adamtraidman is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 10-24-2000, 06:36 AM
Advanced Member
 
bwolff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2000
Location: Illinois
Posts: 707
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
$20 will not get you a good crimpier. Either rent one and buy good ends, or buy ends at your local hardware store. Then crimp them with the inside jaw of a pair of pliers working them around slowly not just one hard squeeze. Then hope you don't get to much leakage, or the end doesn't come off.

------------------
Bwolff

~~~~~~~~Bwolff~~~~~~~~

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

Champagne tastes with a beer budget
bwolff is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 10-30-2000, 03:56 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Dennis Erskine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Near an airport
Posts: 9,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 46
There are two tools you'll need. First the stripper...it cuts and strips the ends of the wire properly for the F connector. Second the crimper. You should determine what coax you have (Rg-59, RG6, or RG6 Quad shield). RG-59 and RG6 use a different stripper (actually, most strippers have settings for both). RG59, RG6, and RG6QS use different F connectors.

------------------
D. Erskine
DEsign Cinema Privee
www.DEsignCinema.com
Imagine what you could do, if you could do all you imagine.

Dennis Erskine CFI, CFII, MEI
Architectural Acoustics
Subject Matter Expert
Certified Home Theater Designer
CEDIA Board of Directors

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dennis Erskine is offline  
Closed Thread Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off