RS-232 and the Denon AVR-5800 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 5 Old 11-19-2000, 02:45 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As a recent purchaser of a Denon AVR-5800, and being a longtime computer/electronics hobbyist, I was intrigued when I found that the
5800 has an RS-232 port for home control systems. Denon also states that the port can be used for software/firmware upgrades but I seriously doubt they'll ever do that.

In any case, I decided since I already have a PC integrated into my home theater, why not try to incorporate control of the Denon via RS-232. Therein begins the fun, as Denon saw fit not to include either the port pinouts (although I suspect standard 9 pin serial) or the control codes that one can use via RS-232.

I've called Denon Service and to my dismay, even they did not have the info. Instead they said they would have to contact Denon Japan and get back to me. So, I ask here... if anyone has any resources on the missing info, please share it with me and the others in this forum.

I look forward to being able to fill everyone in on my progress as I invent my own home control system. Thanks in advance!

XBox Gamertag: Shadowhwk
PSN: Shadowhwk_YYC

"The first few times fighting her, I felt as helpless as a one legged cat trying to cover turds on a frozen pond." <---- We've all been there!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 5 Old 11-22-2000, 02:47 PM
Advanced Member

Dale,

If you find the RS232 control codes, please do post where you found it.

I'm considering getting the Denon CDM-5000 CD-changer that can be intelligently controlled via RS-232 and writing software to control it. Basically, I want to emulate what Escient does with their $5K TuneBase software. http://www.avsforum.com/ubb/wink.gif

Max
post #3 of 5 Old 11-26-2000, 07:29 PM
Advanced Member