AV Cast... ir/cable/modulator unit - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 12-23-2000, 05:33 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My thanks to:
bb80301,Dan Henderson,Paul Bern, for their replys to my original post. I followed your ideas, links and searched. I was totally wowed by Creston but.....would never be able to D.I.Y.
Design Goal: 1 DSS unit, 2 ReplayTv units, 1 Webtv unit, distributed to 5 locations.
AV Cast say they can send ir as well as 2 way RF thru the same pipe. This has got me by the fuzzies. Anyone care to give this AV Cast link a look. http://www.broadbandhome.com/webtv/welcome.html
Sounds so simple to me, but I'm not exactly the fastest reader in the slow reader group.
Dan

[This message has been edited by alien8 (edited 12-23-2000).]
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 12-23-2000, 06:11 AM
AVS Special Member

Dan-
I have no experience with Avcast, but I did think it was very intriguing when I first saw it a year ago. I did talk to my local HT retailer, who's opinion I respect, and they said it was of generally poor quality.

What you're really looking for is channel modulation plus IR distribution. There's no doubt that Avcast does it simply and cheaply, but I'm not sure how good the results would be. I use a Channel Plus (model 5435) modulator and Xantech IR distribution products to distribute three sources to 4 TV's and it works very well.

Remember, most of the modulators including Avcast only distribute a mono signal, so if stereo is important to you, you'd have to go with stereo modulators, which are more expensive.

Hope this helps.

------------------
Steve

Trying to figure it ALL out (and hope I never do!!)
See my HT at www.citycinema.s5.com,featuring the Sony VPL-VW10HT LCD Projector!

Steve
post #3 of 7 Old 12-23-2000, 06:38 AM - Thread Starter

Thanks for the reply Steve.