X-10 and RS232 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 12-26-2000, 01:09 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GregH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've got the X-10 Firecracker PC module (plugs into the serial port) and I'm wondering if it just takes normal RS-232 (aka ASCII) commands. I've started looking at some of the X-10 protocol and while it's a little dense it seems like it should work. What I'm going to try and do is plug the PC module into the RS-232 output on my Axcent 2 and just send it the raw ASCII.
GregH is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 01-29-2001, 05:34 PM
Advanced Member
 
SteveGrimm's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 1999
Location: Sunnyvale, CA, USA
Posts: 717
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I believe that won't work. I think you have to talk to the Firecracker by toggling some of the secondary RS232 lines like DTR and RTS in particular sequences. It tries to be a transparent passthrough module so you can still use a modem on the serial port it's plugged into, so it can't really intercept any of the actual data going over the port.

This is based on a brief look at a Linux X-10 utility on a friend's machine a year and a half ago, so don't take it as gospel.
SteveGrimm is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 01-31-2001, 06:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Huckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is a free ActiveX component for controling this device available at http://www.keware.com/download.htm

It is in Visual Basic (BLECH!) but you could determine the protocol used since the source is included. In a cursory look, Steve appears to be right. Some control lines are used, not straight ASCII.

Good luck!

------------------

Huck

Huck
Huckster is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 01-31-2001, 07:54 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
GregH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I still haven't had a chance to give this a try, but due to renewed interest I'll see what I can do. I spend most of my time working with Lutron systems so I lose a little interest with X10 by the end of the day.
GregH is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 02-01-2001, 03:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
Huckster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Posts: 872
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Sorry if this is a stupid question but ...

What is a "Axcent 2"?

------------------

Huck

Huck
Huckster is offline  
Closed Thread Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off