Newbie room-to-room questions - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 11 Old 05-08-2001, 04:47 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm new to room-to-room A/V discussions and have read some of the last month's posts about hardware and recommendations. What I'm hoping to find is a place with general information about the whole idea and what issues I need to be aware of since I've not done much research so far.

I live in a two story Townhouse (which my husband and I own) and any new wiring has to been done in a visible fashion because of the construction (concrete floors and no attic) but adding/changing wiring is an option to help with this. We're wanting to find a way to better utilize the A/V equipment we have. Downstairs is a Sony A/V Receiver, Sony DirectTV/Tivo, Denon CD changer, RCA VCR, Phillips LD/DVD player and 27" Sony TV. Upstairs in one room is another Sony A/V Receiver (older than the one downstairs), a Sony CD player, tape deck, turntable and 17" TV. Another room upstairs has a 13" TV, Sony Tivo (standalone), Sony VCR, Sony DSS Receiver & a remote controller switcher. Needless to say, this has gotten out of hand and we need to find a way to collapse some of it if we can. There is no room-to-room hardware in the picture now so we'd be starting from scratch in that regard. So I'm interested in both good general information on how to do room-to-room configurations as well as any suggestions those of you with experience might have.

Thanks,

Cathe

Friends help you move...real friends help you move the bodies!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 11 Old 05-08-2001, 05:26 PM
AVS Special Member

Sometimes stand alone systems are best. What exactly do you wish to end up with. One TIVO shared? One CD player shared. One closet with all the equipment?

Is there zero attic access or just over certain areas?

Dave

------------------
Watch HDTV!!! Nothing else comes close!