Any experience with BSS Soundweb? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 5 Old 06-06-2001, 07:59 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ccooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hillsborough, CA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
In looking at whole-house audio distribution I have come across the products called BSS Soundweb . Their products (9088ii, 9008, 9000ii) are targeted at commercial installations, but look like they will work well for my 4-source, 12-zone home. They provide incredible flexibility because of the built-in DSP, and can integrate with my AMX control system.

Does anybody have experience with these products that you can share? I know a few things by now, so I may be able to answer a few questions from those who wish to know more.
ccooper is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 5 Old 06-07-2001, 05:37 AM
Member
 
GregH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've never heard of that particular piece, but there are several switchers out there that work well with AMX. There's a Landmark switcher that I believe has built in amplification (a 16SX?) for 16 zones, which is fairly priced. Autopatch makes a wide variety of modular type switchers that have very easy to learn RS-232 commands (there's even system calls for them in AMX). You'd need some external amps for this. ADA has a variety of RS-232 controlled switchers/amps like the Delta-88 (8 sources up to 255 zones).
GregH is offline  
post #3 of 5 Old 06-07-2001, 08:20 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ccooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hillsborough, CA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks, GregH. I know there are a number of other solutions out there. But the BSS product is attractive to me because of its power. For example, I can assign a parametric equalizer to each channel so that every room is optimized. The system is pretty expensive, though.
ccooper is offline  
post #4 of 5 Old 06-08-2001, 10:17 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
ccooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Hillsborough, CA
Posts: 97
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes, you can control everything via RS-232. But controlling EQ, with 24 channels of output and perhaps 4 bands per channel is probably more than I want to do very often. So my intention is to use the PC interface to set up EQ for all the channels and then leave them that way. If I have the need, I can set up EQ for different scenarios (rock, classical, etc.) and switch between them easily.
ccooper is offline  
post #5 of 5 Old 06-08-2001, 09:57 PM
Member
 
GregH's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2000
Posts: 155
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Are you able to control the eq via RS-232? The Delta has bass and treble control which are though that may not be enough.
GregH is offline  
Closed Thread Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off