S-Video Switching - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 7 Old 06-07-2001, 08:38 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
doubledeckpinochele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am looking for a good s-video switchbox. I recently acquired a small projector for my home theater system and need a way to switch between the TV and the projector. I would prefer something with 4 inputs and 2 outputs with some type of remote control. At this time I am using a mechanical 4x1 switchbox in reverse (pumping the svideo into the output...) and have been unable to find something with multiple outputs. Any help would be greatly appreciated.
doubledeckpinochele is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 7 Old 06-07-2001, 08:59 AM
Member
 
HTbuff's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Charlotte, NC USA
Posts: 56
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The SIMA SVS4 might be what your looking for.
They go for about $130 new, and $50 on ebay.

4 inputs , 2 outputs.
Each input has audio L&R, video and S-video
Each output has the same.
It has a IR remote, which can be learned by the Pronto, et al.
Unlike most a/v receivers, this unit WILL convert a video input to the S-video output, and vice-versa. I don't know how good a job it does at this, but the capability seems to make it worthwhile.

I'm considering one to deal with my standard VHS and BUD, to switch the video with a DishNetwork S-video, and then send it to both TV (s-video) and Projector (s-video) at the same time.
The optical audio from my DishNetwork goes directly to the a/v receiver though.

HTbuff is offline  
post #3 of 7 Old 06-07-2001, 10:20 AM
Senior Member
 
BGane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 209
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
RE: Sima SVS-4

I bought it. It does a nice job. You can buy higher-end signal splitters from companies such as Communications Specialties ( see http://www.globe-mart.com/computer/v...VIDEOSPLIT.htm ). But the starting point for their products is around $280, if I recall correctly. The Sima did what I needed it to do, for less than half the price.

[This message has been edited by BGane (edited 06-07-2001).]
BGane is offline  
post #4 of 7 Old 06-08-2001, 11:45 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Bill Broderick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Huntington Station, NY, USA
Posts: 1,490
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
As long as you want both of the outputs to work with the same input signal, the Sima is the way to go. If you want to send different signals to each output (say DVD to output 1 and Satellite to output 2) then the Sima won't work for you.

Unfortunately, I don't know what would work for you in this instance (other than the switching in some receivers).

[This message has been edited by Bill Broderick (edited 06-08-2001).]
Bill Broderick is offline  
post #5 of 7 Old 06-09-2001, 08:31 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Dennis Erskine's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 1999
Location: Near an airport
Posts: 9,141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 11 Post(s)
Liked: 46
Quote:
As long as you want both of the outputs to work with the same input signal, the Sima is the way to go. If you want to send different signals to each output (say DVD to output 1 and Satellite to output 2) then the Sima won't work for you.
This would be technically a "matrix" switch. These are not inexpensive. The best ever built (for consumer use) was the Sony SVB-3000. If you can find one, get it. 6 in, 6 out plus monitor out...also did composite to S signal conversion.

------------------
D. Erskine
DEsign Cinema Privee
www.DEsignCinema.com
Imagine what you could do, if you could do all you imagine.

Dennis Erskine CFI, CFII, MEI
Architectural Acoustics
Subject Matter Expert
Certified Home Theater Designer
CEDIA Board of Directors

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dennis Erskine is offline  
post #6 of 7 Old 06-09-2001, 03:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Scooper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Youngsville, NC USA
Posts: 5,062
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Take a look at this from smarthome.com --
http://www.smarthome.com/8288s.html

You CAN put antennas on your owned and/or controlled property...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


Being A Beacon of Knowledge in the darkness of FUD
Scooper is online now  
post #7 of 7 Old 06-11-2001, 06:31 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
doubledeckpinochele's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Houston, TX
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks to everyone. The Sima was exactly what I was looking for. My setup does not require multiple outputs at the same time, so the Sima will do very nicely. I already have it on order and am looking forward to putting it into my system.
doubledeckpinochele is offline  
Closed Thread Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off