Multi room speaker amplification - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 06-09-2001, 11:09 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Greetings everyone. I am new to this arena, so please forgive me if the if the answer to the question seems obvious.

My parents have built a new house and have installed 10 wall speakers through the first floor of the house. What type of amplifier can they use to power this? I am not asking for brands, though I am glad to hear about that too. Rather, I am referring to whether I could use a quality 5 channel amp to power 10 speakers or is the impedance too great for such an amp. Do they HAVE to buy a 10+ channel amp? I am hoping to hear that all they need to do is purchase an additional component to separate the power.

Currently, the power source will not need to power any additional home theater speakers. The speakers are all arranged in pairs, they are 6 1/2 or 5 1/4 inch two ways, all rated at 80 watts, 8 ohms. The wiring and installation was professional, but they did not sell components.

If there is any additional info you think might help, please pass it on. My knowledge on the subject of stereos is decent, but not advanced. Thanks!
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 7 Old 06-10-2001, 11:03 AM

you can use any amp that has a 2 channel output at a minimum. a 5 channel amp will work but you wont use all five. also, with that many spkrs you will want to make sure it outputs at least 100 watts per channel. in addition to that you will need what is called a speaker selector. its basically a box that accepts the output from your amp then splits it 2,3,4,6,8,10 or more ways(depending on which unit you get) to your speakers while maintaining an 8 ohm impedence to your amp. there are many manufacturers that make these:niles and russound to name 2 so it shouldn't be hard to find one.
post #3 of 7 Old 06-11-2001, 03:46 AM
AVS Special Member