TIVO & DVD Distribution - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 3 Old 06-28-2001, 08:47 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
BigBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
From doing some reading on this board, I'm looking into getting a either a Channel Plus 3025 or a Sony MRD-D1 if I can find one at a cheap price.
My question is this: In my bedroom, I already have a cable line and a second DSS receiver with a line coming in from my dual dish. The cable is plugged into the DSS receiver. An RG-6 is coming out of the receiver into a vcr. Another RG-6 comes out of the vcr into the tv. The vcr has composite in and out not being used. The tv has one composite audio and a video in. What would be the best way to hook this up when I get my Channel Plus? This is probably an easy question, but I am just not seeing the answer.
The TIVO and DVD are in my den downstairs with my home theater setup. I'm assuming I will have to run another RG-6 up to the bedroom from the Channel Plus but that shouldn't be a problem.
Thanks for any help.

[This message has been edited by BigBird (edited 06-28-2001).]

BigBird
BigBird is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 3 Old 06-29-2001, 04:24 AM
jkv
Advanced Member
 
jkv's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Duluth, GA. US
Posts: 649
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would take the output of the vcr/tivo/dss and modulate each one on a separate channel. Take the output of the modulator and feed that into a distribution amp. Feed the output of the distribution amp to the TV and vcr (so you can record from the dss/tivo unit).

To do this, you will need two (2) runs of rg6 to each location. This is what I did when I built my home. My 4 vcrs, tivo, in-attic attn and dss are all on their own tv channels.

You can even send the IR signals over the coax if you need to have remote control over your components.

Riverside Cinemas
jkv is offline  
post #3 of 3 Old 06-29-2001, 06:10 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
BigBird's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: New York
Posts: 3
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
jkv, thanks for the reply. That might be a little bit more than I want to take on right now. I have the ability to record in my den downstairs off the tivo. I just wanted to get the dvd and tivo signal upstairs and also to my kitchen. That is why I was thinking of the channel plus 3025. I'm confused of the best way to hook it up in the bedroom though. Maybe if I use the output of the 3025 into the RF input on the vcr. Then I could switch the output of the DSS to composite into the vcr. Maybe that would work?
As for control, I was thinking of using Powermid's.

BigBird
BigBird is offline  
Closed Thread Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off