ANNOUNCEMENT: The Charmed Quark Controller - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 10 Old 06-20-2001, 11:01 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Addicted Member

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Hello gang. I would like to make a small announcement here, which hopefully doesn’t violate any forum rules or anything. As some of you may know, I’m a software engineer (you could probably tell by the pocket protector), and I’ve got a project coming to fruition that I’d like to get some feedback on.

Give me just a moment for some history, which I’ll keep brief, then I’ll get into the meat of the matter… All of my career I’ve been very much into the development of general purpose, object oriented, software tools. For the last ten years, I’ve worked on a project called The CIDLib C++ Frameworks. This is something that I’ve basically done for my own self-edification, which is a good thing considering that most folks would find this kind of software about as exciting as dirt. CIDLib was for many years a shareware project and for a couple an open source project.

However, as of about a year ago, it became obvious to me that it had become way, way to powerful for me to continue to kill myself for nothing. So I decided to make it a proprietary product and began looking around for a project to use it in, hopefully something that would be of interest and use to actual real people. So, I decided to mix my hobby and my other hobby and create a product that I felt like I would like to have, and which therefore others might like to have as well.