DVI to DVI connection - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 07-19-2001, 03:51 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Angeli662's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2001
Location: New York - NY
Posts: 843
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I recently purchase a HTPC ( AVS pentinum IV ELITE) with ATI all in wonder video card with has DVI out put and my PJ is the Mitsubishi X400 with DVI in put. My question is I only could find a 5 meter DVI-D male to DVI-D male witch is approximately 16.7 feet, but in realety I need at least 25 ft of cable. I could find a place that would costom make one for me at a cost of $500.00, the price is a little high, but my main concern is if I use a cable that long would it cause signal degradation or it doesn't matters. Any help would be mostly welcome. Rick
Angeli662 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 07-24-2001, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Dizzman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Bay Area
Posts: 5,251
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
It won't work.

The DVI connection standard allows for (in most cases) a maximum transmission distance of 5 metres. that is why you can't get a cable that is longer. There is a possible off the shelf solution from Inline http://www.inlineinc.com/products/coax/pdf/IN9700.pdf if you call them, they can tell you the cost and put you in touch with a dealer in your area.

Proud Daddy to Anastasia and Christopher.
Born October 26 2005.

Ob was the delivery doc.

Since i cannot rant on a soapbox in the town square...
http://commonsensehasdied.blogspot.com/
Dizzman is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off