How long can RCA cables be? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 10 Old 08-10-2001, 01:43 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tmtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi,

I'd like to keep my PVR in the basement and just run 2 RCA cable runs to my TV. Is 30 Feet too long for this type of cable and if not is there a particular brand that can be recommnded to provide the best signal?

Thanks,
Tom
tmtech is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 10 Old 08-10-2001, 05:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
truaudiophile's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2001
Location: MI
Posts: 702
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There is no way of telling how "noisy" your area or the pathway is on the forum. This is worth making the cables for and trying out to see how well it will work. Use RG-59 for the video line and Twisted pair type for the RCA audio connections.

I need a girl whos name does not end in .jpg
truaudiophile is offline  
post #3 of 10 Old 08-13-2001, 07:00 AM
Senior Member
 
darth maul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 212
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
150feet wouldn't be to long...30foot runs are still short. Get some RG-6 cable with f-connectors on them, and get f to RCA adaptors, its cheap, and it works without flaws.
darth maul is offline  
post #4 of 10 Old 08-14-2001, 01:20 PM
Member
 
fdelacou's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Blaine, MN , Anoka
Posts: 141
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
As a general rule, each time the distance becomes critical, turning to RG6 (Quad shield) is highly recommended. Almost everything could go through.

Frederik Delacourt
--------------------
My home theater: http://membres.lycos.fr/fdelacou/hometheater/main_en.html
fdelacou is offline  
post #5 of 10 Old 08-16-2001, 12:35 PM
Senior Member
 
apnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My general rule is if I'm going to bother to run anything, it might as well be RG6. Even if the run isn't that long. It isn't too much more and you never know what you might use it for down the road.
apnar is offline  
post #6 of 10 Old 08-16-2001, 02:02 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
tmtech's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2000
Location: NJ
Posts: 166
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Thanks for all of the advice... I hadn't thought about using rg6 with adapters... Guess i was just locked into thinking about "normal" rca cables!
tmtech is offline  
post #7 of 10 Old 08-17-2001, 02:35 PM
rsd
Member
 
rsd's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 23
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Is there any signal quality difference (audio or video) between running R6 with an RCA adaptor at the end or just using RCA cables (yellow, red & white)?
rsd is offline  
post #8 of 10 Old 08-19-2001, 10:53 PM
Member
 
Big_John's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: San Jose, Ca
Posts: 96
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Similar note, I just ran several 40ish ft runs of RG6 to be used as audio interconnects, 2nd zone. What is the preferable way to terminate? I can either solder RCA's or use F connectors with a converter. This is a second zone but it will be feeding the the audio system used in the family room, so I do want something decent.
Also I was planning to do similar with my sub feed (make my own connection) I was considering terminating at the wall near the sub with a wall plate or having the wire come out to the sub. How much difference will there be?
John
San Jose, Ca
Big_John is offline  
post #9 of 10 Old 08-21-2001, 11:32 AM
Senior Member
 
apnar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2000
Location: Maryland
Posts: 409
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
If you really want the best, you have to make sure you get 75 Ohm RCA connectors and solder them on yourself. If you want pretty good go with crimp on F-connectors and RCA adaptors (again make sure you have 75 Ohm).

Actually now that I think about it, I've always made sure I used 75 Ohm because that is what was required for my video runs. I'm not sure what is ideal of audio, any ideas?

-apnar
apnar is offline  
post #10 of 10 Old 08-22-2001, 11:13 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Spiky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2001
Location: Mpls, MN
Posts: 1,869
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 22
Audio does not need to be 75ohm, but you might as well buy the same thing, then they could be used for anything.

Where can I buy 75ohm RCA and BNC crimp-on connectors for RG-6Q? I have Belden cable, I hear Canare stuff doesn't work with other cable. Canare connectors are the only kind I can seem to find on the net.
Spiky is offline  
Closed Thread Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off