Buying a house with A/V Distribution.... - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 22 Old 07-25-2001, 03:35 PM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hello,
I am currently in the process of buying a house. One of the options I can choose to add while the house is being built is a complete home wiring system for audio, video, networking, etc. This will probably be a system from OnQ or any of the other similar home systems out there.

Does anyone have experience with these? Do you have any tips? Any issues I should be thinking about? What is the average cost for such a system? Is it really worth it? I am just really getting into home theatre/audio in terms of setting things up myself. Since I am no expert on components, speakers, and such I thought that this type of system would be perfect and I would just buy one of those mini-theatre systems. Then all I need to worry about is choosing the right TV, DirecTV, and Tivo systems.

The system will supposedly also have an in-wall surround sound system for the family room. Any comments, feedback, or links would be appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

------------------
August Harrison

[This message has been edited by AugustH (edited 07-25-2001).]

August Harrison
Sponsored Links
Advertisement

post #2 of 22 Old 07-27-2001, 12:55 PM
Advanced Member

The 'standard' for home automation these days would be as follows:

- 1 wall plate in each room with dual RG-6 and dual Cat-5 connectors. This gives you the capability for a computer network connection, 1 or more phone lines, and cable in and out (so that you can put a video source in any room and play it back through the entire house). All these wires should be 'home run' cables direct to the automation closet (home run means you don't daisy chain wiring between rooms like some telephones and cable connections are wired - each wire goes directly to the automation closet, which is the room where all the electronics will be housed).