Structured cable w/ Cat 6/RG6 bundle - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 05-30-2005, 10:11 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ScottS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: On the East Coast
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Does anyone know of a munufacturer that offers a structured cable with 2 cat 6 and 2 RG6 cables in a bundle?

Given the minimal cost upgrade from cat 5e to cat 6 cable, it seems like cheap insurance.

Thanks,
Scott
ScottS is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 05-30-2005, 07:32 PM
Member
 
R.Beckman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Posts: 107
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Don't think the market demand is there yet.
R.Beckman is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 05-30-2005, 08:07 PM
Member
 
ekun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Smarthome sells a version of Speedwrap that has 2xCat6, 2xRG6QS & 2xFiber. See here: http://www.smarthome.com/8683.html. I myself went with the 2xCat5e version of this, for the following 3 reasons:
- Cat6 is very stiff and I didn't have a lot of room in my walls to play with
- Cat5E supports Gigabit Ethernet which will do me for the near future
- By the time I outgrow Gigabit Ethernet, as I already have FTTH from my ISP, I figure the price on Fiber Optic Hubs will have come down enough that I can jump right from Cat5e to Fiber.

Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition!
ekun is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 05-31-2005, 08:56 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
ScottS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: On the East Coast
Posts: 513
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Thanks for the info guys.

Yes, cat6 is stiff, but so is RG6 quad shield. I guess a 4 wire bundle with both would be stiff as a baseball bat :rolleyes: and really tough to work with.

I liked the option of cat 6 though since the keystone wall jacks are pretty cheap now. Then all I'd have to upgrade in the future would be my router...

Thanks,
Scott
ScottS is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 05-31-2005, 04:50 PM
Advanced Member
 
emcgrath's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: South O' Boston
Posts: 774
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Count me in the "not a fan of bundles" bunch.
IMHO, these bundles are hard to run, expensive, and most importantly encourage people to terminate everything together when the phone should be beside the bed, the computer behind the desk, and the tv opposite the bed. This doesn't match bundles very well.
emcgrath is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 06-01-2005, 05:28 AM
Member
 
ekun's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Location: Japan
Posts: 53
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I ran separate Cat5e cables to all bed locations for multi-line phones, and ran enough bundled cable to split one Cat5e and Fiber out to the desk locations for Internet. Not perfect, but having it all in one cable saved me immense time, money and effort while pulling the cables. emcgrath, I understand what you're saying about not perfect placements, but I'll take a slight location compromise to achieve easier wire pulling. Building a house is stressful enough. If I'd had to pull every single wire, I think it would have killed me. Just different priorities I guess. Having bundles also made cable organization and labelling at the head end easier.

Nobody expects the Spanish Inquisition!
ekun is offline  
Closed Thread Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off