What does YOUR wiring cabinet look like? - Page 4 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #91 of 125 Old 08-13-2006, 11:29 PM
Member
 
Sendero's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2001
Location: Seattle Area
Posts: 183
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiophiliac View Post

In the panel on the left is, as stated, phone punchdown blocks and DSL filter, as well as 2 data punch down blocks, 16 port switch, and a router. There is also a DSL modem in there now.

The panel on the right is the satellite multiswitch and RF distribution amps for modulated cameras in this case. No local antenna or CATV available at the location.


Where did you get the data punch down blocks? Any model numbers on them?
Sendero is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #92 of 125 Old 08-14-2006, 04:06 AM
Senior Member
 
Audiophiliac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Open House H628.
Audiophiliac is offline  
post #93 of 125 Old 08-14-2006, 04:18 PM
Member
 
mbrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ft. Worth area
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wilson15636,

Very clean install!

Thanks for posting.

Mike

An avid DIY'r and a proponent of Firewire
mbrew is offline  
post #94 of 125 Old 08-14-2006, 04:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
taxman48's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 2,512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 70
Bigpapa: what equipment do you have in your racks? looks like 6 of the same piece. very nice job..

taxman48 is offline  
post #95 of 125 Old 08-14-2006, 09:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
bigpapa's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Kailua Kona, HI
Posts: 915
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by taxman48 View Post

Bigpapa: what equipment do you have in your racks? looks like 6 of the same piece. very nice job..

Thanks! While it's not technically mine, the rich guy whose house I installed it in is merely using it while he lives there. I'll probably post pics once I'm actually, finally, done and complete. Then I can move the other rack you can't see and take a better pic.

6 x HR10 250's, 2 CATV HD/PVR's, 1 CATV (audio), 2 DirecTV (audio), 2 Kaleidescape. Every HD source scan converted to RGBHV and distibuted to displays.
bigpapa is offline  
post #96 of 125 Old 08-15-2006, 07:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
GreySkies's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2003
Location: Formerly Chicagoland, now Doylestown, PA
Posts: 2,480
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 33 Post(s)
Liked: 25
Here's my basic box-- telephone, video and ethernet. I could make it look better, but it's usually covered.
GreySkies is online now  
post #97 of 125 Old 08-29-2006, 01:31 PM
Senior Member
 
Outie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Mine is coming soon! As I close on the new house on the 11th of September. The only thing I am considering is if I should use a standard rack (2 post) or a full (4post) rack... It is only going to have about 50 RG6 runs and 50 Cat5e runs (2000sqf house)

Thanks
Outie is offline  
post #98 of 125 Old 08-29-2006, 04:46 PM
Member
 
mbrew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Ft. Worth area
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Outie View Post

Mine is coming soon! As I close on the new house on the 11th of September. The only thing I am considering is if I should use a standard rack (2 post) or a full (4post) rack... It is only going to have about 50 RG6 runs and 50 Cat5e runs (2000sqf house)

Thanks

I've never used a two post, but IVB has said that he wasn't thrilled with the stability of his IIRC. Look forward to seeing the pics.

Mike

An avid DIY'r and a proponent of Firewire
mbrew is offline  
post #99 of 125 Old 08-29-2006, 04:58 PM
IVB
AVS Special Member
 
IVB's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2003
Location: Left Coast
Posts: 5,325
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Yes, definitely get the 4-post.

I'm not happy that I got a 2post in the interest of saving $100-$200. It's unstable unless I bolt into the floor which I don't want to do. Also, some equipment is designed for 4-post racks, and I can't get that.

------------------------------------
I'm onĀ Google Plus a lot moreĀ than online forums now, contact me there if you want something.

IVB is offline  
post #100 of 125 Old 08-29-2006, 05:18 PM
Senior Member
 
Outie's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 330
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
IVB Strikes again!

Thanks IVB and mbrew! I was on edge about which to get but yall convinced me! Thanks
Outie is offline  
post #101 of 125 Old 08-30-2006, 07:04 PM
Advanced Member
 
indil377's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by bigpapa View Post





Your typical monster home job. I have another rack, but that's even harder to get a good picture of.

Bigpapa,

do you put service loops in your racks or dress to fit?

Matt D. Sherer CET, CTS-I,ISF-C
indil377 is offline  
post #102 of 125 Old 08-30-2006, 10:01 PM
Senior Member
 
Audiophiliac's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 379
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by indil377 View Post

Bigpapa,

do you put service loops in your racks or dress to fit?

I wont answer for him, but racks like that are designed to be "dressed to fit". They allow you to make a super clean install, and all the stuff is easily accessible for service/upgrades/replacement down the road. I usually try to leave enough extra length, that if a DVD player gets switched and the new one has connections on the opposite end of the player, its not a big headache, but other than that, custom lengths and lots of zip ties.
Audiophiliac is offline  
post #103 of 125 Old 08-31-2006, 04:29 AM
Advanced Member
 
indil377's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Illinois
Posts: 593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Audiophiliac View Post

I wont answer for him, but racks like that are designed to be "dressed to fit". They allow you to make a super clean install, and all the stuff is easily accessible for service/upgrades/replacement down the road. I usually try to leave enough extra length, that if a DVD player gets switched and the new one has connections on the opposite end of the player, its not a big headache, but other than that, custom lengths and lots of zip ties.


That would be nice if we didn't have to leave a service loop. Sometimes it can be a real pain in the wazoo.

Matt D. Sherer CET, CTS-I,ISF-C
indil377 is offline  
post #104 of 125 Old 03-13-2007, 05:46 PM
Member
 
tomscave's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Sunshine State
Posts: 168
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'm posting here in hopes that people will post more new/updated pictures of their structured cabinets "A picture is worth a thousand words". The more ideas I can acquire for my project will help greatly. Here's a link to my cabinet so far.......
http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=801028

"I'm suffering from the dreaded upgrade bug"
tomscave is offline  
post #105 of 125 Old 03-14-2007, 05:50 PM
Member
 
the_cable_guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
well I guess I can show 1 of the more recent one's we've installed for someone. It ain't nothing fancey like some of these racks in here with all that fancey AV equipment but it's a nice little setup. check it out.



The home was existing structure with plaster walls. we were very limited on space for the cabinet so we had to get everything into 1 and that particular wall was an exterior so we couldn't install it recessed in any way. That should answer those questions before they're even asked. any other comments welcomed though
the_cable_guy is offline  
post #106 of 125 Old 03-14-2007, 06:17 PM
Member
 
Overlord66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
How do you like the On-Q panels and modules?
Overlord66 is offline  
post #107 of 125 Old 03-14-2007, 08:26 PM
Member
 
the_cable_guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
not to bad. had a couple defective modules but nothing a replacement didn't take care of.
the_cable_guy is offline  
post #108 of 125 Old 03-14-2007, 09:32 PM
Member
 
Overlord66's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Billings, MT
Posts: 65
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_cable_guy View Post

not to bad. had a couple defective modules but nothing a replacement didn't take care of.

Right now I'm trying to decide who to use for our installs. My local distributor is now handling Onq and their pricing looks good. But I also like the looks of the open house stuff. Out of all of the manufacturers who do you prefer?
Overlord66 is offline  
post #109 of 125 Old 03-15-2007, 03:40 PM
Member
 
the_cable_guy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Virginia
Posts: 180
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Honestly I haven't used much other than On-Q. I have used a bit of Leviton here and a bit of hubbell there but mostly I use ON-Q for that fact that they suite most of the cabling requirments with their product line and are fairly easy to install. If they had any weakness I would say they could put a bit more effort into their intercom and audio solutions and also offer something for a cat 6 install. other than that I like them
the_cable_guy is offline  
post #110 of 125 Old 03-15-2007, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
GPowers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Location: SoCal
Posts: 2,150
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 29
This is my rack in the Home Theater.



The home theater is in a structure back by the pool. So I recently started to plan out and purchase hardware to build a Video distribution closet in the house. I will be using a 8 x 4 Borrego matrix switch by Neothings. This will push the different HD signals out over component cables to the displays. Planed sources are xBox360, Digital cable PVR, and HDDVD just to start.
GPowers is offline  
post #111 of 125 Old 03-15-2007, 05:41 PM
Newbie
 
honestlink99's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Posts: 14
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so good ,

StarLink lighting Co.ltd
Deal in led rope light .led string light ,led cherry tree light,led bulb.so on christmas light
Add:ZhongShan City,GuangDong,China

http://www.starlinklighting.com/
honestlink99 is offline  
post #112 of 125 Old 05-08-2007, 09:54 AM
Senior Member
 
styxx_78's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 361
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am in the process of planning my rack as we speak.

I have aquired a used 6' Hammond rack with 6 custom made shelves on ballbearing rails. The rack itself was in good shape (not bent) but is was very dirty and had a lot of scratches on the sides and front. I sanded the roughness off and spraypainted it black with a matt finish.
I added 2" casters to the bottom and removed its stationary feet so I can move it around if need be. I plan on bolting it to the floor for safety once it is setup and complete.
I did not get any before pics but I will take some of the rack prior to installing all of my equipment.
This whole project should be complete in 1-2 weeks, depending on when I can get a hand moving the rack from my garage into my basement.

Check back soon!
styxx_78 is offline  
post #113 of 125 Old 01-15-2008, 03:00 PM
Member
 
#1trunkslammer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 38
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Here's a rack I did a few years ago.
LL
LL
LL
#1trunkslammer is offline  
post #114 of 125 Old 01-16-2008, 07:23 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MurrayW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by #1trunkslammer View Post

Here's a rack I did a few years ago.

If I could do something like that or some of the other examples that have been posted, I think I would spend more time staring at and admiring the wire organization in the rack than I would watching the video from the equipment in the rack!

Great job!

Murray
MurrayW is offline  
post #115 of 125 Old 01-16-2008, 10:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
stickyfingers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Merced, CA
Posts: 1,008
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I this thread.

the sticky is about my crappy blues pickin'...
stickyfingers is offline  
post #116 of 125 Old 09-05-2008, 09:26 PM
Member
 
Magnus_Dx's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This thread needs more pics. ttt

Receiver: Onkyo 857
Display: Panasonic 58" Plasma
Player: PS3
Fronts: AV123 Rocket RS1000 Signatures
Center: AV123 Rocket RSC200 Signatures
Rear: AV123 Rocket RS250MkII
Subs: 2x SVS PC13-Ultra
Magnus_Dx is offline  
post #117 of 125 Old 09-05-2008, 09:52 PM
Member
 
DaIceMan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Southwest Missouri
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
wow... 2 years ago, I replied to this thread, and I STILL haven't gotten around to getting my cabinet done. New baby since then, so other priorities evolved. Hoping *fingers crossed* to get everything worked out this winter.
DaIceMan is offline  
post #118 of 125 Old 09-06-2008, 11:12 AM
Newbie
 
tdominey's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Nice.
tdominey is offline  
post #119 of 125 Old 12-01-2008, 03:25 PM
Member
 
skavaner's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 20
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by the_cable_guy View Post

well I guess I can show 1 of the more recent one's we've installed for someone. It ain't nothing fancey like some of these racks in here with all that fancey AV equipment but it's a nice little setup. check it out.



The home was existing structure with plaster walls. we were very limited on space for the cabinet so we had to get everything into 1 and that particular wall was an exterior so we couldn't install it recessed in any way. That should answer those questions before they're even asked. any other comments welcomed though

Looks real nice. Without me trying to point at my monitor and count, do you recall how many drops you had for each kind of cable (cat5/6, coax, etc)? Just want to compare and see how well everything fit in that cabinet.
skavaner is offline  
post #120 of 125 Old 09-01-2009, 07:20 AM
Member
 
Technique's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 190
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Here's my nearly complete home structured wiring setup:

FIOS
24-port RG6
24-port Cat6 Patch
24-port Netgear gigabit switch
Dedicated 20A circuit


HTPC: Gigabyte GA-E7AUM-DS2H | A-DATA 4GB DDR2 | Intel Pentium E5200 2.5GHz | WD6400AAKS 640GB HD | Antec Black Fusion Remote 350 | Logitech Harmony 620 & PS3 MediaBoard Pro Wireless Keyboard | Win7
Technique is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off