AVAtrix and Home Automation - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 12-26-2006, 06:47 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
videocam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Does ayone know if a MainLobby,Elk M1, HomeSeer combo will be able to control an Audio Authority AVAtrix? I'm planning on touchscreens using the MainLobby interface.
Thanks,
Cam

-Cam
Television Photojournalist, Video Producer, Voice Over Artist
Cam Communications Cinema Palace Construction Thread
Cam's Whole House AV and Automation Thread

LOGANED! 4-30-08
videocam is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 12-26-2006, 07:59 PM
Senior Member
 
LathanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Romeoville, IL
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
There isn't a specific plugin for it but it can be controlled via serial or IR so it depends on how the rest of your system is configured. AA makes the serial information available so going that route should be easy.
LathanM is offline  
Old 12-26-2006, 11:22 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
videocam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Thanks for the reply. I'm glad AA is making the serial info public.

-Cam
Television Photojournalist, Video Producer, Voice Over Artist
Cam Communications Cinema Palace Construction Thread
Cam's Whole House AV and Automation Thread

LOGANED! 4-30-08
videocam is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 10:57 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcascio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kenosha, WI USA
Posts: 3,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 69
videocam,

If you can track down the serial information and send it to us, we can look at the difficulty involved in developing a driver for it.
mcascio is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 08:41 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MurrayW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcascio
videocam,

If you can track down the serial information and send it to us, we can look at the difficulty involved in developing a driver for it.
Here it is Mario

thanks,
MurrayW

 

AVAtrix RS232 Pg2.pdf 22.1787109375k . file

 

AVAtrix RS232 Pg1.pdf 26.5732421875k . file
MurrayW is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 08:54 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mcascio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kenosha, WI USA
Posts: 3,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Do we have more than just videocam interested in a driver?
mcascio is offline  
Old 12-27-2006, 09:02 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MurrayW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcascio View Post

Do we have more than just videocam interested in a driver?

Me too. I was just going to go the generic serial route, but if there is a specific driver, I am sure you would get some more of my $.

thanks,
Murray
MurrayW is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 08:33 AM
Senior Member
 
Audio Authority's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by MurrayW View Post

Here it is Mario

thanks,
MurrayW

You beat me to it!

Trent

Trent Davis
Audio Authority Corp.
Expert Audio/Video Solutions Since 1976

**Proud AVS Forum Alliance Members**
Audio Authority is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 08:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcascio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kenosha, WI USA
Posts: 3,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Thanks Guys.

Murray,
Do you or anyone else have one of these units in hand for testing once we start digging in?

Trent,
Looks like we'll be supporting your products in the future. Is there a technical contact we should direct any questions to? Looks like a quality product.
mcascio is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 09:47 AM
Senior Member
 
Audio Authority's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcascio View Post

Thanks Guys.

Murray,
Do you or anyone else have one of these units in hand for testing once we start digging in?

Trent,
Looks like we'll be supporting your products in the future. Is there a technical contact we should direct any questions to? Looks like a quality product.

Hello Mario,

Jason, our Applications Specialist, would be the best person for you to talk to. He's in our Tech Services department.

He can be reached at 800/322-8346.

Trent

Trent Davis
Audio Authority Corp.
Expert Audio/Video Solutions Since 1976

**Proud AVS Forum Alliance Members**
Audio Authority is offline  
Old 12-28-2006, 10:10 AM
Advanced Member
 
RxMan1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 704
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Oh man, I didn't need to see this. I used to have a Viewsonic Airpanel touchscreen that I used with a product called Meedio and tried out Netlobby and messed around with Mainlobby a little bit. The airpanel was a pain, so I ended up giving up on it. Actually, girder made me want to stop. I promised the wife I would install something that "simply works" in the new house and not be messing with it all of the time. I have to have a hobby though!

What do you guys have in mind as far as hardware goes and what are you trying to acheive with Mainlobby and AVAtrix?
RxMan1 is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 10:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MurrayW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcascio View Post

Thanks Guys.

Murray,
Do you or anyone else have one of these units in hand for testing once we start digging in?

Trent,
Looks like we'll be supporting your products in the future. Is there a technical contact we should direct any questions to? Looks like a quality product.

Mario, Yes I just got one and will be trying to get it all set-up over this long weekend. It's a sad state of affairs when you get so old and are geeky enough to look forward to playing with electronics on New Year's eve rather than going out and celebrating it like I used too! I'd be happy to help with the testing when you are ready.

Murray
MurrayW is offline  
Old 12-29-2006, 10:39 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MurrayW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by RxMan1 View Post

Oh man, I didn't need to see this. I used to have a Viewsonic Airpanel touchscreen that I used with a product called Meedio and tried out Netlobby and messed around with Mainlobby a little bit. The airpanel was a pain, so I ended up giving up on it. Actually, girder made me want to stop. I promised the wife I would install something that "simply works" in the new house and not be messing with it all of the time. I have to have a hobby though!

What do you guys have in mind as far as hardware goes and what are you trying to acheive with Mainlobby and AVAtrix?

RxMan, what I have in mind is being able to control the AVAtrix using RS-232 from touchscreens (I have several Fujitsu 3500 and 3400 tablets that I would use for this purpose). I also plan to be able to access the basic functions of the AVAtrix via IR using a remote control through the wall plates. Hopefully I can get something basic setup this weekend.

Murray
MurrayW is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 11:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcascio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kenosha, WI USA
Posts: 3,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Guys,

We had one of our programmers digging into the serial control yesterday. Hopefully we'll have something ready in a week or two given the holidays.

Trent,
Do you know if the serial control supports controlling more than just the first six zones?
mcascio is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 01:16 PM
Senior Member
 
LathanM's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Romeoville, IL
Posts: 316
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Glad to hear you are working on this. I am looking at doing some upgrades and this looks like the best solution.
LathanM is offline  
Old 12-30-2006, 08:02 PM - Thread Starter
Senior Member
 
videocam's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Posts: 337
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
WOW! I didn't know this thread would take off like this!
My house got hit by a tornado last April (in Tennessee)...and I am building it from the ground up.
I have not purchased MainLobby or the AVAtrix yet...but with the quick support by both companies (Thanks Mario and Trent :-) I think this is the route I'm going to take.
My new house is just beginning framing so I'm planning my structured cable layout as we speak. I'm a TV photojournalist...so my video distribution system at home will be for both pleasure and work. I will be tying in a non-linear edit system and some DVC Pro decks....so component video is a must.
So Mario and Trent...do I get a discount for bringing your 2 fine companies together ??? In all seriousness, I am really impressed with the level of openness and support you guys have shown....I makes it easier to be confident when making big purchases.
Thanks,
Cam

-Cam
Television Photojournalist, Video Producer, Voice Over Artist
Cam Communications Cinema Palace Construction Thread
Cam's Whole House AV and Automation Thread

LOGANED! 4-30-08
videocam is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 01:01 PM
Newbie
 
vs804017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am a proud owner of both Cinemar MainLobby/MLServer and an AudioAuthority Avatrix and I would be happy to help test a new plug in from Mario's team. I have the serial cable running already and I was hoping for just such a plug in.

I currently have a Samsung Q1 controlling my Russound CAM device and It would be great to be able to control the Avatrix in a similar way.

Any chance you'd let me help by testing for you?

(My avatrix is currently running 3 of 6 output zones/wallplates and I have 5 of 6 sources already as inputs)

Thanks.
vs804017 is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 01:15 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MurrayW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I have one-way serial control working for now using the MLGenericSerial plugin. As soon as I move it to its final destination close to my MLServer PC I will tackle the 2-way communication using MLGenericDevice plugin. The one-way was very easy to get working, so I don't anticipate any problems getting the 2-way to work. The serial control is pretty simple and there are not a lot of commands, so I am sure that once Mario's developer starts working on it, the MLAVAtrix plugin should be a snap to complete.

Murray
MurrayW is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 03:02 PM
Senior Member
 
Audio Authority's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcascio View Post

Guys,

We had one of our programmers digging into the serial control yesterday. Hopefully we'll have something ready in a week or two given the holidays.

Trent,
Do you know if the serial control supports controlling more than just the first six zones?

Serial control allows control of any number of wallplates (if that's what you mean by zones). There are a maximum of six "zone" groupings of wallplates on the AVAtrix.

Trent

Trent Davis
Audio Authority Corp.
Expert Audio/Video Solutions Since 1976

**Proud AVS Forum Alliance Members**
Audio Authority is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 04:48 PM
AVS Special Member
 
mcascio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kenosha, WI USA
Posts: 3,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Yes - anyone interested in being testers should post a request in this thread. We only ask that you are an existing customer already experienced with MainLobby.

Trent,
So while you can have more than six wall plates, each wall plate will have a number of 1-6 assigned.

I guess lets say I have 6 sources and 12 wall plates.

If I define wall plate one and two to "zone" one. Then they will always display the same source?
mcascio is offline  
Old 01-03-2007, 05:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MurrayW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcascio View Post

Yes - anyone interested in being testers should post a request in this thread. We only ask that you are an existing customer already experienced with MainLobby.

Trent,
So while you can have more than six wall plates, each wall plate will have a number of 1-6 assigned.

I guess lets say I have 6 sources and 12 wall plates.

If I define wall plate one and two to "zone" one. Then they will always display the same source?

Mario, I'll try to answer for Trent (Trent, please correct anything if I have it wrong). If you assign wall plate one and two to zone one they can but don't have to display the same source. Here are a few examples:

Assign different sources to each wall plate:
UA13 -- assigns source 3 to wall plate A1
UA25 -- assigns source 5 to wall plate A2

Assign same source to each wall plate in Zone 1:
Z14 -- assigns source 4 to all wall plates in Zone 1

Assign same source to ALL wall plates:
X6 -- assigns source 6 to ALL wall plates

Murray
MurrayW is offline  
Old 01-04-2007, 12:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Audio Authority's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 425
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcascio View Post

Yes - anyone interested in being testers should post a request in this thread. We only ask that you are an existing customer already experienced with MainLobby.

Trent,
So while you can have more than six wall plates, each wall plate will have a number of 1-6 assigned.

I guess lets say I have 6 sources and 12 wall plates.

If I define wall plate one and two to "zone" one. Then they will always display the same source?

When grouped to the same Zone, wallplates can be switched together, but don't have to be. You can select the individual unit and switch it, or select a zone and switch all.

Trent

Trent Davis
Audio Authority Corp.
Expert Audio/Video Solutions Since 1976

**Proud AVS Forum Alliance Members**
Audio Authority is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 10:50 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcascio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kenosha, WI USA
Posts: 3,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 69
OK - we just passed on a first round draft of the plugin to MurrayW for testing. The driver doesn't support receiving MLServeCmd's. Our goal was to get the plugin side working first and feedback from the device. We're flying blind here so hopefully we got pretty close in this first version.
mcascio is offline  
Old 01-05-2007, 11:16 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MurrayW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcascio View Post

OK - we just passed on a first round draft of the plugin to MurrayW for testing. The driver doesn't support receiving MLServeCmd's. Our goal was to get the plugin side working first and feedback from the device. We're flying blind here so hopefully we got pretty close in this first version.

I hope to get some time this weekend to test it. I'll report back on my findings.

thanks,
Murray
MurrayW is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 07:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcascio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kenosha, WI USA
Posts: 3,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Thanks Murray...looking forward to your feedback.
mcascio is offline  
Old 01-06-2007, 11:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MurrayW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by mcascio View Post

Thanks Murray...looking forward to your feedback.

Mario, You've got mail.
Murray
MurrayW is offline  
Old 01-08-2007, 08:55 AM
AVS Special Member
 
mcascio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Kenosha, WI USA
Posts: 3,808
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 22 Post(s)
Liked: 69
Thanks Murray.

Passed along your email to our developer for review.
mcascio is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 08:46 PM
Newbie
 
vs804017's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What is the current status of the plug-in?
vs804017 is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 10:12 AM
AVS Special Member
 
MurrayW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Austin, TX
Posts: 1,143
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by vs804017 View Post

What is the current status of the plug-in?

I have tested it...some things are working, some not. I have given Mario feedback and am waiting for his developer to make the changes and send me the next version for further testing. I'll provide an update when I get the next version and test it.

Murray
MurrayW is offline  
Old 01-28-2007, 07:16 AM
Member
 
kgingerich's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 26
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Count me in as another future customer wanting a plugin for the avatrix.

Good work you guys.
Kyle
kgingerich is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off