Can I terminate cat5e with Wall Plate Jack 8P8C - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 14 Old 12-30-2006, 12:55 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I'm running 100 ft and need to cut off one plug anyway.

Using this would make things really easy with just a patch cord for the final few feet.

http://www.monoprice.com/products/pr...ormat=2&style=

It looks like an old style telephone wall jack with the 8 screw terminals to connect the wires.

Im not smart enough to know if this will reduce my speeds. I get 80 mbps now using a short patch cord.
grittree is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 14 Old 12-30-2006, 01:37 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sic0048's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What are you trying to use it for?

It will certainly work great for regular phone lines. It will also work for ethernet, although the particular plate does not give any rating. So there is no way to tell if it is Cat5, Cat5e, or Cat6.

The design will work with your normal ethernet patch cords, etc. It also has the extra key slot on the side, but that will be unused with the majority (if not all) of cords you might have.

- Brian

CQC user since 2005

SageTV user since 2007

PBX in a Flash user since 2012

sic0048 is offline  
post #3 of 14 Old 12-30-2006, 02:27 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
grittree's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2001
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 2,088
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 9 Post(s)
Liked: 21
I'm using it to replace a wireless g connection that only gets about 15 mbps (transferring files from this computer).
grittree is offline  
post #4 of 14 Old 12-31-2006, 02:23 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sic0048's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Well it will certainly outperform wireless. Like I said, it is probably fine for anything you might throw at it, but we don't know if it is really cat5, cat5e, or cat6 (very unlikely).

If you eventually want something that is faster, then you could always replace the wall plate in the future. Of course, the smartest thing to do would be to but something that you know is rated Cat5e now, even if it costs another dollar or two.

- Brian

CQC user since 2005

SageTV user since 2007

PBX in a Flash user since 2012

sic0048 is offline  
post #5 of 14 Old 01-01-2007, 11:46 AM
 
Targus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


I get 80 mbps

80 milli bits is pretty slow.
Targus is offline  
post #6 of 14 Old 01-01-2007, 07:13 PM
Member
 
DarthMaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Perth, WA, Australia
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Targus, you really are a tool.
DarthMaul is offline  
post #7 of 14 Old 01-02-2007, 08:36 AM
 
Targus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, "DarthMaul"...you're the authority on tools !

Do the big M's and little m's confuse you as well?
Targus is offline  
post #8 of 14 Old 01-02-2007, 08:13 PM
Member
 
DarthMaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Perth, WA, Australia
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Not nearly as much as the total lack of a constructive response from you. This forum is supposed to be helpful. You seem to enjoy having a go at people who are asking for help.
Did the OP ever state that 80mbps was fast ?
DarthMaul is offline  
post #9 of 14 Old 01-02-2007, 08:53 PM
Member
 
kkassen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: Renton, Washington
Posts: 15
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would steer clear of using that wall plate for an ethernet connection. Instead you should use this RJ45 Keystone, at least this is rated for cat5. These are readily available at any home depot. Don't forget the Wall Plate for it as well.

Keith
kkassen is offline  
post #10 of 14 Old 01-03-2007, 08:07 AM
 
Targus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Did the OP ever state that 80mbps was fast

Is the OP really getting 80 milli bits/second? Or did it go way over your head as well?
Targus is offline  
post #11 of 14 Old 01-03-2007, 02:21 PM
Member
 
Ssseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I'd go with a keystone jack and plate as well. Who knows with that thing.


@Targus

It wouldn't be the first, nor the last time I've see someone use the wrong case. Never mind in IT terms, but in plain English. I'm sure I do it all the time myself. Never mind grammar, spelling, etc.

Do I feel the need to bring it up when I know it was just a mistake? No not really, I wold consider that to be petty. But hey, that's me.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.
- Albert Einstein
Ssseth is offline  
post #12 of 14 Old 01-03-2007, 02:38 PM
 
Targus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Posts: 2,617
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:


Do I feel the need to bring it up when I know it was just a mistake? No not really, I wold consider that to be petty. But hey, that's me.

That's good.
You asked, and answered your own petty question...didn't want to be left out, eh?
Targus is offline  
post #13 of 14 Old 01-03-2007, 02:52 PM
Member
 
Ssseth's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Canada
Posts: 185
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I didn't realize I asked a question in this thread. Learn something new every day.

Only two things are infinite, the universe and human stupidity, and I'm not sure about the former.
- Albert Einstein
Ssseth is offline  
post #14 of 14 Old 01-03-2007, 04:37 PM
Member
 
DarthMaul's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2001
Location: Perth, WA, Australia
Posts: 127
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Yes Targus, I did realise that the OP stated mbps instead of Mbps. WOW.
The point was you're useless in this forum as all you do is attack people instead of trying to help.

And no, the OP didn't state that 80 mbps was fast, so you initial reply of:
"80 milli bits is pretty slow" is even more useless than your usual dribble.
DarthMaul is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off