Anyone using the Infrant Repertoire? - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
post #1 of 6 Old 01-14-2007, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Don_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Hi all,

Was searching for some NAS solutions for High-definition A/V distribution via ethernet and came across this http://www.infrant.com/products/prod...ame=Repertoire The specs are very nice, but it is VERY pricey. Does anyone have any personal experience with this thing? If so, I would love to hear 'bout it!
Don_S is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #2 of 6 Old 01-14-2007, 10:01 AM
Senior Member
 
demonspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Frankfort, KY.
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
well my first flag was seagate drives!!
these are notorious for failure!! especially with no ventalation.

Jamie
No Longer Works For ELAN Home Systems, Sunfire and Homelogic Tech Support Specialist.
MY opinions are my own and when i am in forum i do not represent any of these companies!
demonspawn is offline  
post #3 of 6 Old 01-14-2007, 05:11 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sic0048's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
What?? I thought Seagate drives where suppose to be some of the better drives. Most have a 5yr warranty.

I'm I behind the times, as something changed with Seagates?

This is an honest question as I end up buying a new drive every 6mo or so and I want to make sure I stick with good quality drives.

Thanks,

- Brian

CQC user since 2005

SageTV user since 2007

PBX in a Flash user since 2012

sic0048 is offline  
post #4 of 6 Old 01-14-2007, 05:14 PM
AVS Special Member
 
sic0048's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: South Carolina
Posts: 1,481
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Now that I have my drive question out there, I took a look at the unit.

It seems like the biggest thing with this unit is the fact that it is fanless. Great if you are sticking this is your HT where sound is an issue. Bad if you are going to stick it somewhere that you don't care about noise and want the longest life out of your drives.

Personally I would want to stick a NAS in my wiring closet and wouldn't want a fanless unit.

- Brian

CQC user since 2005

SageTV user since 2007

PBX in a Flash user since 2012

sic0048 is offline  
post #5 of 6 Old 01-14-2007, 05:39 PM
Senior Member
 
demonspawn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2003
Location: Frankfort, KY.
Posts: 463
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
just my experience with seagates in similar type of devices.
we used them in hughes network systems mmv's and had to go out in the field an dreplace all of em with maxtors because they kept failing due to heat and head slap.
and i have experienced a couple of other units with seagates in them and they failed for the same reason.
not sure about the particular model of drive though.

Jamie
No Longer Works For ELAN Home Systems, Sunfire and Homelogic Tech Support Specialist.
MY opinions are my own and when i am in forum i do not represent any of these companies!
demonspawn is offline  
post #6 of 6 Old 01-16-2007, 06:27 PM - Thread Starter
Member
 
Don_S's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Posts: 126
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by sic0048 View Post

Now that I have my drive question out there, I took a look at the unit.

It seems like the biggest thing with this unit is the fact that it is fanless. Great if you are sticking this is your HT where sound is an issue. Bad if you are going to stick it somewhere that you don't care about noise and want the longest life out of your drives.

Personally I would want to stick a NAS in my wiring closet and wouldn't want a fanless unit.

Yeah, the more I thought about it, I realized that the unit, while certainly nice-looking, is too pricey just to have the ability to place it among other A/V equipment. You are right, since it connects to other equipment via ethernet, there is no need to have it in the same room with other AV equipment and one can get the same functionality in a much cheaper, albeit not-so-nice-looking unit.
Don_S is offline  
Reply Home A/V Distribution

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off