Builder install question - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 
Thread Tools
Old 01-26-2007, 12:23 PM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
lwcato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
My family just moved into a new home, one of the builders selling points was the house is pre-wired for surround sound. Unfortunately I know next to nothing about home theater, or distributed A/V systems.

Basic layout is a central TV niche , that has a large wall plate. There are wires running from the large wall plate to 2 small wall pates on each side of the tv nich for speakers, and to 3 plates on the back wall of the room.The electrician used cat-5e wire instead of speaker wire. Is this common to use cat5e for speaker wire? It seems most of my searches show you guys running actual speaker wire that is fairly larger guage. I posted this question in the home theater section, and got one reply. The member thought that the cat-5e would be too small to be used as actual speaker wire. Any other thoughts? I appreciate any input I can get.

Thanks

Larry
lwcato is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Old 01-26-2007, 02:03 PM
AVS Special Member
 
David Guill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 1999
Location: Clifton, Virginia USA
Posts: 1,145
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
No it is not at all common to use cat-5 instead of Speaker cable. Check the cable to make sure that it isn't speaker cable. Sometimes the jacket on 16 guage speaker cable can look like cat-5 jacket. What does the writing on the jacket say?
David Guill is offline  
Old 01-26-2007, 06:26 PM
Member
 
mvrock's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Posts: 37
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Well, I've heard of audio over CAT5, but I don't know that I'd want to send speaker level output through it from a receiver not designed for a cat5 system. I don't know anything 1st hand about CAT5 systems, but that doesn't seem like a recipe for top performance
mvrock is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 07:03 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Splotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwcato View Post

My family just moved into a new home, one of the builders selling points was the house is pre-wired for surround sound. Unfortunately I know next to nothing about home theater, or distributed A/V systems.

Basic layout is a central TV niche , that has a large wall plate. There are wires running from the large wall plate to 2 small wall pates on each side of the tv nich for speakers, and to 3 plates on the back wall of the room.The electrician used cat-5e wire instead of speaker wire. Is this common to use cat5e for speaker wire? It seems most of my searches show you guys running actual speaker wire that is fairly larger guage. I posted this question in the home theater section, and got one reply. The member thought that the cat-5e would be too small to be used as actual speaker wire. Any other thoughts? I appreciate any input I can get.

Thanks

Larry

Do you care to mention the name of the builder and the state?

Splotto
Splotto is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 08:44 AM - Thread Starter
Newbie
 
lwcato's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 5
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Splotto View Post

Do you care to mention the name of the builder and the state?

Splotto

Builder = Trendmaker
state = Tx

I did go back and check the cable, and its clearly marked cat-5e, in fact its the exact same cable they pulled throughout the house for the phone lines.

Do to the dimensions of the room, I imagine it will be very difficult to pull speaker wire back through to the back wall.

Thanks for the info guys.

Larry
lwcato is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 09:02 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Splotto's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Palm Beach Gardens, FL
Posts: 620
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by lwcato View Post

Builder = Trendmaker
state = Tx

I did go back and check the cable, and its clearly marked cat-5e, in fact its the exact same cable they pulled throughout the house for the phone lines.

Do to the dimensions of the room, I imagine it will be very difficult to pull speaker wire back through to the back wall.

Thanks for the info guys.

Larry

Ok Thanks. I work for a builder in FLA and I know one of our sub's made the same mistake on a house. I just wanted to make sure it wasn't one of ours and make it right if it was.

Thanks,
Bob
Splotto is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 09:11 AM
Member
 
Pete Metzk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2003
Posts: 34
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I would call the builder. It sounds like someone pulled the wrong cable.
Pete Metzk is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 09:15 AM
Member
 
michaelwalsh's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 104
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I've used prexisting CAT5e to drive a pair of PA horns connected to an office phone system (for paging), each at a distance close to 300ft. They worked OK, but I wouldn't really like to have my home system wired that way.

Saying that, I do actually run my rear channel speakers through what has to be a hundred plus feet of RG-6 coax. Why? Because it was already there. But then I'm not really into audio that much, prefering instead to focus on video quality.
michaelwalsh is offline  
Old 01-27-2007, 04:26 PM
Member
 
Bradley D's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Location: Oregon
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
That drives me absolutely nuts. We have had a few customers in our store wanting to put speakers throughout their entire house using cat5. Every time I want to find the builder and slap him in the face. I would see if he could fix this. Cat5 is used for home control and automation. It should never be used for audio or video in a home theater sense.
Bradley D is offline  
 
Thread Tools


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off