Understanding Lightning damage; learn from my mistakes... - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!

Forum Jump: 

post #1 of 7 Old 05-25-2007, 08:47 AM - Thread Starter

Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is a rant, so bear with me.

First, let me start by saying I should have KNOWN better. I am a broadcast engineer and deal with high RF environments, complicated studio setups, ground loops, and ESPECIALLY grounding/shielding techniques. It is this last thing that I am getting sick of.

Bought my house in 03. Here is backwater TN, they are not as "technically" inclined as one would hope. My home didn't come with any networking, or cable runs other than the typical single cheap RG6 run and phone jack in all the rooms.

I spent a great deal of time and effort wiring up my home with multiple ethernet jacks in every room (except bathrooms and kitchen, LOL).

The root of the problem is everytime we have a storm, something in my house gets blown up. To date I have lost:

2 satellite receivers
1 multiswitch
3 PCs (network cards blown to hell)
2 network switches (same switch popped twice)
and a Xbox twice.

Fortunately, my living room "HT" setup has not suffered any damage (knock on wood) as there are some pretty long runs in wall between the equipment rack and TV, but nowhere near as long as my CAT5e runs.

Yes, i have surge supressors in all rooms with all gear. Nothing fancy, just the "monster" brand MOV variety. However, in my experience, surge suppressors don't ELIMINATE the possibilities of lighting damage, they just REDUCE the likelyhood of damage with strikes.