Official RadianceXD support thread - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
 1Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 1407 Old 10-10-2008, 12:26 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gordon Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: S.E. England
Posts: 1,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Doug: You want prety much what I do with plasma displays. I create a custom curve with gamma around 2.4 is from 40 to 100ire and down at the bottom I get it to 2.1-2.2 to try and bring back dark detail that many digital displays crush.

Convergent-AV
ISF, Home Theater Consultants and Distribution, U.K.
Gordon Fraser is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 1407 Old 10-10-2008, 10:06 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon Fraser View Post

Doug: You want prety much what I do with plasma displays. I create a custom curve with gamma around 2.4 is from 40 to 100ire and down at the bottom I get it to 2.1-2.2 to try and bring back dark detail that many digital displays crush.

Is this an ISF-sanctioned method?

D.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave G is offline  
post #33 of 1407 Old 10-10-2008, 10:53 AM
Advanced Member
 
VirusKiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Woburn Sands, UK
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Genlock and 60i to 24p ITC firmware has arrived!

http://www.lumagen.com/testindex.php...diance_updates

"Worth waiting for"
VirusKiller is offline  
post #34 of 1407 Old 10-10-2008, 11:00 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Gordon Fraser's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 1999
Location: S.E. England
Posts: 1,595
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 10 Post(s)
Liked: 26
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave G View Post

Is this an ISF-sanctioned method?

No...

Convergent-AV
ISF, Home Theater Consultants and Distribution, U.K.
Gordon Fraser is offline  
post #35 of 1407 Old 10-10-2008, 07:58 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New firmware, as Viruskiller mentions, linked in the first post of the thread. Beware, it's beta, and not bug free it seems. I'm probably going to wait this one out.

D.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave G is offline  
post #36 of 1407 Old 10-11-2008, 08:51 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 17,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 22
I use a Lumagen Radiance with my Sim2 C3X 1080, 128" wide curved 2:35 screen.

Lumagen just released a firmware upgrade for the Radiance including Genlock and now we can take a 480i, 720p or 1080i film source and output at
24 Hz. COOL!

To date, I have input 60Hz output 60 Hz,
and input 24P and output 24P.

But now I can for film sources output both input 24p AND 60p as output 24p.

The Radiance allows me to set output to 24P and also 24sf. Is there any benefit to trying or using 24sf with the Radiance for my Sim2 C3X 1080?

"Doug Winsor" used to troll at some AV Forums as "Steve Bruzonsky"! My home theater at:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #37 of 1407 Old 10-11-2008, 09:14 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post

The Radiance allows me to set output to 24P and also 24sf. Is there any benefit to trying or using 24sf with the Radiance for my Sim2 C3X 1080?

AFAIK, 24sf is only useful for displays that only take in this format for 24Hz. The Qualia is one of them I think, and I don't know about yours. If your display accepts both 24p and 24sf, I don't believe there's any benefit of one over the other.

D.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave G is offline  
post #38 of 1407 Old 10-12-2008, 12:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Doug Blackburn's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2008
Location: San Francisco - East Bay area
Posts: 3,453
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 21 Post(s)
Liked: 226
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gordon Fraser View Post

No...

It may not be ISF "sanctioned" but there are displays with gamma curves something like that (lower on the dark end, higher from 30%-40% and up).

The Elite Kuro has so much "range" from 0%-20% that it won't lose detail with a 2.4 gamma setting. But I doubt there's any other display I could say that about. When I get a chance, I will setup the gamma with a uniform 2.4 or 2.45 and have a look at the 0%-10% gray scale steps to see if they are all still well-defined then have a look at some movies and try again with higher gamma for 10% and 20% and see if things are any different. Of course, this would be for dark-room viewing. Higher gamma would be called for with some light in the room - easily accomplished with the Radiance.

"Movies is magic..." Van Dyke Parks
THX Certified Professional Video Calibration
ISF -- HAA --
To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Widescreen Review -- Home Theater & Sound
Doug Blackburn is offline  
post #39 of 1407 Old 10-24-2008, 03:06 PM
Senior Member
 
RandyFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The other Radiance thread is now too big due to combining multiple threads. We could start posting to this nice short thread.

Best regards,
Randy Freeman
RandyFreeman is offline  
post #40 of 1407 Old 10-26-2008, 08:45 AM
Advanced Member
 
Brucemck2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
My XD has performed flawlessly for several months.

Recently it began to act oddly -- every 15 to 30 minutes or so it seems to "lose" the HDMI signal it is being fed and my screen (a Marantz S4) goes blank except for a message saying "out of range" .... switching inputs on the XD does not restore the picture, but turning the Radiance on and back off via the remote does. Sometimes, but not always, the XD also turns itself "off", as indicated by the front power light turning from green to red.

I do not lose the sound, which is also switched by the XD

Turning the S4 off and back on does not restore the picture.

This happens on both of my inputs (one is a Hughes HD250 D* unit, the other is a Meridian DVD player) so I know it's not the input source that's the problem.

Thus, I'm pretty sure it is the XD that's the problem.

I have not done any firmware etc. updates since first installing the unit.

Trouble shooting suggestions?
Brucemck2 is offline  
post #41 of 1407 Old 10-26-2008, 09:01 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Steve Bruzonsky's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Gilbert, Arizona
Posts: 17,643
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 24 Post(s)
Liked: 22
With the update, when I change my DirecTV HD channel, I get a blank screen for a few seconds while the projector resyncs to the picture. This didn't happen before the update.

"Doug Winsor" used to troll at some AV Forums as "Steve Bruzonsky"! My home theater at:

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Steve Bruzonsky is offline  
post #42 of 1407 Old 10-27-2008, 04:03 AM
Advanced Member
 
Brucemck2's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2004
Posts: 746
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 16 Post(s)
Liked: 17
Quote:
Originally Posted by Brucemck2 View Post

My XD has performed flawlessly for several months.

Recently it began to act oddly -- every 15 to 30 minutes or so it seems to "lose" the HDMI signal it is being fed and my screen (a Marantz S4) goes blank except for a message saying "out of range" .... switching inputs on the XD does not restore the picture, but turning the Radiance on and back off via the remote does. Sometimes, but not always, the XD also turns itself "off", as indicated by the front power light turning from green to red.

I do not lose the sound, which is also switched by the XD

Turning the S4 off and back on does not restore the picture.

This happens on both of my inputs (one is a Hughes HD250 D* unit, the other is a Meridian DVD player) so I know it's not the input source that's the problem.

Thus, I'm pretty sure it is the XD that's the problem.

I have not done any firmware etc. updates since first installing the unit.

Trouble shooting suggestions?

Bump
Brucemck2 is offline  
post #43 of 1407 Old 10-27-2008, 05:18 AM
AVS Special Member
 
dsinger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2003
Posts: 1,731
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 90
If I had your problems, I would (1st.) install the latest firmware update (10/19) from the Lumagen site. Secondly, I would make sure the HDMI hotplug is set to always on. Finally, If 1 and 2 don't fix the issue, post your problem in the Xd support thread on the Lumagen site or contact then directly.
dsinger is offline  
post #44 of 1407 Old 10-27-2008, 07:25 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Alan Gouger's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 1999
Location: Florida
Posts: 18,726
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Quote:
Originally Posted by Steve Bruzonsky View Post

With the update, when I change my DirecTV HD channel, I get a blank screen for a few seconds while the projector resyncs to the picture. This didn't happen before the update.

Steve I am having issues as well. Join us on the Lumagen support forum.

Quote:
Originally Posted by RandyFreeman View Post

The other Radiance thread is now too big due to combining multiple threads. We could start posting to this nice short thread.

Best regards,
Randy Freeman

Sorry guys. I clean up the stickys every few months and did not see much activity with that thread thinking the active threads in the forum had taken over. Apologizes to Dave G.
Alan Gouger is offline  
post #45 of 1407 Old 10-31-2008, 08:32 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Updated first post with latest firmware. An update to the FAQ is coming up soon in a new thread.

D.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave G is offline  
post #46 of 1407 Old 11-24-2008, 11:53 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Latest firmware is up, supposedly fixes receivers seeing 2 pcm channels instead of 5, a bug that has been driving me nuts for a while now. Switching inputs usually fixed it, but that's not exactly user friendly...

D.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave G is offline  
post #47 of 1407 Old 11-24-2008, 01:19 PM
Senior Member
 
RandyFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The latest Radiance software includes many additions to the RS232 command interface. We added lots of new setting and query commands. To see a full list of the new commands download "Tech Tip 11 - RS232 Control for the Radiance".
http://www.lumagen.com/testindex.php?module=manuals

Please let us know if there are any other RS232 commands that you need.

Best regards,
Randy Freeman

support@lumagen.com
RandyFreeman is offline  
post #48 of 1407 Old 11-25-2008, 05:45 AM
LJG
AVS Special Member
 
LJG's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2000
Location: Brookville, NY
Posts: 4,001
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 12 Post(s)
Liked: 16
Randy:

Would it be possible to add an RS232 command for just trigger on/off?
LJG is online now  
post #49 of 1407 Old 11-25-2008, 10:53 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by LJG View Post

Randy:

Would it be possible to add an RS232 command for just trigger on/off?

It already exists:

ZY3<1,2>: Sets trigger 1 or 2 either H=on or L=off.

D.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave G is offline  
post #50 of 1407 Old 12-12-2008, 02:32 PM
Senior Member
 
RandyFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
We have been busy updating the RS-232 interface on the Radiance. We added many commands that were requested by customers. Now there is good support for control systems and automated calibrations. Let us know if there are any other RS-232 commands that you need.

To see the full list of RS-232 commands download Radiance "Tech Tip 11 - RS232 control for the Radiance".
http://www.lumagen.com/testindex.php?module=manuals

Best regards,
Randy Freeman

support@lumagen.com
RandyFreeman is offline  
post #51 of 1407 Old 01-07-2009, 01:14 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Updated first post with the latest firmware link (010209). I'm ecstatic to report that a bug that had been plaguing me for a long while in one form or another now seems to be gone for good!

The issue was a pink picture or sometime no picture at all on some inputs, it seems this happened mostly because of my config where I drive two displays with video turned off on the output that's not in use.

D.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave G is offline  
post #52 of 1407 Old 01-07-2009, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
RandyFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The RadianceXE Beta with HDMI 1.3 is available and shipping. Anyone who wants more information should contact Lumagen.

Best regards,
Randy Freeman

support@lumagen.com
503-574-2211
RandyFreeman is offline  
post #53 of 1407 Old 01-23-2009, 01:54 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New firmware is up.

D.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave G is offline  
post #54 of 1407 Old 01-29-2009, 02:33 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New firmware 012609 is up.

Direct download link.

D.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave G is offline  
post #55 of 1407 Old 02-04-2009, 11:26 AM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New firmware 013009 is up.

Direct download link.

D.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave G is offline  
post #56 of 1407 Old 02-04-2009, 11:34 AM
Advanced Member
 
aaron_hinni's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2004
Location: Ballwin, MO
Posts: 759
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Dave G View Post

New firmware 013009 is up.

Direct download link.

The above link is for 012609. Here is the direct link for 013009 and a list of all the updates.

Unfortunately, still no fix for the genlock bug, although Lumagen says it is next on the list after PIP.

Ready, Fire, Aim...

To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
aaron_hinni is offline  
post #57 of 1407 Old 02-04-2009, 12:32 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Ooops. Fixed.

Here's the direct download link again.

D.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave G is offline  
post #58 of 1407 Old 02-04-2009, 03:04 PM
Senior Member
 
RandyFreeman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Posts: 435
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The latest rev of Tech Tip 11 is now posted.

Randy Freeman
support@lumagen.com
RandyFreeman is offline  
post #59 of 1407 Old 02-06-2009, 04:04 PM - Thread Starter
Advanced Member
 
Dave G's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 949
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
New firmware 020209 is up.

Direct download link

D.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.
Dave G is offline  
post #60 of 1407 Old 02-12-2009, 05:23 PM
Advanced Member
 
mavromatis's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2001
Location: Seattle, WA
Posts: 805
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Anyone have a Crestron Module for the XD? If not, I'll make one.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.


To view links or images in signatures your post count must be 0 or greater. You currently have 0 posts.

mavromatis is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off