DVDO EDGE !! - Page 125 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #3721 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 09:45 AM
Member
 
Maier2505's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2006
Posts: 59
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by TKNice View Post

Anyone else wish there was a power button? Every once in a while my colors will go green and/or get all messed up. I'm not sure what's causing this and I'm hoping it will be fixed with a firmware upgrade. Resetting the unit fixes the problem, though unplugging from the back is a pain.

Anyone others seeing this?

Tom

If I have it, I use the Remote to switch off/on and it is away...

best regards

maier2505
Maier2505 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #3722 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 10:17 AM
Member
 
cmangeot's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: NYC
Posts: 25
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I am using Time Warner Cable, Pioneer Kuro and EDGE.
Cable Box is sending 480i/1080i.
After properly setting Kuro, watching a 480i signal gave the two expected black pillars.
Now if I switch to a 1080i and then back to a 480i those pillars turn grey, and I can't find anyway to get them to turn black anymore.
What I am doing wrong?
P.S. I recall having the same problem with my old VP30.
Thanks
Christian
cmangeot is offline  
post #3723 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 10:37 AM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

I have the JVC HD1/RS1 and have all my components going through the DVDO EDGE. I've noticed that my output is always 1080i on my projector and the DVDO edge even when I play a BD knowing that it is 1080p. I had to force 1080p but then noticed when demoing a SD movie with a HD DVD player which scaled up to 1080p/24 the picture was jumping frame by frame. I basically had to put my DVDO output to Auto for it to work but still on proj info and the DVDO edge info it comes out 1080i. Am I missing something here?

Probably the best setting would be to force 1080p output on the Edge to your pj, send native signals to the Edge whenever possible, and turn 1:1 framelock on (I'm assuming the RS1 accepts 1080p50, p60 and 1080p24).

1080p24 conversion of DVD by the HD DVD player is suspect. I know that on my XA2 it didn't work well and was jerky. You are better off sending 480i/p for DVD to the Edge and allowing it to do the conversion.

With framelock on, Edge will output the same frame/field rate as the input. For 480i60, it will output 1080p60. For 1080p24 input, it will output 1080p24. To force the Edge to convert 480i60 from DVD to 1080p24, you'll need to set Edge to 1080p24 output and toggle 1:1 framerate OFF.
cpcat is offline  
post #3724 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 10:46 AM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcat View Post

Probably the best setting would be to force 1080p output on the Edge to your pj, send native signals to the Edge whenever possible, and turn 1:1 framelock on (I'm assuming the RS1 accepts 1080p50, p60 and 1080p24).

1080p24 conversion of DVD by the HD DVD player is suspect. I know that on my XA2 it didn't work well and was jerky. You are better off sending 480i/p for DVD to the Edge and allowing it to do the conversion.

With framelock on, Edge will output the same frame/field rate as the input. For 480i60, it will output 1080p60. For 1080p24 input, it will output 1080p24. To force the Edge to convert 480i60 from DVD to 1080p24, you'll need to set Edge to 1080p24 output and toggle 1:1 framerate OFF.


Thankyou for that.
I do have another question what happens when I play HD DVD and BD? Some BD were 1080P but still came out 1080i.I thought the Edge would of picked that up and outputed 1080p set at Auto. So I have to set it 1080p/24 what does the edge do to a BD/HD DVD that is inputting 1080p to Edge?

Sorry for the ignorant question but this is the first time i've come aquainted with a seperate video processor.

_________________________

Frank
Franin is offline  
post #3725 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 11:54 AM
Advanced Member
 
juancmjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKevinK View Post

I just updated to the 1.1 firmware... and I'm losing ALL settings on every power cycle (either removing the mains or just hitting the off button on the remote.) I've lost two iterations of renaming my inputs at this point. Not too impressed at the moment.

Kevin

Same exact thing happened to me. If you still have it, reinstall the original firmware that came with your Edge. You will lose the Advanced Settings category which includes the test patterns (if those matter to you) but it will work, including keeping your settings and input names. Contact Edge support to see if they can send you the original firmware if you don't have it. Takes a few days but that's what I did. Good luck.

Did have a glitch yesterday. While watching a soccer game in SD I switched to an HD channel for a moment and then switched back and the color was predominantly purple. Switching inputs on the Edge solved the problem. A few days ago while testing out SD HBO the video would get some sort of static noise along the lower third of the image, then video would cut out and come back repeatedly. Haven't had that happen before and definitely didn't happen before I put the Edge in my system.

Occupation: Millionaire Philanderer... I mean philanthropist

juancmjr is offline  
post #3726 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 01:29 PM
Senior Member
 
tdamocles's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: PA
Posts: 486
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
At one time I could set the Edge to 4:3 on SD content and if I turn it to HD content it would display it correctly at 16:9. Since I did the firmware update it does not do it correctly....How do I get it to work again?
tdamocles is offline  
post #3727 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 01:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Franin View Post

Thankyou for that.
I do have another question what happens when I play HD DVD and BD? Some BD were 1080P but still came out 1080i.I thought the Edge would of picked that up and outputed 1080p set at Auto. So I have to set it 1080p/24 what does the edge do to a BD/HD DVD that is inputting 1080p to Edge?

Sorry for the ignorant question but this is the first time i've come aquainted with a seperate video processor.

The Edge set for Auto on the output will result in 1080p60 output from the Edge if your display (pj) advertises that as the preferred resolution via EDID communication with Edge. If it does not, you may have to set the output on the Edge manually.

The output from the HD DVD player will typically happen the same way. However, many of the Toshiba HD DVD players seem to end up outputting either 1080p60 or 1080i for whatever reason even if the downstream component advertises via EDID that 1080p24 is preferrable. In fact, with HD DVD, 1080i probably is preferrable as this is the true "native" disc resolution even for film sources. 1080p24 output from HD DVD will require the player to do 1080i->1080p24 conversion. You are probably better off letting Edge do that.

With BD film sources, the native on the disc is 1080p24 so you should use that input to the Edge. BD video sources (concerts, documentaries) will be 1080i native so use that input to Edge if possible.
cpcat is offline  
post #3728 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 02:09 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcat View Post

In fact, with HD DVD, 1080i probably is preferrable as this is the true "native" disc resolution even for film sources.

How do you figure 1080i is native for film sources?
Gary J is online now  
post #3729 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 02:47 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

How do you figure 1080i is native for film sources?

It's not that 1080i is native for film sources, it's that 1080i is native for HD DVD. It ends up just like a broadcast film source where deinterlacing to 1080p24 is necessary. That is a distinction b/w HDDVD and BD media. BD film sources are encoded as 1080p24. HDDVD film sources are encoded as 1080i.
cpcat is offline  
post #3730 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 02:51 PM
AVS Special Member
 
djos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcat View Post

It's not that 1080i is native for film sources, it's that 1080i is native for HD DVD. It ends up just like a broadcast film source where deinterlacing to 1080p24 is necessary. That is a distinction b/w HDDVD and BD media. BD film sources are encoded as 1080p24. HDDVD film sources are encoded as 1080i.

Absolute rubbish!

99% of HD DVD movies are 24p with 3:2 pull-down flags (for 1080p60) and all good HD-DVD players just ignore the 3:2 pull-down flags and output 24p!

PS. I have never ever seen any of my 80 HD DVD's output and anything less than 1080p24 from my LG BH200 SuperBlu Player.

My Home Theatre site + Blog

The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks.
djos is offline  
post #3731 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 02:56 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcat View Post

it's that 1080i is native for HD DVD.

You've got some source referencing to do on that one.
Gary J is online now  
post #3732 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 03:07 PM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Has anybody switched from a VP50 to an EDGE? I am not going to be using a projector for a while now and my VP50 is sitting idle. I am thinking of "downgrading" to the EDGE, if I even need it. I will use a plasma tv for a while, and if and when I get back into front projection, I was thinking a DVDO EDGE would do me for the de-interlacing/scaling and anamorphic lens work. Anybody 'downgraded' like this? Were you happy? ....or, did you go back to the VP50 or up to the VP50 Pro instead?
cpc is offline  
post #3733 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 03:16 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

You've got some source referencing to do on that one.


This isn't the thread for this. Believe it or not or do your own research. It's a niche format at this point anyway.

Same response to djos.
cpcat is offline  
post #3734 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 03:24 PM
AVS Special Member
 
djos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcat View Post

This isn't the thread for this. Believe it or not or do your own research. It's a niche format at this point anyway.

Same response to djos.

No, if you want to post BS, the least you can do is try to prove it!

My Home Theatre site + Blog

The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks.
djos is offline  
post #3735 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 03:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
barrygordon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2001
Location: Merritt Island FL 32952
Posts: 1,724
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I did, actually from a VP50 PRO and the Edge fills my needs quite well. I really wanted the separate HDMI audio feed otherwise I just would have stayed with the VP50 PRO
barrygordon is offline  
post #3736 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 03:36 PM
AVS Special Member
 
MSmith83's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Posts: 8,647
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 59 Post(s)
Liked: 62
Quote:
Originally Posted by djos View Post

99% of HD DVD movies are 24p with 3:2 pull-down flags

That is correct. The vast majority of HD DVDs were encoded as 1080p/23.976 with the appropriate flags for 2:3 pulldown. Checking the disc files on a PC will prove this.
MSmith83 is offline  
post #3737 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 04:10 PM
Senior Member
 
GKevinK's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2002
Location: Glen Burnie, MD
Posts: 237
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by juancmjr View Post

Same exact thing happened to me. If you still have it, reinstall the original firmware that came with your Edge. You will lose the Advanced Settings category which includes the test patterns (if those matter to you) but it will work, including keeping your settings and input names. Contact Edge support to see if they can send you the original firmware if you don't have it. Takes a few days but that's what I did. Good luck.

Did have a glitch yesterday. While watching a soccer game in SD I switched to an HD channel for a moment and then switched back and the color was predominantly purple. Switching inputs on the Edge solved the problem. A few days ago while testing out SD HBO the video would get some sort of static noise along the lower third of the image, then video would cut out and come back repeatedly. Haven't had that happen before and definitely didn't happen before I put the Edge in my system.

Thanks... I did save a copy of the 1.0 firmware before installing 1.1 so I should be able to revert back. Before I go backwards I'm going to try re-installing 1.1 to see if there is any change in behavior. I've had several total lock-ups today that forced me to remove and reapply power. I may also try explicitly selecting the output format instead of the auto setting (which is the default that keeps getting set.)

It's strange how the 1.0 firmware pretty much chugged along without incident for several months and after 'upgrading' to 1.1 I'm lucky to get it to run for several *hours* without messing up. Must be something about my particular unit or maybe there was some glitch during the upgrade that didn't complain but also didn't work 100% correctly.

Kevin
GKevinK is offline  
post #3738 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 04:10 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcat View Post

This isn't the thread for this. Believe it or not or do your own research. It's a niche format at this point anyway.

Same response to djos.

You've posted so much good VP stuff you deserve a pass on this slip - but not with that tone.
Gary J is online now  
post #3739 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 04:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Alright. Here:

http://archive2.avsforum.com/avs-vb/....php?p=7434559

And you can sift through this but beware it's tainted by the HDDVD vs. BD format war. I was initially an HDDVD supporter BTW (so there's no reason for me to be biased against HDDVD):

http://archive2.avsforum.com/avs-vb/...d.php?t=660193


I guess the difference was that I was here and paid attention to all of this and you guys didn't?

You can't get 1080p24 "straight form the disc" with HDDVD. Don't you think there's a reason that BD offered 1080p24 from the beginning and HDDVD took so long to even allow it? Why the delay if it were so "easy"?
cpcat is offline  
post #3740 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 04:42 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by djos View Post

No, if you want to post BS, the least you can do is try to prove it!

BTW djos I expect an apology for your insults. They are uncalled for.
cpcat is offline  
post #3741 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 05:01 PM
cpc
AVS Club Gold
 
cpc's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2001
Location: Toronto,ON,Canada
Posts: 7,504
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by barrygordon View Post

I did, actually from a VP50 PRO and the Edge fills my needs quite well. I really wanted the separate HDMI audio feed otherwise I just would have stayed with the VP50 PRO

Thanks for the feedback. The switch over would only give me cash if I unloaded the VP50 and SDI card, and the SDI dvd player. Hard to do since my SDI'd Panny CP72 is such a finely tuned peice (Gary M's special recipe)...so I may just stick with the VP50... At least I have some options. Other thing is, now that I think about it. I may end up with more than one display needing a vp, so I may be better to keep the VP50 and get the edge for the second display. I'll have to wait and see what I get display wise.
cpc is offline  
post #3742 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 05:32 PM
AVS Special Member
 
djos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcat View Post

BTW djos I expect an apology for your insults. They are uncalled for.

Im not apologising to you - you cant even post accurate information!

I strongly suggest you read Page 32 of the "Requirements Specification
for HD DVD Video Application"
document, section "5.2.1 Video Source Standards and Resolutions" where is specifically states:

Quote:


5.2.1 Video Source Standards and Resolutions
Functional Requirements:


1) Source content including film/telecine content, progressive video, or interlaced video in native format,
frame rate, and aspect ratio.

2) Support for video source resolutions up to 1920x1080 and frame rates up to 60p.

3) Support for lower resolutions (e.g. SD, SIF, CIF).
Key Performance Requirements:

1) In the case of 60 Hz region, 3:2 pull down flag is mandatory for movie (film content), which means that synchronization between video, audio, sub-picture, and advanced objects follows 60 Hz vertical synchronization signal.

2) In the case of 24p source content, when the 3:2 pull down flag is used for 60 Hz region, picture level encoding is performed on a frame-basis. In addition, such 24p elementary video streams can be converted during content creation (authoring) to corresponding 50 Hz elementary video streams.

3) The encoded frame rate of primary video and secondary video shall be 60 Hz for 60 Hz region and
50 Hz for 50 Hz region.

Feel free to continue reading the next table:

Quote:


Key Performance Requirements (5.2.1):

4) Source picture resolutions, frame rates, and aspect ratios for 60 Hz Regions:

Table 5.2.1.1
Horizontal / Vertical / Encoded Frame Rate / Aspect Ratio

1920 1080 29.97 (*Note 1) 16:9
1440 1080 29.97 (*Note 1) 16:9
1280 1080 29.97 (*Note 1) 16:9
960 1080 29.97 (*Note 1) 16:9
1280 720 59.94 (*Note 2) 16:9
720 480 59.94 (*Note 2) 16:9
704 480 59.94 (*Note 2) 16:9
720 480 29.97 (*Note 1) 16:9/4:3
704 480 29.97 (*Note 1) 16:9/4:3
544 480 29.97 (*Note 1) 16:9/4:3
480 480 29.97 (*Note 1) 16:9/4:3
352 480 29.97 (*Note 1) 16:9/4:3
352 240 29.97 (*Note 1) 16:9/4:3

*Note 1: 59.94i, 29.97p, and 23.976p with 3:2 pull-down
*Note 2: 59/94p and 23.976p with 3:2 pull-down

I await your apology for being flat out wrong!

My Home Theatre site + Blog

The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks.
djos is offline  
post #3743 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 05:39 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
This is why I didn't want to do this in the first place. It's OT and I'm not going any further with it. Read/research yourself if you are interested in the details would be my advice.

I'd recommend that for the purposes of the Edge or other video processors those with HD DVD players realize that effectively 1080i is the "native" signal from HD DVD for both film and video sources. 1080p24 output will require a deinterlacing step in the player. If you feel the player does better deinterlacing, use it. If you feel the Edge (or other VP) will do a better job, output 1080i.
cpcat is offline  
post #3744 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 05:44 PM
Advanced Member
 
juancmjr's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: Santa Rosa, CA
Posts: 893
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by GKevinK View Post

Thanks... I did save a copy of the 1.0 firmware before installing 1.1 so I should be able to revert back. Before I go backwards I'm going to try re-installing 1.1 to see if there is any change in behavior. I've had several total lock-ups today that forced me to remove and reapply power. I may also try explicitly selecting the output format instead of the auto setting (which is the default that keeps getting set.)

It's strange how the 1.0 firmware pretty much chugged along without incident for several months and after 'upgrading' to 1.1 I'm lucky to get it to run for several *hours* without messing up. Must be something about my particular unit or maybe there was some glitch during the upgrade that didn't complain but also didn't work 100% correctly.

Kevin

It is strange. When you do reinstall V1.1 post your findings. I'd be curious if it was a poorly done installation on my part, or a buggy update.

Occupation: Millionaire Philanderer... I mean philanthropist

juancmjr is offline  
post #3745 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 05:45 PM
AVS Special Member
 
djos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: Adelaide, Australia
Posts: 1,229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcat View Post

This is why I didn't want to do this in the first place. It's OT and I'm not going any further with it. Read/research yourself if you are interested in the details would be my advice.

I'd recommend that for the purposes of the Edge or other video processors those with HD DVD players realize that effectively 1080i is the "native" signal from HD DVD for both film and video sources. 1080p24 output will require a deinterlacing step in the player. If you feel the player does better deinterlacing, use it. If you feel the Edge (or other VP) will do a better job, output 1080i.

cpcat, you started the "HD DVD is 1080i" BS and you've been conclusively shown to be wrong so just drop it!

Trying to dodge being wrong by saying it's OT is just a spurious and lame excuse to avoid maning up and admiting you are wrong!

My Home Theatre site + Blog

The impossible often has a kind of integrity which the merely improbable lacks.
djos is offline  
post #3746 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 05:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
cpcat's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2003
Location: Vidalia, GA
Posts: 6,471
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
You are absolutely correct djos. I'll now be leaving it to more knowledgeable folks like you.
cpcat is offline  
post #3747 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 06:06 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,632
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 58 Post(s)
Liked: 94
Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcat View Post

1080p24 output will require a deinterlacing step in the player.

It is true that the Toshiba XA-2 at one time did an intermediate interlacing/de-interlacing step in the player. Perhaps that is where you became confused. That was subsequently fixed in firmware. It first came to light in an infamous thread here when de-interlacing artifacts were noticed in the Vatican steps scene of Mission Impossible III. However the following is not true.

Quote:
Originally Posted by cpcat View Post

it's that 1080i is native for HD DVD.

1080p is native to HD-DVD. BTW, it has a dash (-). HD DVD includes both HD-DVD and Blu-ray.
Gary J is online now  
post #3748 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 06:55 PM
Senior Member
 
jedi.master.dre's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada
Posts: 474
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary J View Post

1080p is native to HD-DVD. BTW, it has a dash (-). HD DVD includes both HD-DVD and Blu-ray.

Good information about the resolution.

But...

I was quite sure it was "HD DVD" and "Blu-ray", not HD-DVD. Hence the AvsForum section titled:

Blu-ray & HD DVD Area
jedi.master.dre is offline  
post #3749 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 06:55 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 259
How many of you guys have your DVDO EDGE contolled by Pronto or other Universal remotes that have Wifi and extenders? The reason being I find that at times going though the extender and the back of the Dvdo Edge IR jack the unit becomes unresponsive.

_________________________

Frank
Franin is offline  
post #3750 of 7111 Old 03-22-2009, 07:11 PM
CIH USER
 
Franin's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Location: Western Australia
Posts: 17,439
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 220 Post(s)
Liked: 259
Quote:
Originally Posted by jedi.master.dre View Post

I was quite sure it was "HD DVD" and "Blu-ray", not HD-DVD. Hence the AvsForum section titled:

Blu-ray & HD DVD Area

I think were all at a stage now we know what were talking about and not really worry about how it's written.

_________________________

Frank
Franin is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off