DVDO EDGE !! - Page 13 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #361 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 12:14 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
JFR0317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Turk View Post

Guess what I have? But only until I ship them out...

Yup...DVDO Edge units...I will start forwarding tracking this evening for those who I have already contacted.

(If you have not been contacted yet hold tight...I'm-a-workin'-on-it. ).

Awesome! Thanks for the update.

John
JFR0317 is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #362 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 01:34 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Maestro J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Madison, WI
Posts: 1,981
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 7 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Turk View Post

Guess what I have? But only until I ship them out...

Yup...DVDO Edge units...I will start forwarding tracking this evening for those who I have already contacted.

(If you have not been contacted yet hold tight...I'm-a-workin'-on-it. ).

Wow, that was fast! Thanks Jason and thanks DVDO!
I got my notification for expected delivery on Monday. Can't wait!
Maestro J is online now  
post #363 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 02:05 PM
Senior Member
 
Pia-chan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sharks Territory
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Jason Turk View Post

Guess what I have? But only until I ship them out...

Dumb question, perhaps, but will an HDMI cable be shipped with the unit?

"Good wine is a necessity of life for me" -- Thomas Jefferson
Pia-chan is offline  
post #364 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 02:25 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I am sure NO on the HDMI cable. If you are asking then you should probably not be BETA testing it.

Mine shows delivery for tomorrow! This weekend will be fun!!!

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #365 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 02:41 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hopstretch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: West of Boston
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

Mine shows delivery for tomorrow! This weekend will be fun!!!

I am officially voting you least-likely-to-actually-comply-with-the-NDA. Within a week you'll have both Onkyo and DVDO's lawyers tag-teaming your ass.
Hopstretch is offline  
post #366 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 02:42 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 92
No way, I promise to not say a word until they say I can. I have never violated a NDA with any company. Seriously.

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #367 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Pia-chan's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Sharks Territory
Posts: 234
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I am sure NO on the HDMI cable. If you are asking then you should probably not be BETA testing it.

Like I said, dumb question. I figured what the heck, if Oppo is giving 'em away, maybe Anchor Bay is too

"Good wine is a necessity of life for me" -- Thomas Jefferson
Pia-chan is offline  
post #368 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 02:58 PM
AVS Special Member
 
pappy97's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 3,160
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 15
Still waiting for word to see if I'll be a lucky beta tester (fingers crossed). This is so exciting. Not only do we get a reduced cost for the product, but I hope to help out too in the beta testing process.

EDIT: Looks like I received an auto reply saying that the person who goes through the questionnaires will be out until Aug. 4. So I won't have a decision until next week. :-(
pappy97 is offline  
post #369 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 03:00 PM
Newbie
 
ianfromnotts's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh@dvdo View Post

We are working out the international pricing with our international distributors and I will be able to answer this tomorrow.

Any news on the UK prices yet?
ianfromnotts is offline  
post #370 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 03:01 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I am just more than happy to help them out. DVDO is here at AVS and one of my new goals is to support the companies that participate here...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #371 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 03:01 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I am sure NO on the HDMI cable. If you are asking then you should probably not be BETA testing it.

Mine shows delivery for tomorrow! This weekend will be fun!!!

How did you get 1 day service from Rochester NY?
dlm10541 is offline  
post #372 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 03:04 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I payed for it... I will be more than happy to work this entire weekend on it. I am going on my one and only vacation of 2008 late next week so it is perfect timing...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #373 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 03:06 PM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I payed for it... I will be more than happy to work this entire weekend on it. I am going on my one and only vacation of 2008 late next week so it is perfect timing...

Good move:
dlm10541 is offline  
post #374 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 03:29 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 92
I am taking this seriously. I have my dispalys arranged and ready. I have a series of my own tests I will do with each one of them. I plan to work all weekend with the Edge... Of course I will NOT report my findings here (only to them)...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #375 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 04:03 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
JFR0317's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2002
Location: Houston
Posts: 591
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Good luck, Joe. I am still waiting on my shipping info from Jason but expect to receive it soon.

John
JFR0317 is offline  
post #376 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 04:28 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Gary J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2000
Location: 4000' or sea level
Posts: 7,593
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 34 Post(s)
Liked: 86
It should go by best-looking which would make me first.
Gary J is online now  
post #377 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 04:30 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Good one Gary J! I would at least come in third or fourth here...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #378 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 05:20 PM
Advanced Member
 
HDgaming42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 512
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 11
OK, I've searched what I thought would be relevant threads but can't find a definitive answer, so I'll just ask here:

Was the treatment of 240p video (gaming) ever sorted out on the vp50, and by extension, will it be functioning in the EDGE? If not right now...will it ever?

Thanks!
HDgaming42 is offline  
post #379 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 06:05 PM
Advanced Member
 
Hopstretch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: West of Boston
Posts: 756
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

No way, I promise to not say a word until they say I can. I have never violated a NDA with any company. Seriously.

I'm just busting your chops. Did I read a few pages back that there would be a closed forum for Beta participants to share experiences? That would certainly be quite useful.
Hopstretch is offline  
post #380 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 07:03 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
aaronwt's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Northern VA(Woodbridge)
Posts: 21,104
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 435 Post(s)
Liked: 641
Quote:
Originally Posted by joerod View Post

I am sure NO on the HDMI cable. If you are asking then you should probably not be BETA testing it.

Mine shows delivery for tomorrow! This weekend will be fun!!!


Don't testing agreements usually state something about not publicly talking about the product testing?

I hope all the testers hurry up with the testing so they can quickly offer the EDGE for sale to us consumers.

39TB unRAID1--53TB unRAID2--36TB unRAID3
LED DLP
XBL/PSN: WormholeXtreme

aaronwt is online now  
post #381 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 07:15 PM
Advanced Member
 
mfogarty5's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Charlotte, NC
Posts: 621
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 17 Post(s)
Liked: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by VirusKiller View Post

PLEASE can we have a definitive answer to this.

A related question: When a output is selected, does one select a resolution (e.g. 1080p) or resolution and frequency (e.g. 1080p24)?

Edit: What would happen with a European PS3 which can output 576p50 (for DVD), 1080p24 (for Blu-Ray), and 1080p60 (for games)?

What if the display can accomodate both a 1080p60 and a 1080p24 signal?

For example, if someone has a Kuro that can refresh at either 60hz or 72hz, can the user tell the EDGE that if film is detected, then output 1080p24 otherwise output 1080p60?

An example would be changing the channel from a CBS NFL game to an NBC Law and Order episode. Would I manually have to go into the EDGE and select 1080p24?

New: 2x Cisco 8642 w/ multi-room. Yes, that's right TWC has a multi-room DVR!!

Old: 2x SA8300HD TWC Navigator MDN 2.4.6-19
mfogarty5 is offline  
post #382 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 08:00 PM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by mfogarty5 View Post

What if the display can accomodate both a 1080p60 and a 1080p24 signal?

For example, if someone has a Kuro that can refresh at either 60hz or 72hz, can the user tell the EDGE that if film is detected, then output 1080p24 otherwise output 1080p60?

An example would be changing the channel from a CBS NFL game to an NBC Law and Order episode. Would I manually have to go into the EDGE and select 1080p24?

Output Formats on EDGE combine both resolution and framerate. For example: 1080p-60 is 1920 x 1080 @ 60Hz progressive. If you would like to change the Output Format between 1080p-60 and 1080p-24, you can do this by navigating the OSD or via discrete IR codes. Once a selection is made all input signals will be converted to the chosen Output Format.

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #383 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 08:25 PM
Advanced Member
 
T-smith's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2006
Location: Cherry Hill, NJ
Posts: 959
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Im guessing if we havent received tracking numbers it means our units havent shipped yet. Im in NJ so if it shipped today I have a shot of it being delivered tomorrow.

-
If you havent listened to it yet can you really say its not better?
T-smith is offline  
post #384 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 08:44 PM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,043
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 40 Post(s)
Liked: 92
Yes Aaron- which is why I won't be revealing any of my results here...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #385 of 7106 Old 07-31-2008, 11:31 PM
o27
Member
 
o27's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Location: Denmark
Posts: 17
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
What´s the status on the European batch?
o27 is offline  
post #386 of 7106 Old 08-01-2008, 12:19 AM
Advanced Member
 
VirusKiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Woburn Sands, UK
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh@dvdo View Post

Output Formats on EDGE combine both resolution and framerate. For example: 1080p-60 is 1920 x 1080 @ 60Hz progressive. If you would like to change the Output Format between 1080p-60 and 1080p-24, you can do this by navigating the OSD or via discrete IR codes. Once a selection is made all input signals will be converted to the chosen Output Format.

So if I watch a Blu-Ray movie on my PS3 one evening @1080p24, and my (young) kid pops in a PAL DVD the following day, he's going to be watching it at 1080p24? This isn't very family friendly.

"Worth waiting for"
VirusKiller is offline  
post #387 of 7106 Old 08-01-2008, 12:57 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otto J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by VirusKiller View Post

So if I watch a Blu-Ray movie on my PS3 one evening @1080p24, and my (young) kid pops in a PAL DVD the following day, he's going to be watching it at 1080p24? This isn't very family friendly.

This is a different situation than what Josh responded to, because in your situation you're changing the input format. If I understand this correctly (and it is like with the VP's), it will be like this: The EDGE has memories for output mode based on input mode (right, Josh?) So, you will set it up to output 1080P/24 when the input is 1080P/24, and 1080P/60 when the input is 480i/p, 720P/60, 1080i/60 or 1080P/60, and 1080P/50 output for 576i/p, 720P/50, 1080i/50 and 1080P/50. What it will NOT do is auto-detect a 24P sequence within a 60 Hz source, and change the output automatically, for players without 24P output, for this you will need to manually change the output to 1080P/24 (it is not practical to have on-the-fly output changes). For your situation, the output format will follow the input format, so when you put in a BD, the EDGE will output 1080P/24, when you put in a PAL DVD, it will output 1080P/50.

Mvh. Otto, AV Precision
Installer/Calibrator
Otto J is offline  
post #388 of 7106 Old 08-01-2008, 01:17 AM
Advanced Member
 
VirusKiller's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Location: Woburn Sands, UK
Posts: 630
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto J View Post

This is a different situation than what Josh responded to, because in your situation you're changing the input format. If I understand this correctly (and it is like with the VP's), it will be like this: The EDGE has memories for output mode based on input mode (right, Josh?) So, you will set it up to output 1080P/24 when the input is 1080P/24, and 1080P/60 when the input is 480i/p, 720P/60, 1080i/60 or 1080P/60, and 1080P/50 output for 576i/p, 720P/50, 1080i/50 and 1080P/50. What it will NOT do is auto-detect a 24P sequence within a 60 Hz source, and change the output automatically, for players without 24P output, for this you will need to manually change the output to 1080P/24 (it is not practical to have on-the-fly output changes). For your situation, the output format will follow the input format, so when you put in a BD, the EDGE will output 1080P/24, when you put in a PAL DVD, it will output 1080P/50.

If this is how it works, I have no complaints whatsoever.

"Worth waiting for"
VirusKiller is offline  
post #389 of 7106 Old 08-01-2008, 02:02 AM
Member
 
MRaitio's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2001
Location: Kirjala, Finland, Europe
Posts: 47
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by o27 View Post

What´s the status on the European batch?

Yeah, the very same question burns my soul.

Sony Pearl + Stewart Firehawk 182cm, OpenElec + 3 * Intel NUC, Vu+ Solo2 & T90+8lnb, 28Tb Thecus N7510 NAS, Denon AVR 2310, AMX+ 3*Ipad, 3*KefQ1, 4*KefQ2DS, HSU VTF-3 MK3 turbo
MRaitio is offline  
post #390 of 7106 Old 08-01-2008, 02:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
choddo2006's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: London
Posts: 538
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto J View Post

This is a different situation than what Josh responded to, because in your situation you're changing the input format. If I understand this correctly (and it is like with the VP's), it will be like this: The EDGE has memories for output mode based on input mode (right, Josh?) So, you will set it up to output 1080P/24 when the input is 1080P/24, and 1080P/60 when the input is 480i/p, 720P/60, 1080i/60 or 1080P/60, and 1080P/50 output for 576i/p, 720P/50, 1080i/50 and 1080P/50. What it will NOT do is auto-detect a 24P sequence within a 60 Hz source, and change the output automatically, for players without 24P output, for this you will need to manually change the output to 1080P/24 (it is not practical to have on-the-fly output changes). For your situation, the output format will follow the input format, so when you put in a BD, the EDGE will output 1080P/24, when you put in a PAL DVD, it will output 1080P/50.

You're right that Josh was responding (again, although I think it was Dale who answered the same question earlier in the thread) to a question around output frequency based on cadence, but Josh's reply doesn't say whether the EDGE has per-input memories like the VPs and rather suggests that even if it does, that it doesn't store an output format for each. I guess I'll find out when my beta unit arrives

Since I've got a pronto, I don't really care, I'd just include the discrete in a "Game" or "DVD" or "BluRay" button but I do think that not many non-technical family members will understand why they have to change output format ("whatever that is") based on content.

Having said ALL that, the popcorn hour still seems to be massively popular in spite of the fact it has a single output res for all content.
choddo2006 is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off