DVDO EDGE !! - Page 2 - AVS Forum
Forum Jump: 
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #31 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 04:12 AM
Senior Member
 
02fx4dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
I wish I had seen this before I bought my new AVR. But I'm still interested.

When can we expect to be able to purchase one?
02fx4dude is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #32 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 04:27 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
joerod's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Location: MIDWEST (just outside Chicago)
Posts: 22,020
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 28 Post(s)
Liked: 91
DVDO, AVS for starters...

Search or copy and paste-> Joe Rod Home Theater .Com <-to check out my latest Reviews.

Check out these new Lighted Cup Holders:
http://hstrial-jrodriguez996.homeste...=1402680301175
joerod is offline  
post #33 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 05:15 AM
AVS Club Gold
 
Gino AUS's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Cairns, AUSTRALIA
Posts: 1,842
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Would definitely consider this for my 1080p fixed pixel displays. Is beta testing restricted to US only or can we in Australia join too?

EDIT- Nevermind, found the sticky.

What cosmetic/hardware differences are there in the beta and production models?

( B ) ( G ) ( R ) BlendZilla DownUnder ( R ) ( G ) ( B ) - Tubes of Fury
Gino AUS is offline  
post #34 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 06:17 AM
Senior Member
 
fubarduck's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Posts: 239
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will this product have the ability to turn off Progressive Cadence Detection for lower latency gaming with progressive-source game consoles?
fubarduck is offline  
post #35 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 06:37 AM
Senior Member
 
HDgaming42's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Alberta, Canada
Posts: 498
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 18 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh@dvdo View Post

EDGE is capable of detecting the "preferred" format that is reported by a display in its EDID. If that "preferred" format is not one of the default formats supported by EDGE (480p, 576p, 720p, 1080i, 1080p, or VGA) it can still be selected using the 'Auto' Output Format selection option. So if you have a 1920x1200 display that reports that 1920x1080 is the "preferred" format (which most PC monitors do) you will be able to output this resolution from your EDGE. If your display is a 1366x768 LCD that reports that its "preferred" format is 720p you will not be able to output the native resolution of this display.

There is no custom output timing option, like the VP30/VP50/VP50PRO have, on EDGE.

Thanks for clarifying this Josh. Incredible value regardless. Would you consider adding 1366 resolutions? Is it even possible at this stage? It will be a mute issue when I finally pull the trigger on a native 1080p set, but until then it sure would be nice to have a 1366 preset if custom resolutions aren't possible.

Can't see a sales related reason to omit it--is this a technical issue? (thanks in advance for expanding upon your original statement--if you can)
HDgaming42 is offline  
post #36 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 06:57 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Custom timings and resolutions...I could be way off on this but I'm betting that somewhere down the road firmwares could enable those features.

From where I sit, it's obvious that this thing is VP50 Jr. with some nice twists that even those units don't have.

I'm stunned at how robust the features are given this price point in contrast with those 50 series units. This thing's really close!

Clearly a giant killer in the makings.

My best guess is that when the final Edge streets we'll see price drops on the other DVDO units and firmwares and nice things like that.

It's really amazing how "close" to the 50 series these things are, at least according to Josh's opening post with the planned specs. I'd have to believe that the 50's would see a price drop right away when the final Edge streets.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #37 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 07:05 AM
Advanced Member
 
Otto J's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2003
Location: Denmark
Posts: 559
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
I guess this news kills 90% of Gefen Realta sales... (it should, at least!)

Mvh. Otto, AV Precision
Installer/Calibrator
Otto J is offline  
post #38 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 07:32 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blacklac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The Gefen is still nice for us plasma owners. $100 cheaper too. Realta's no slouch.

If this DVDO offered 1360x768, 1365x768 and 1366x768 scaling, I wouldn't think twice.
Blacklac is offline  
post #39 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 07:32 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto J View Post

I guess this news kills 90% of Gefen Realta sales... (it should, at least!)

I think it stalls sales for everyone, including DVDO themselves.

Again, specs can always change, but as best I can see...this Edge is purported to have a LOT of the same features that the far more expensive 50 series units have.

I'm thrilled about this in general because quite frankly, this market has been WAY overdue for an outright giant killer to finally shake things up.



Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacklac View Post

The Gefen is still nice for us plasma owners. $100 cheaper too. Realta's no slouch.

If this DVDO offered 1360x768, 1365x768 and 1366x768 scaling, I wouldn't think twice.

I bet it'll see firmware down the road that'll enable those features.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #40 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 07:33 AM
Member
 
jp_stargazer's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Posts: 80
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Will the DVDO upgrade program apply to the Edge? I JUST ordered a VP50 and I'd like to know that if the general consensus once this is released is that it outclasses the VP50 in critical areas that I could upgrade if I choose. Or would this be a downgrade? Eh, I'm kinda new to this stuff.

I'm expecting to be in home theater heaven when my VP50 comes though, so maybe I'll forget all about the Edge...
jp_stargazer is offline  
post #41 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 08:02 AM
Advanced Member
 
dlm10541's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Austin TX
Posts: 703
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Keep in mind that this is a fixed chip design so features can not be added later--only bug fixes as Josh said.

The value of the VP series and other higher priced processors on the market lies in the range of customization and control that is possible. Some need this capability.

However many do not and this product is for them.
dlm10541 is offline  
post #42 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 08:35 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blacklac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dlm10541 View Post

Keep in mind that this is a fixed chip design so features can not be added later--only bug fixes as Josh said.

This is why I'll be praying they add plasma resolutons before release.
Blacklac is offline  
post #43 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 08:45 AM
Senior Member
 
02fx4dude's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2007
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 368
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Otto J View Post

I guess this news kills 90% of Gefen Realta sales... (it should, at least!)

IMO, the constantly changing release date of the Gefen Realta did that already.
02fx4dude is offline  
post #44 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 08:47 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Lawguy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 5,705
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
When will some company other than Lumagen offer advanced gamut and gamma controls?

Affable Nitwit
Lawguy is offline  
post #45 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 08:51 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Lawguy View Post

When will some company other than Lumagen offer advanced gamut and gamma controls?

I got a feeling its coming to the Pro...
shamus is offline  
post #46 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 09:04 AM
Member
 
dj_james's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Nebraska
Posts: 178
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
so this one is probably not for anyone using a 1024x768 pdp, correct?
dj_james is offline  
post #47 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 09:15 AM
 
CCONKLIN1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2000
Location: Oswego IL 60543
Posts: 2,461
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
The advantage that you have is that the vp50
(and pro) is available NOW. Who knows when this will be available other than to beta testers. I loved my VP50 except except for the fact that it sucked passing the newer audio codecs. Video wise it was great!
Good luck!
Chris
Quote:
Originally Posted by jp_stargazer View Post

Will the DVDO upgrade program apply to the Edge? I JUST ordered a VP50 and I'd like to know that if the general consensus once this is released is that it outclasses the VP50 in critical areas that I could upgrade if I choose. Or would this be a downgrade? Eh, I'm kinda new to this stuff.

I'm expecting to be in home theater heaven when my VP50 comes though, so maybe I'll forget all about the Edge...

CCONKLIN1 is offline  
post #48 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 09:31 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paul Butler View Post

Any possibility that the Edge could be upgraded with Test Patterns and Color Management adjustments in the future (I see there is a Service Port on the back)?

I think that these are the only things stopping this from being an absolute killer product (at present its just a killer!)

Paul

EDGE is not intended to be a technology platform like our VP line products. We have no intention of adding Color Management to EDGE before it goes to production (or after it is in production).

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #49 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 09:32 AM
Member
 
iMbEst's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 152
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
the beta tester thread referred me to here, then here must go back to the sticky? so...infinite loop ?!
iMbEst is offline  
post #50 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 09:32 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shamus View Post

Josh, will it have the ability to output a zoomed out 2.35 image and than instantly shrink it for 16x9 material like the 50 can?

I am not quite sure what you mean by this. What is the application?

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #51 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 09:33 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by iMbEst View Post

the beta tester thread referred me to here, then here must go back to the sticky? so...infinite loop ?!

The Beta Tester thread refers you to this thread if you would like more information about EDGE. If you would like to submit the questionnaire to be a Public Beta tester you must go to: www.dvdo.com/edge

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #52 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 09:48 AM
AVS Special Member
 
shamus's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 6,254
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 13
Quote:
Originally Posted by Josh@dvdo View Post

I am not quite sure what you mean by this. What is the application?

Sorry Josh... its hard to explain.

I have a 2.35 screen and zoom out a 2.35 image to fit it. I set display to 16x9 and screen to 2.35. I now just simply set the input aspect ratio to whatever setting the movie is and everything fits perfectly on my screen without the use of a lens.
shamus is offline  
post #53 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 09:50 AM
Advanced Member
 
Hothersale's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Vancouver, BC
Posts: 528
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacklac View Post

This is why I'll be praying they add plasma resolutons before release.

I really doubt this is going to happen because these signal types are not video standards like 1080p, 1080i, 720p, etc.

The required signal timings for 1366x768 (for example) vary *a lot* between display manufacturers -- there is no one "1366x768 signal" that will work for everyone. (I made this mistake when I bought a VP20; it *looked* like it had the preset resolution I needed, but it didn't work with my display at all.)

By sticking to just the standard signal types, DVDO avoids this can of worms entirely.
Hothersale is offline  
post #54 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 09:50 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
So I don't derail the VP50 pro thread:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Murrell View Post

why don't people wait and see a Edge before they try and compare it to the VP50pro

-Gary

Specs can always change but it's obvious the Edge is being set up as a giant killer and if you've looked carefully at Josh's opening post in that Edge thread, it has to stun you how many of the features from the 50's are set to be in this Edge unit for a fraction of the price.

I think Gary J. is dead on. I bet when the final Edge streets, we see price drops on the other units, for starters.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1051294

You sign up for the Beta yet?

The response:

Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Murrell View Post

again pure speculation Q

BTW this is the VP50pro thread guys

-Gary

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1051246

Read Josh's post that opens this very thread up. How much of that is "speculation?" How much of my previous post is just "speculation?"

Please be as specific as you can. Direct quotes would be ideal.

The facts couldn't be more clear: That product, those specs, at a list of $800 is a giant killer.

It's enough of a giant killer that I can't imagine that DVDO doesn't consider a price drop on some of their other products when Edge hits the streets in a few months or whenever it is. Compare the specs that Josh cites in the first post here vs. those of the VP50 and VP50 Pro and then think about the huge price differences between those vs. the Edge.

Something's got to give.

Typically with electronics: They go down in price as times goes by anyways.

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #55 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 10:08 AM
AVS Special Member
 
Blacklac's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 2,064
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hothersale View Post

I really doubt this is going to happen because these signal types are not video standards like 1080p, 1080i, 720p, etc.

The required signal timings for 1366x768 (for example) vary *a lot* between display manufacturers -- there is no one "1366x768 signal" that will work for everyone. (I made this mistake when I bought a VP20; it *looked* like it had the preset resolution I needed, but it didn't work with my display at all.)

By sticking to just the standard signal types, DVDO avoids this can of worms entirely.

Thanks for that, I wasn't aware they differed. Now I know why the Gefen has 2 different 1366x768 and others too.
Blacklac is offline  
post #56 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 10:15 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Gary Murrell's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2003
Location: Kentucky
Posts: 10,927
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Q of BanditZ View Post

So I don't derail the VP50 pro thread:



Specs can always change but it's obvious the Edge is being set up as a giant killer and if you've looked carefully at Josh's opening post in that Edge thread, it has to stun you how many of the features from the 50's are set to be in this Edge unit for a fraction of the price.

I think Gary J. is dead on. I bet when the final Edge streets, we see price drops on the other units, for starters.

http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1051294

You sign up for the Beta yet?

The response:



http://www.avsforum.com/avs-vb/showthread.php?t=1051246

Read Josh's post that opens this very thread up. How much of that is "speculation?" How much of my previous post is just "speculation?"

Please be as specific as you can. Direct quotes would be ideal.

The facts couldn't be more clear: That product, those specs, at a list of $800 is a giant killer.

It's enough of a giant killer that I can't imagine that DVDO doesn't consider a price drop on some of their other products when Edge hits the streets in a few months or whenever it is. Compare the specs that Josh cites in the first post here vs. those of the VP50 and VP50 Pro and then think about the huge price differences between those vs. the Edge.

Something's got to give.

Typically with electronics: They go down in price as times goes by anyways.

I am sure Josh will address your concerns, I am not at liberty to nor can I answer for DVDO's intention or plans

but on the other hand I am sure Josh will tell you that the Edge is not to replace the VP50pro, nor would it be a giant killer of their own product, the VP50pro is in fact a giant , it remains to be seen publicly how the Edge stacks up in a multitude of areas that specs don't always explain

-Gary
Gary Murrell is offline  
post #57 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 10:23 AM
AVS Addicted Member
 
Q of BanditZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Location: blurayoasis.com
Posts: 15,242
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by Gary Murrell View Post

I am sure Josh will address your concerns, I am not at liberty to nor can I answer for DVDO's intention or plans

*quietly slips briefcase under table*

You sure?

Quote:

but on the other hand I am sure Josh will tell you that the Edge is not to replace the VP50pro,

Of course not! I certainly wasn't suggesting that!

Quote:
... nor would it be a giant killer of their own product, the VP50pro is in fact a giant , it remains to be seen publicly how the Edge stacks up in a multitude of areas that specs don't always explain

-Gary

Agreed.

Somewhere in my previous post perhaps I should have been more specific, like: "The Edge is poised to potentially be a giant killer."

Better?

Great ISF Job by Chad B.
Q of BanditZ is offline  
post #58 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 10:24 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by Blacklac View Post

Thanks for that, I wasn't aware they differed. Now I know why the Gefen has 2 different 1366x768 and others too.

Hothersale is exactly right.

There are no standards for 1366x768 (or 1360x768). In our VP line products we have 4 presets to handle these resolutions and the user may be forced to change sync polarity or horizontally/vertically shift the image to get 1:1. Most users do not want to go through this kind of advanced setup and these displays are becoming less and less popular.

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #59 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 10:27 AM - Thread Starter
AVS Special Member
 
Josh@dvdo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2004
Location: Campbell, CA
Posts: 1,517
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Quote:
Originally Posted by shamus View Post

Sorry Josh... its hard to explain.

I have a 2.35 screen and zoom out a 2.35 image to fit it. I set display to 16x9 and screen to 2.35. I now just simply set the input aspect ratio to whatever setting the movie is and everything fits perfectly on my screen without the use of a lens.

This can be accomplished using the input aspect ratio of EDGE but it is not as easy as it is on the VP50PRO which has specific features (Output Aspect Ratio controls for Display and Screen) which EDGE does not.

Josh Allen
DVDO Product Manager
Josh@DVDO.com
Josh@dvdo is offline  
post #60 of 7105 Old 07-22-2008, 11:04 AM
AVS Special Member
 
AndreYew's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2000
Location: Southern California
Posts: 1,670
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 0 Post(s)
Liked: 10
Quote:
Originally Posted by dj_james View Post

so this one is probably not for anyone using a 1024x768 pdp, correct?

You won't get 1:1 pixel mapping, so your display will be applying its own scaling on top of the EDGE's. But you still do benefit from what is probably the best deinterlacing in the world, as well as the MNR, cadence detection, etc. of the EDGE.

--Andre
AndreYew is offline  
Reply Video Processors

User Tag List

Thread Tools
Show Printable Version Show Printable Version
Email this Page Email this Page


Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off