DVDO EDGE !! - Page 241 - AVS Forum | Home Theater Discussions And Reviews
Baselworld is only a few weeks away. Getting the latest news is easy, Click Here for info on how to join the Watchuseek.com newsletter list. Follow our team for updates featuring event coverage, new product unveilings, watch industry news & more!



Forum Jump: 
 11Likes
Reply
 
Thread Tools
post #7201 of 7215 Old 04-04-2016, 01:30 PM
AVS Special Member
 
BiggAW's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Posts: 1,590
Mentioned: 1 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 344 Post(s)
Liked: 86
DACs can make a massive improvement in quality over a laptop headphone jack. I had a $99 uDAC, now I'm using a Cambridge Audio integrated amplifier. But we're talking a $300 unit with preamp and amp in addition to the DAC, so it's not like I'm dropping thousands on this stuff. That's on my laptop, separate from my AV setup.

In theory, everything routes through the DVDO EDGE. Even before 4k, reality dictated that if you use Smart TV apps or Bluetooth or whole-home audio to your AVR, then there's going to be some detours in there somewhere. Now I've got a 4k TV with a TV backfeed for Smart Hub apps to the AVR, as well as a separate HDMI for bitstreaming audio from my 4k Blu-Ray player to my AVR. None of that touches the EDGE. The one annoyance with this setup is that the EDGE doesn't have a "native" output mode, because it was designed to handle all the scaling, but now I have to change the native from 1080i/p to 720p when watching 720p content. However, the last 720p thing that I can think of where I really care about the quality is the NCAA national championship tomorrow night on ESPN, so it won't be a big deal in practice, at least until next season. Rio is all NBC AFAIK, and they're 1080i, as is PBS and HBO, so I'll just leave the thing on 1080i and let the TV do the scaling, with the DVDO EDGE just doing some processing on the cable signal to try and make it look less crappy.
BiggAW is offline  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
post #7202 of 7215 Old 04-04-2016, 02:43 PM
Senior Member
 
Frankie1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyrax View Post
Frankie -
I wasn't quite as clear as I intended in my description of option1. I left out the step telling you that you need to connect the TV's optical audio out to your speakers. Also, as M. Zillch says, it is unlikely that your TV's remote volume will impact your external speaker volume. I had a TV 20 years ago that would do that, but it was one of those behemoth tube TVs that seemingly weighed more than a Prius.
Hryax,

I understood that I needed to connect the optical audio out on my speakers to my TV. I know I won't be able to use my TV remote for volume, but I would still be able to adjust volume via the included remote, correct? Thank you!

Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
The use of outboard DACs is quite common in many audiophi......
Zilch,

The only reason I am using a DAC is because my TV has optical out only. I don't see any other way I could connect the A5+ to my TV without using a DAC. Am I missing something? I am not getting it to improve sound or anything like that. It just seems that it will be necessary in my setup.
Frankie1588 is offline  
post #7203 of 7215 Old 04-04-2016, 06:49 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,822
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1022 Post(s)
Liked: 620
I don't think you've ever mentioned to us what your TV is, specifically, but many have either audio out RCAs or a 3.5 mm headphone out which could be used with the right cord. What is your TV?

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there IS no concept of "accounting for personal taste/preference". As art consumers we don't "pick" the level of bass, nor the tint/brightness of a scene's sky, any more than we pick the ending of a novel or Mona Lisa's type of smile. "High fidelity" means "high truthfulness", faithful to the original artist's intent: an unmodified, neutral, accurate copy of the original, ideally being exact and with no discernable alterations, aka "transparency".
m. zillch is offline  
post #7204 of 7215 Old 04-04-2016, 07:41 PM
Senior Member
 
Frankie1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
I don't think you've ever mentioned to us what your TV is, specifically, but many have either audio out RCAs or a 3.5 mm headphone out which could be used with the right cord. What is your TV?
So sorry for not mentioning it. It is a Panasonic ST50 series. It only appears to have a digital out on the back.

Frankie1588 is offline  
post #7205 of 7215 Old 04-04-2016, 08:53 PM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,822
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1022 Post(s)
Liked: 620
Bummer.


If instead of these amplified A5+ speakers you bought passive speakers , take for example the Audioengine P4 for $250, not that I know anything about them, and with the $150 savings put that towards an AVR such as maybe the DENON AVR-S500BT for $170, or a Yamaha, Sony, etc., all sorts of headaches would be solved. Complex AV systems which have to incorporate both an outboard video processor (such the EDGE) and alternative speakers (instead of the ones built-in to the TV) yet don't have an AVR in the mix aren't that common. This solution I'm suggest costs maybe about $20 more but considering you don't have to buy a long optical cable to get from the TV back to your DAC (also not needed), or whatever you end up using, it might actually cost less. Just a thought.


AVRs are a real work horse and although they can power 5 or more speakers they also work for stereo just fine and at a reasonable cost. Stereo receivers usually cost more and won't do what you want (take in the HDMI feed from the EDGE to extract the audio before sending the video off to your display).

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there IS no concept of "accounting for personal taste/preference". As art consumers we don't "pick" the level of bass, nor the tint/brightness of a scene's sky, any more than we pick the ending of a novel or Mona Lisa's type of smile. "High fidelity" means "high truthfulness", faithful to the original artist's intent: an unmodified, neutral, accurate copy of the original, ideally being exact and with no discernable alterations, aka "transparency".

Last edited by m. zillch; 04-04-2016 at 09:25 PM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #7206 of 7215 Old 04-05-2016, 03:42 AM
Member
 
headcase151's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: K.C.MO.
Posts: 189
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 15 Post(s)
Liked: 15
You better check to see, which signal is coming from optical out. Most TV`s output, the tuner audio, from optical out. If you are not using the internal tuner, you won`t get anything. If you are using a cable box, game console, bluray player. The easiest way is route all components to the Edge. Hook up Optical out from the Edge to the speakers. Then select Optical sound out in the Edge menu. This is what I do, while gaming with my Astro gaming headset. Then I control my volume on the headset. In your case, it would be the speakers remote.
m. zillch likes this.
headcase151 is offline  
post #7207 of 7215 Old 04-05-2016, 05:26 AM
Senior Member
 
Frankie1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
Bummer.


If instead of these amplified A5+ speakers you bought passive speakers , take for example the Audioengine P4 for $250, not that I know anything about them, and with the $150 savings put that towards an AVR such as maybe the DENON AVR-S500BT for $170, or a Yamaha, Sony, etc., all sorts of headaches would be solved. Complex AV systems which have to incorporate both an outboard video processor (such the EDGE) and alternative speakers (instead of the ones built-in to the TV) yet don't have an AVR in the mix aren't that common. This solution I'm suggest costs maybe about $20 more but considering you don't have to buy a long optical cable to get from the TV back to your DAC (also not needed), or whatever you end up using, it might actually cost less. Just a thought.


AVRs are a real work horse and although they can power 5 or more speakers they also work for stereo just fine and at a reasonable cost. Stereo receivers usually cost more and won't do what you want (take in the HDMI feed from the EDGE to extract the audio before sending the video off to your display).
The biggest reason I am going with the A5+ is because I got a great deal on them. Less than 2 months old and I got them for $250. I don't really want to invest in a great AVR setup until I have my own house. I am currently in an apartment and wouldn't really be able to enjoy a proper AVR setup.
Frankie1588 is offline  
post #7208 of 7215 Old 04-05-2016, 11:09 AM
AVS Special Member
 
m. zillch's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 5,822
Mentioned: 3 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1022 Post(s)
Liked: 620
Quote:
Originally Posted by headcase151 View Post
You better check to see, which signal is coming from optical out. Most TV`s output, the tuner audio, from optical out. If you are not using the internal tuner, you won`t get anything. If you are using a cable box, game console, bluray player. The easiest way is route all components to the Edge. Hook up Optical out from the Edge to the speakers. Then select Optical sound out in the Edge menu. This is what I do, while gaming with my Astro gaming headset. Then I control my volume on the headset. In your case, it would be the speakers remote.
I agree with everything you said, but his speakers don't have an optical in, and the EDGE oddly doesn't have analog out. To me the best solution would be a $169 AVR and using it's headphone out with a simple adaptor cable (brand new ones come with it I believe) to feed his amplified speakers. The AVR also gives him a tremendously flexible building block for future upgardes such as adding a sub, surround sound, etc.. This or a cheap DAC, since even cheap ones are audibly indistinguishable from properly functioning ones which cost thousands of dollars, as are most receivers when the amps aren't being over driven.

In A/V reproduction accuracy, there IS no concept of "accounting for personal taste/preference". As art consumers we don't "pick" the level of bass, nor the tint/brightness of a scene's sky, any more than we pick the ending of a novel or Mona Lisa's type of smile. "High fidelity" means "high truthfulness", faithful to the original artist's intent: an unmodified, neutral, accurate copy of the original, ideally being exact and with no discernable alterations, aka "transparency".

Last edited by m. zillch; 04-05-2016 at 11:34 AM.
m. zillch is offline  
post #7209 of 7215 Old 04-05-2016, 11:45 AM
Senior Member
 
Frankie1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by m. zillch View Post
I agree with everything you said, but his speakers don't have an optical in, and the EDGE oddly doesn't have analog out. To me the best solution would be a $169 AVR and using it's headphone out with a simple adaptor cable (brand new ones come with it I believe) to feed his amplified speakers. The AVR also gives him a tremendously flexible building block for future upgardes such as adding a sub, surround sound, etc.. This or a cheap DAC, since even cheap ones are audibly indistinguishable from properly functioning ones which cost thousands of dollars, as are most receivers when the amps aren't being over driven.
Thanks for your input as always. I got a cheap DAC for now ($15). I do want surround sound and I will get a nice AVR setup when the time comes. I am just real limited with an apartment. I don't really want to add a bulky AVR (Don't really have space for it right now) to my setup either for just a simple 2.0 setup.

Last edited by Frankie1588; 04-05-2016 at 11:56 AM.
Frankie1588 is offline  
post #7210 of 7215 Old 04-05-2016, 08:19 PM
AVS Special Member
 
Hyrax's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2001
Location: Eastern Massachusetts
Posts: 2,671
Mentioned: 2 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 67 Post(s)
Liked: 41
Isn't there a headphone jack on the ST50? I saw a post stating there was one near the USB ports...
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/167-pl...e#post22376079
Hyrax is offline  
post #7211 of 7215 Old 04-06-2016, 04:51 AM
Senior Member
 
Frankie1588's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Posts: 229
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 3 Post(s)
Liked: 18
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hyrax View Post
Isn't there a headphone jack on the ST50? I saw a post stating there was one near the USB ports...
http://www.avsforum.com/forum/167-pl...e#post22376079
Looks like it's on the European model. I have a US model. Would've been nice!
Frankie1588 is offline  
post #7212 of 7215 Old 04-21-2016, 10:16 AM
Newbie
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Posts: 9
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 1 Post(s)
Liked: 0
Just ordered one of these.

Can anyone confirm that it will be able to detect the cadence in a Netflix movie playing from a 60hz device, then be able to reverse telecine and send it to my projector at 24hz?

If yes, does it do it automatically?

Thanks
jimbobjim is offline  
post #7213 of 7215 Old 07-12-2016, 01:22 PM
Member
 
zot23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
So about a year or so ago, I had the PSU on a DVDO Edge go out. I replaced it with the PSU mentioned earlier in the thread and it worked great. Fast forward to today, I have another Edge having a similar issue. I went to Mouser and that alternate PSU is on backorder for 13 weeks. That might be a bit long to wait without video switching on this TV.

So are there other PSUs that can be used for a DVDO Edge? I found these on Mouser that look close, would either of them work?

http://www.mouser.com/Cincon/Power/P...z0zlbjZ1yxt794
zot23 is online now  
post #7214 of 7215 Old Today, 01:40 PM
Advanced Member
 
audiodane's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 881
Mentioned: 5 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 90 Post(s)
Liked: 68
Quote:
Originally Posted by zot23 View Post
So about a year or so ago, I had the PSU on a DVDO Edge go out. I replaced it with the PSU mentioned earlier in the thread and it worked great. Fast forward to today, I have another Edge having a similar issue. I went to Mouser and that alternate PSU is on backorder for 13 weeks. That might be a bit long to wait without video switching on this TV.

So are there other PSUs that can be used for a DVDO Edge? I found these on Mouser that look close, would either of them work?

http://www.mouser.com/Cincon/Power/P...z0zlbjZ1yxt794
As I recall, the version you're linking to is simply the non-medical version. Both would work equally well. I seem to recall the medical version had a rotated power connector compared to the standard version. The medical version also had slightly better performance over temperature, but at room temperature they performed the same. I opted for the medical version for that reason, since it was not but a couple bucks more (at the time) than the standard.


Just check your connections. I believe both boards have labels for ground, power, etc. Make sure power is to power, and ground is to ground.


cheers,
..dane
audiodane is online now  
post #7215 of 7215 Old Today, 01:55 PM
Member
 
zot23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2002
Location: Denver, CO
Posts: 171
Mentioned: 0 Post(s)
Tagged: 0 Thread(s)
Quoted: 2 Post(s)
Liked: 11
Ken at DVDO was nice enough to send me a link to the "official" replacement. Just put it in, works great.

http://www.mouser.com/ProductDetail/...IeCnWxjTRqs%3d
zot23 is online now  
Sponsored Links
Advertisement
 
Reply Video Processors



Forum Jump: 

Posting Rules  
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off